We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“flea pit”
Review of Narrowcliff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Narrowcliff Hotel
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“flea pit”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

not recomend for disabled or wheelchair users corridors to narrow. Rooms to small and
dirty . needs a good clean . food very good they know how to make vegetarian dishes
will not be going again .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    39
    35
    42
    40
See reviews for
26
68
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

we have just returned from this hotel, would only rate this hotel as minus rating, we should have been paid to stay there, dirty and disgusting , National holidays should warn people that this hotel is less than basic and should come with a health warning. on the plus side the service and excursions provided by National holidays was excellent

Room Tip: Do not know any as every one in our party complained
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Dirty rooms in need of renovation. Appalling manners from dining room staff wet bedding, furniture falling apart. The food was OK though. Even the entertainers knew how poor the place is!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullyleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull e,yorks
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Although this hotel needs a good updating,we had a very nice stay there,The location is very good,lovely walks along the cliffes there,
Food was lovely,Staff where very funny,
We had entertainment,with elvis one evening,
the room was small,but we was out most of the time,
I would stay again anyway.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the hotel ,but I bet the front facing rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachyhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and i stayed at the Narrowcliff for thee nights 9/11-13/11 on a self drive and we booked a room with sea view.The sea view was the only good thing about the room although to be fair the room and bed was clean.The downside was the POKEY ensuite with just enough room to turn around and who ever had the idear of putting the wash basin outside in the bedroom!!! The staff where very good as was the food in the dinning room and the service from are waiter Eddie was spot on.We would not stay at this hotel again but Newquay is well worth a visit.To you who like a drink the bar is exspensive .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sergiouno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We were booked into the Narrowcliff Hotel for 3 nights and checked out after the first night. As has been said in other reviews the hotel ranges from being very very tired to a dump. The only reason we stayed the first night was because it was too late to return home. The room was dirty. We would not use the drinking beaker left on the wash hand basin as it was filthy. The 'en-suite' was a joke with a toilet brush which needed a good clean. Even the remotes for the TV and the telephone made you wonder if there was anything lurking on them. I had to tell my wife to be careful when opening the wardrobe as it might fall on her as it was so old and precariously perched in an alcove. In the morning we checked the bed which had what looked suspiciously like blood and urine stains on it. The was no matteress cover only a old blanket. On the plus side the sheets were clean and the hotel staff very pleasant. My only regret was I was not carrying my camera and could have shown photos of our room. Be warned the photos on the hotel web site do not reflect the reality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronmac1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

National Holidays should be ashamed for taking money from customers and then sending them to such a dreadful place. Our room was filthy with wallpaper peeling from the walls, broken washhand basin, stinking drains and not enough room to swing a cat round. Even the staff were embarrassed at the state of this "hotel", the receptionist admitting she would not be prepared to sleep in our room given the state of it. Several people on our trip were fortunate enough to be immediately relocated in other hotels as the rooms allocated to them were uninhabitable! The food was passable, but with insufficiant cutlery, chipped and broken crockery and breakfast served straight into my lap on one occasion rather than on the table, all in all this hotel was a bad experience.

Room Tip: Ask to be relocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kilbirnie Hotel
Kilbirnie Hotel
#30 of 38 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrowcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrowcliff Hotel

Property: Narrowcliff Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located opposite Tolcarne beach. The town centre and all amenities are a 5 minute walk away. Rooms with stunning sea views and very helpfull and friendly staff who will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Narrowcliff Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing