We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for travelling with a toddler and Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for travelling with a toddler and Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

Had a really relaxing time, excellent baby listening service. Separate sleeping area for children and even a proper cot.

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and likely to go back - excellent value for money. Couple of small things to make people aware of - the double bed was 2 singles put together, but the matresses were different heights; room could have been a little cleaner; the quiet adult eating was a little interupted by small children in the adjacent dining area.

We travelled out of school summer holidays, so the price was excellent, hence we could forgive them for the above issues.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    178
    57
    20
    5
See reviews for
684
82
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

We travelled to sands with twins of 2 and a baby of 18weeks and had a perfect few days.
The hotel was lovely and the staff were brilliant. Our youngest was sick on the bedroom carpet and somebody was with us within 10mins to help clear up.
The best thing about the hotel was the chance to dine as a couple again as they have inhouse child care for all ages. We could choose from listening services or kids club. Our only disappointment was to have travelled out of season and feel we missed out on doing other things with the kids as club activities were minimal as hotel was not busy.... BUT this has wet our appetite to come back in the summer.
Food was good, and you can choose to eat with your young ones if you would like and there is a seperate adult only dinig space.
Location is not brilliant as you had to travl by car to get to most places but I think that is Cornwall all over.
It is just a shame there are not more places like sands

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Had a great few nights at the Sands on their 'room-filler' rate, staying in a contemporary sea-view suite. Lovely space in the room and second sink very useful. Only problem in the entire suite was that the toddler could reach three light switches from her cot!!
Baby listening service great and staff in general very accomodating, for example when you need to switch from high-tea to family dinner as toddler has overslept, or when toddler has an 'accident' in a public area. Always friendly and eager to help.
Food good, especially dinners. They could do with reminding staff of breakfast times so they don't start taking away things like milk 20 mins before it ends.
Play areas great, lots outside (the maze was a favourite) and the pool indoors. Children can also use the kids club room when not in use by groups.
It's quiet at night, we went to the after-dinner music quiz and were one of only two couples there, however this is not a criticism of the hotel and hey, it meant our odds were good and we won!
Great location for touristy stuff. Porth beach (few mins walk down the hill) good for small people with buckets.
Spa bigger than expected, with average treatment prices.
Have recommended Sands to others and would like to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesJSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel just ahead of the start of summer holidays in the UK. The hotel decor was dated, but very clean and comfortable. There are plenty of things to keep the children busy all day for many many days; so much so, my two kids did not want to leave the hotel at all. Breathtaking view of the typical Cornwall seacoast just across the stree.

The place is wonderful, but also very pricy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 767-200ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Having left it to the last minute to book a UK holiday we set off from SW London to Sands with our 4 and 7 year olds in August and were delighted. The kids' meals included old favourites with some wonderful dishes that were available later for adults. For example, a grown-up rich beef casserole and creamy mash was wolfed down at children's tea (it's the first time our 7 year old has eaten all her mashed potato - normally she hates it). All the staff were young, bright friendly and professional. The evening adult meal was delicious with several courses and a good wine list (what a brilliant idea to have the dining room triple zoned in the evenings according to family eating, eating with older kids or kid-free....other hotels take note - this is the future. I adore my children but after a whole day of looking after them on holiday I want to have a glass of wine with my husband in a solely grownup dining room!). Sands was clean and well decorated throughout and had a busy happy feeling about it. For years we've gone abroad to barrack-like Mark Warners and Club Meds and although the reliability of the sunshine has been nice, we have felt like cattle. Not so at Sands which is small enough for the personal touch but big enough to provide a very nice indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi (both much better than the dreary one at the swish Thurlstone Hotel we also stayed at in August). I also think that Sands is so much better value than the hotels in the Luxury Hotel group - which we found very much style over substance and at least twice the price of Sands. We are already planning to visit Sands next summer. Only problem since coming back and chatting about our holidays all my friends now want to go there and I'm a bit worried it'll be booked up.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Having done loads of research and having been abroad the previous year we decided to stay in the UK this year. I've always loved Cornwall and have taken the kids (7 and 5) before to do surfing / bodyboarding but we wanted somewhere with a bit of luxury. We spent 6 nights at the end of August / start of September and the weather was perfect. All in my plan of course : ). First impressions were great, the location couldn't be better. The room overlooked the sea had just been refurbished and was a very generous size. The staff generally seemed pleased to be there (with a few exceptions) and nothing seemed too much trouble. The food in the evenings was very nice and exceptional value, potatoes with everything got a bit samey after a few days but there were evenings with other choices. Was fairly disappointed with the high tea choices but that said the food was healthy and plentiful. The kids clubs were fine but you are basically paying for child-minding services while you have a nice supper. Free Wi-Fi in public areas is a nice touch as was the free hire of wet suits and wind breakers etc...over all really enjoyed our stay, yes there were a few gripes but perfection costs a lot more!! Will definately be back, if you have a young family and need a nice base to explore North Cornwall, you could do an awful lot worse than stay at the Sands.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simongrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

I don't normally do this because part of me thinks that reviews such as the above which stand out in such desperate ignorant isolation must be fake and therefore only serve to get more positive reviews. I suggest the reviewer was very elderly and not remotely interested in the beach or beautiful natural environment of this area. This Hotel is great, relaxed, easy for people with children has great contemporary rooms, has a wonderful spa with the best remedial (and others) massages from 2 amazing, gifted young women who treat professional sports men, has great food - this is a 3 star hotel not 5 as the ignorant reviewer suggests. Lastly I have never stayed anywhere where I would say over 90% of the staff are consistantly friendly, hard working and smile so much! Which judging by the type of person the mentioned reviewer seems to be strikes me as something of a small miracle. Will stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonadawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
2.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
11.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Watergate Road, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#4 Family Hotel in Newquay
#5 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2016 Sands Resort Hotel & Spa was voted to be amongst the Best 10 Family Hotels in the UK ranking 5th in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing