We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the Hotel's web site photos.”
Review of Narrowcliff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Narrowcliff Hotel
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We were booked into the Narrowcliff Hotel for 3 nights and checked out after the first night. As has been said in other reviews the hotel ranges from being very very tired to a dump. The only reason we stayed the first night was because it was too late to return home. The room was dirty. We would not use the drinking beaker left on the wash hand basin as it was filthy. The 'en-suite' was a joke with a toilet brush which needed a good clean. Even the remotes for the TV and the telephone made you wonder if there was anything lurking on them. I had to tell my wife to be careful when opening the wardrobe as it might fall on her as it was so old and precariously perched in an alcove. In the morning we checked the bed which had what looked suspiciously like blood and urine stains on it. The was no matteress cover only a old blanket. On the plus side the sheets were clean and the hotel staff very pleasant. My only regret was I was not carrying my camera and could have shown photos of our room. Be warned the photos on the hotel web site do not reflect the reality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronmac1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

National Holidays should be ashamed for taking money from customers and then sending them to such a dreadful place. Our room was filthy with wallpaper peeling from the walls, broken washhand basin, stinking drains and not enough room to swing a cat round. Even the staff were embarrassed at the state of this "hotel", the receptionist admitting she would not be prepared to sleep in our room given the state of it. Several people on our trip were fortunate enough to be immediately relocated in other hotels as the rooms allocated to them were uninhabitable! The food was passable, but with insufficiant cutlery, chipped and broken crockery and breakfast served straight into my lap on one occasion rather than on the table, all in all this hotel was a bad experience.

Room Tip: Ask to be relocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

my partner & I,have just returned from the Newquay & Eden project trip,with national holidays,
We stayed at the Narrowcliff hotel,which was very basic,our room was very small,
It was more like a single room,than a double.
The hotel needs updating & more entertainment,which we only got for one night.
The meals were good & enough for us,but wouldnt suit anyone with a big appetite,
Newquay has some breathtaking views.
The Eden project is well worth seeing ,
all in all very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

without a dought the narrowcliff hotel is the most discusting place I have ever stayed in I could go on and on telling you how bag it is but Ill let the pictures tell the story that will be enogth!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Walksalone48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I had read some unfavourable reviews on this hotel but went with an open mind. Yes it is Basic but very clean and the warmth and friendliness of ALL the staff made it an enjoyable stay. The room was comfortable and we had a great seaview.. We ate Breakfast and Dinner in the hotel and the food was really good and was well presented. My only complaint in the dining room was we felt rushed, had the feeling that they wanted us to eat up quickly and leave . Ther bar left something to be desired as there didnt seem to be anybody there who knew what they were doing. One evening it was impossible to get a beer as niobody could fix the kegs? Didnt effect me as they serve a very passable Chardonay!! and the entertainment was good. Would we stay again ....most definitely **

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pannie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Well run hotel,great location and great value for money.Julie,Jean,Terry and all the staff made it a great holiday. Peter G

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luckypete33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The hotel is (to be polite) very very tired. It is one step-up from a Dump. It ought to be knocked down and started again. Every floor-board in our bedroom creaked and the bed did the same. I dread to think what the people in the next room thought we got up to!
The bathroom had a bath and a w.c. When you wanted to wash you had to go in the main living/bed room. If you want some place to just put your head down then it's o.k. but otherwise don't stay here. The skirting board fits where it touches. I dread to think of howmany lares of paint held things together. We asked for a 'room with a view' and that is what we got - a view of the fire escape, a view of the wheelybins and a view of the car park with the coaches and the car wash! Even those staying in rooms at the front had to see their view through filthy windows. It's saving grace was that the bedding was spotlessly clean and the food excelent with waitresses who were as helpfull as anyone could possible be and always had a smile for people. The evening entertainment was good as well.

Room Tip: To get the best room stay in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldmotherriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.1 mi away
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Sandy Lodge Hotel
#23 of 37 in Newquay
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilbirnie Hotel
Kilbirnie Hotel
#29 of 37 in Newquay
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrowcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrowcliff Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: £22 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located opposite Tolcarne beach. The town centre and all amenities are a 5 minute walk away. Rooms with stunning sea views and very helpfull and friendly staff who will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Narrowcliff Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing