We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pendeen Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Marina Hotel(Newquay)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Carnmarth Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$265
US$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Hotel Bristol(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$297
US$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$251
US$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porth Lodge Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
5
18
11
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
18
11
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Rooms small but adequate; bit of an issue with the water pressure sometimes but not that bad. Breakfasts are great but parking is slightly challenging however, overall this is a great bargain hotel with many extras! We booked through Travelzoo for a 3 night break including a 2 course dinner (worth about £25 each and free entrance to the Eden Project, £23 each) for £98 per person.
Owing holiday cottages myself, I can appreciate the value for money provided with this deal. So, perhaps there is a cat smell at the bottom of the stairs and parking is a bit tight but I appreciated the easy acceptance of a Gluten Free diet and the careful adherance to making this ok for me without a big fuss.
I would certainly return as we had a great time in such a central location. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 10 - brilliant!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyandRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at the Pendeen hotel for 3 nights with a deal we bought from Travelzoo.Everything is very dated which wasn't a problem for us,When I first walked in there was a large bottle of stagnant water on the left hand side walking further into the hall way there was a strong smell of cat pee.When we got up to our room we found the toilet didnt flush properly and the Tv didnt work.(the Tvs replaced with one slightly better and the toilet flushed slightly better after complaining)The room had a horrible smell like unwashed feet and there was brown stains on the carpet the toe nail clipping in the quilted chair,The shower ran very slowly.And the mattress was so old and soft that it was impossible to sleep.The deal we bought included dinner at Porth venor this is at their sister hotel 200 yards away the food was good and hotel /restaurant looked clean.Breakfast was good with really nice eggs.

Room Tip: The room we had was number 11 avoid in fact dont book this hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodfoodLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at the Pendeen for 3 nights in June as part of a Travelsmith deal. Their sister Hotel is the Porth Veor Manor 200 yards away. Sadly, our review contains more bad than good criticism. We raised each item with hotel staff on departure, to which their response was - 'Yes, we know about that'.

On arrival and after parking our expensive car in a cramped car park, we were greeted at the door by hotel staff. My husband said he had noticed a bad smell coming through the door, but did not say anything to me to cause disappointment. Whilst I was checking in, he had located a different smell which was distinctively that of cat pee on the hall carpet by the stairs.

We were taken to our room (room 5) which was small and very warm. The bedroom had one window with an opening of about 2ft square. He thought the room was very warm even, with the window fully open and a radiator turned off. My husband then told me that the (small) bathroom floor was hot from pipes underneath and there was also a very high level of radiant heat coming from a bedroom partition wall. Behind the wall (which contained electrical mains wiring) was a locked cupboard which we assumed contained heating pipes, or some kind of boiler flue which was heating up our bedroom wall. We had to leave the window open all the time, bringing in traffic noise and early morning noise from seagulls.

Because our room was so small we did not want to spend time there and went to find the hotel bar and lounge advertised in the brochure. On our first day, the lounge measuring some 4M X 2M had laundry in blue bags piled high on the settee. There was a bar in a larger room, but the door was kept locked and we never saw it open. I did manage to visit the lounge a day later. There was a bowl of cat food on the floor and the cat would occupy a sofa as if by right.

Throughout our short stay, the hotel common areas and landing were hot, smelly and lacked fresh air ventilation.

Room 5 seemed to have its radiator wired to the toilet flushing in another room, because when a toilet was flushed it woke us up! The bed was comfortable but space in the en-suite was so restricted that my husband being a little larger than me, found the toilet sitting space very restricted. We were told that if we had complained about the room we could have been offered an alternative. That seems to be the way problems at the Pendeen are managed, although an immediate solution for the bad smells would be hard to find.

The breakfasts and table service provided at the Pendeen were good, although my husband was politely 'reprimanded' on 'Health & safety Grounds' for helping himself to coffee from the perkolator!

Overall, this was a bad experience for us and we would not rely on brochure descriptions for other Travelsmith hotels as a result of our visit. The Pendeen has a Hotel registration and a visitor might expect some reasonable common space - a comfortable lounge, clean and odourless to read a newspaper. The Hotel seemed 'tired' and smelly with good examples of outdated Artex plastered walls and ceilings in need of some redecoration. Perhaps the Pendeen gets its Hotel status from the large number of rooms it offers and ticks all the registration boxes. We have stayed in Travel Lodges, Premier Inns and guest houses with superior facilities in the budget hotel category and shall not choose a Travelsmith hotel again.

We would not recommend the Pendeen Hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Do not book online in advance from the brochure description unless you can get money back on arrival after seeing the Hotel and room offered.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voxmagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This was a revisit. Nothing changed since the first. We stayed again 3 nights as part of a promotion by the Travelsmith Group.
The premises are not inviting at all. This starts with the lookout for the parking space. There are not enough spaces available. The way up to the premises is uneven and it looks, as if
the property is damaged and ready for sell off. The cat wee smell is getting stronger once you enter the main door. The Reception room for guests is blocked by the cat or washing sacks.
Everything inside looks very tired and dated - but the smell......
Rooms was bright and painted, not perfectly, just done. Interior is dated and the quality of
the bath or the bed is low. The bed was so painful, that my partner had visible marks on the skin, from sleeping on the worn out matress. Yes, they tried to keepl it clean - they managed to a certain extend. The seaview was disturbed by dirty windows and seagull droppings on glass.
Breakfast was hot at the beginning, but this changed on the next servings. The Engl. Breakfast we ordered was tasty and plentyful. The service was efficient and quick. There was no Hotel service as such. On one occation we were allowed , after asking for it - a drink. Then it was locked up again. I would not give the premises a Hotel Status.
Some of my points can be resolved quickly - but it needs attention very soon.. None of the other guests looked exited either.
It could be such a lovely place in a very good location - with a bit more care and professionalism. Maybe someone at Travelsmith remembers, that the first impression counts....
A hotel accomodation combined with a meal in a seperate location don't work , means a fantastic meal elsewhere , can't eleminate the hotel stay impressions.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are rare, but worth the upgrade. Can be loud, because of door slamming. Try the beds, before you take the room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl8853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel is in a lovely location, over the road from the beach and within walking distance to the main town and beaches of Newquay. Parking was not a problem, the hotel was clean and welcoming, the hotel cat was lovely and made the place homely. Our room was very clean, cleaned each day, the shower was good, tea and coffee facilities in room, nice comfy bed.We only suffered from one noise disturbance, this was due to other guests inability to close the doors quietly late at night (slamming doors at gone midnight seems odd to me). Breakfast was very nice, good choice and excellent service. All in all a very nice hotel in a nice location for a cheap break.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from stairwell
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews