We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Needed..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We are a full time working couple with a teenage girl just receiving her GCSE results and what we needed was a pampered weeks break as a reward for a hard year. I booked a last minute Gap filler at the Sands Resort and we were not disappointed. In fact our visit excelled all of our expectations. The contemporary suite was brilliant over looking a sea view and fabulous sun sets. The food was excellent. The staff even more so, nothing was too much trouble, they greeted you as though they already knew you, which put my daughter straight at ease. The website does not do justice to their facilities, the outside pool area and gardens are relaxing and peaceful. However, you can play tennis, go to the gym, spa and enjoy the coastal walks on your doorstep. The facilities for young families are a godsend. Thank you for a lovely relaxing holiday.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank Butty0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

Amazing resort, fantastic food, clean comfotable spacious room, lovely staff, everything you need for the beach including wetsuits and boards,buckets and spades available at the surf shack free of charge, nothing was too much trouble for them, facilities for babies and toddlers was the best ever Thank you for one of the best holidays we have had.
If you have children it is one of the best resorts you could ever visit and yet its also great for couples and the location is great.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotty1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We booked based on other reviews & found them to be spot on. The hotel was clean, well maintained & comfortable in a modern way. They are honest about being a 3 star but this is one of the best 3 stars I have ever stayed in. The food was excellent, very tasty but also felt healthy & the children's meals were excellent - a different menu every night. The rooms are clean, bright, spacious & thoughtfully kitted out. The setting is perfect, up the hill away from Newquay & above one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen - Whipsiderry beach - not to be missed. For us the real bonus was the incredibly helpful staff & the attention to detail, nothing fell below our expectations & most were exceeded. Next year we will barely have to bring any toys/sports kit as everything is provided, right down to buckets & spades. Its how holiday companies like Mark Warner SHOULD be! You can tell its a family run hotel & they really do care about their guests. We will definitely go again.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank travellingbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Sands is a family resort hotel. If you have young children, then you should really consider a stay here. If you don't have children, then I suspect somewhere else might be more appropriate for you.

Our rooms were huge: a large master room with massive bed, lounge, twin room for the children and two en suites. All had sea views (the sea is 100 yards away, across the road). They thought of everything: high chairs, cots, microwave and fridge in the room, safety plug protectors, the rooms were even wired up to a baby listening system (one person behind the desk was dedicated to listening to this).

Also important to us: the food was first rate. My wife was worried the children's food might be fish fingers etc and chips, but nothing like that in sight - everything home made, like lasagne or noodles following by home made rice pudding. The adult food also excellent, lots of local things to choose, all well cooked, and there was a good choice of wines with sensible price tags.

Like all hotels, it isn't perfect. We were disappointed to find the internet didn't extend to our room, and that the Sunday paper we had pre-booked didn't turn up. Also the pillows were a bit like sandbags! But frankly all that disappeared into insignificance, with the friendliness of the staff and their eagerness to fix things and ensure you have a good break.

We were pleasantly surprised to find we could borrow beach stuff (windbreaks for example) and buggies - and no charge - and the parking spaces were really wide - helpful when unloading little children.

The views across the sea were stunning, and we loved watching the surfers in the sunsets. Porth beach is less than a ten min walk away and is lovely. Very easy to see how this hotel scores so highly on Trip Advisor. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My wife and I and our ten year old son have now been to Sands ten times since 2003 and we never tire of the place. The location is perfect, overlooking the sea and far enough away from Newquay to be peaceful.
We stayed in a pool suite which is very quiet and gives good views of the surrounding countryside. The room is comfortable and the bathrooms have recently been refurbished.
There is so much to do that the weather never bothers us, (it wasn't particularly good this year). Our son spends the morning in the O zone club whilst we have a game of golf on the 9 hole course. The indoor swimming pool is very warm and on a few occasions we had the pool to ourselves.
The food in the restaurant is excellent both for the children's early tea and the evening meal.
The friendly staff, the excellent service and the relaxed atmosphere are the main reasons that we return year after year.
We have already booked for next year and are counting the days until we return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOTTAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This year was our sixth visit to Sands and it gets better every year. Perfect for a family holiday and we will definitely be returning. The rooms are huge and I love the refurbished bathrooms. The facilities are regularly upgraded and the children love the evening club, which is free from age 7 upwards. This gives the parents a chance to dine alone if they wish to. The food is very good and the staff are helpful and friendly. There is plenty to do outside the hotel too, even if the weather is poor. Yes it is a bit expensive in August – but look what you get for your money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wresto4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We are a family of five with kids aged 8, 5 and 2. The Sands is less than a 10 minute cab ride (5 pound cab ride) from the rail station. We didn't have a car, but found getting around by cab or bus a breeze (Western Greyhound bus #556 stops about 50 yards down the road). The hotel is not in the center of town, which is a good thing as it's in a quiet stretch just north of the town.

The resort itself is exceptionally child friendly, with very friendly staff. The indoor pool is not huge, but great for the kids (and there's a small wading pool as well). For adults, there is a small hot tub and sauna in which you need to reserve your own slot (never a problem). There's also a small chip and putt (longest hole is 88 yards), a mini golf course (asphalt), a small football field and a tennis court (asphalt). There's also a playground, a small maze, and a zip cord ride - all of which the kids loved.

The rooms were clean, and smartly designed with an additional sink outside the bathroom. Our room had a water view, which we thought was worth the extra money as the sunsets were absolutely amazing. The rooms also had dvd players, 2 tv's and free internet access.

We only had breakfast at the restaurant, which was basically cereal, fruit, eggs, beans, sausages, croissants / breads and tea / coffee. There is also organic baby food for infants, which is a nice touch. It did get a bit tired by the 4th / 5th day - but that's probably to be expected.

Overall, we had a great time and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USFamilyInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,026 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,611 reviews
1.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £86 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing