We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but very good value”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Narrowcliff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Narrowcliff Hotel
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic but very good value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I had read some unfavourable reviews on this hotel but went with an open mind. Yes it is Basic but very clean and the warmth and friendliness of ALL the staff made it an enjoyable stay. The room was comfortable and we had a great seaview.. We ate Breakfast and Dinner in the hotel and the food was really good and was well presented. My only complaint in the dining room was we felt rushed, had the feeling that they wanted us to eat up quickly and leave . Ther bar left something to be desired as there didnt seem to be anybody there who knew what they were doing. One evening it was impossible to get a beer as niobody could fix the kegs? Didnt effect me as they serve a very passable Chardonay!! and the entertainment was good. Would we stay again ....most definitely **

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pannie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    39
    35
    42
    40
See reviews for
26
68
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Well run hotel,great location and great value for money.Julie,Jean,Terry and all the staff made it a great holiday. Peter G

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckypete33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Yorkshire.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

The hotel is (to be polite) very very tired. It is one step-up from a Dump. It ought to be knocked down and started again. Every floor-board in our bedroom creaked and the bed did the same. I dread to think what the people in the next room thought we got up to!
The bathroom had a bath and a w.c. When you wanted to wash you had to go in the main living/bed room. If you want some place to just put your head down then it's o.k. but otherwise don't stay here. The skirting board fits where it touches. I dread to think of howmany lares of paint held things together. We asked for a 'room with a view' and that is what we got - a view of the fire escape, a view of the wheelybins and a view of the car park with the coaches and the car wash! Even those staying in rooms at the front had to see their view through filthy windows. It's saving grace was that the bedding was spotlessly clean and the food excelent with waitresses who were as helpfull as anyone could possible be and always had a smile for people. The evening entertainment was good as well.

Room Tip: To get the best room stay in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmotherriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

I have just returned from 5 days at narrowcliffe. My 1st visit, I went with National Holdays and as a single traveler amongst many couples, It can be hard BUT the staff made me feel very welcome and I found I could relax, especially when going into the Dining room. The food was very nice, lots of choice. The waiting staff were VERY good and chatty, and very fast...ok, my room was small but I didn't spend a lot of time in there as was often out walking to one beach or another. My room looked out on the car park at the back but the noise did not keep me awake at all. I would recomend this hotel to anyone and would return. Go and decide for yourself and don't let some of the less favourable reviews on here put you off. There is a tesco express two doors away too which is handy and the hotel is great for walks into the town centre at night... I already miss the place, thats how good it was. Go and enjoy

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rickypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle U.K.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We've just spent a great week in Newquay staying at the Narrowcliff Hotel with National holidays. We had a large room with fantastic views and although it was quite cold when we were there the staff immediately put the heat on boost and we can honestly say we were never cold. The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for us and the food was very good with lovely homemade desserts and lots of choice. The hotel is in need of some refurbishment but our room was always spotlessly clean and had a plentiful supply of tea and coffee. As another traveller said this is not a 5* hotel but there again they are not charging 5* prices, all in all we were very happy and satisfied with our stay at the Narrowcliff hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twocannygeordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

I have just stayed in this hotel, and wont again. Have to say food was plentiful and staff were pleasant and helpful But when you spend your time eating Christmas Dinner in you coat and watching the entertainment in a freezing Ballroom with your coat on, something is terribly wrong. We spent more time in our room than would normally to keep warm. Take plentyof warm clothes if you are going for New Year, dont worry about posh frocks Ladies, you will freeze. Might be OK in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citreon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kettering,northants
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

This hotel was in a great location however on arrival we were given a room probably big enough to house a rabbit.The bed was extremely uncomfortable however after speaking to a member of staff we were moved to another room with no problem at all.The bedrooms are in need of decorating but were clean and we had what we needed.
The service at this hotel was one of the best we have ever recieved.The food was outstanding , we couldnt fault it in any way,great home made food with much variety.Would definately recommend to others but i would say try to get a sea view room as they are bigger.If this hotel spend a little bit on refurbishments it would certainly be a 4*** at least.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kilbirnie Hotel
Kilbirnie Hotel
#30 of 38 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrowcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrowcliff Hotel

Property: Narrowcliff Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located opposite Tolcarne beach. The town centre and all amenities are a 5 minute walk away. Rooms with stunning sea views and very helpfull and friendly staff who will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Narrowcliff Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing