We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time friendly staff”
Review of Narrowcliff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Narrowcliff Hotel
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Bridlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great time friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

had a great time rooms basic but clean good sea view going back again in september the food was basic but hot and tasty in a great postion just outside the town 2 min walk into the centre of newquay room was basic but was clean everything in it you need towels changed every day

Room Tip: good value nice hotel friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 109lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    39
    35
    42
    40
See reviews for
26
68
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

the hotel is dated but clean and comfortable in a great position overlooking tolcarne beach and a short stroll into town.the food was all homemade and delicious with plenty of choice.The staff were all friendly and helpful,would return again

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d0nnaengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum on the 16august to 19th August came with national holidays for my birthday n my mums birthday and OMG the room we had was 113 yes a sea view but the room was a dirty hole underwear left in the draw from the last guest the bathroom door kicked in dirty bedding holes in the chair by the window the sick was in the bedroom you could go to the loo and shower at same time and the hotel was just a dump food was awful n cold
The pillows on the bed had brown dirty marks on them dread to think what that was

This sure is the hotel from hell and national need to stop using this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Wigston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent 4 nights from 05/08/13 to 9/08 at this hotel. I was surprised to find the place in a decent state contrary to the reviews I had read. True parts of the hotel are in need of an uplift but its bearable. I got exactly what i asked for (Sea view twin room), but when we arrived we were allocated a smallish attic type room which slants at one end. I spoke to the assistant and she checked on the system and advised there was a larger room available in two days time and we were more than welcome to have it. We moved in a couple of days later. This room was ideal. Sea views, large ensuite and lovely views. (Remember room 119) I sat at the window for hours, the sea gives you a great feeling. The location was very handy 5 mins to beach and 10 to town. Breakfast is cereals and then a lovely full English which is what we had everyday. We were surprised by the choice of food served at dinner. Usually 3 starters and 4 or 5 main meals and desert was just as good with a choice of up to 4 served each night. All home cooked. Each night there was always something that we liked. There was also a vegetarian dish available. The service was also second to none. There was also entertainment on the second night, a comedian and a musician on another night.

Room Tip: Room 119 has sea views and a large ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anil_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We travelled up from Oxford on August 9th until August 12th, and as two 22 year old boys, we weren't expecting royal service so we kept an open mind. The Hotel was very well situated; 5 minutes to the beach and to the town centre. Previous reviews have commented on the noisiness of the main road outside, but we didn't find this a problem.

The Hotel itself was very basic and to be honest, quite dated, but on arrival was greeted with a smile and relevant information. Made our way up to the room, clean area and fresh sheets were a bonus, as was the comfort of the mattresses and the shower power.

Among closer inspection, we found a major amount of dust covering the tv and surrounding areas, and a fairly big hole in the bathroom door, but apart from this, the room was in good condition. As stated before, the room was extremely dated and a bit dirty, but it covered our needs of a bed and a good shower.

The Bar we looked at but didn't try out, as was the same with dinner, which is only served between 7pm and 7.30pm! .. However Breakfast was something we chose to have every morning and it was slightly disappointing. The area was clean but the breakfast choice was minimal. Only 4 types of hot breakfast, which included poached, scrambled or soft boiled eggs with toast. My friend opted for the poached eggs on our first morning, which im afraid can only be described as a perfectly rounded hard boiled egg. The eggs had been cooked in a poaching pan only to be obviously left in for a good 10-15 mins. So we both then had the 'Narrowcliff Grill' the rest of the stay. The grill was disappointingly small, with tinned tomatoes instead of fresh and fried bread which tasted like it had been sat in oil. But moaning aside, it was hot and the service was fast and friendly.

Overall, the hotel was good for us, as two lads only came to Newquay for the sights and the nightlife, so somewhere to rest our heads was covered. I would only recommend staying here if you don't mind a simple place close to everything in town.

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view room instead of the concrete garden we got, and ask for a room with a good Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnygrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I knew this hotel would be a cheap and cheerful one when I booked - but was open minded and for the money expected basics to be basic. However, basic cleanliness should be a given.

Without doubt this is the most unhygienic, dirty, and poorly serviced hotel that I have ever ever experienced.

I did complain and was offered two other rooms - the third I had to accept as they were all disgusting.

From mould on ceilings - to blood on walls and wash basins, a shower that I simply refused to take a shower in - Flies everywhere - including the dining room, wallpaper coming away in most areas, dust so high that it was possible to pull it away in a sheet, sticky woodwork - need I go on!

Just do not go ! !

Room Tip: All rooms are small and dirty - could not 'hand on heart '[ suggest any rooms in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymakeruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed 29/06/13 for 1 week in top floor room 315, single room with good sea view. Facilities in room more than adequate, superb shower with plenty of hot water. Hotel clean & tidy, rooms well cleaned every day towels changed and beverages topped up, wi-fi available in the room but not so in some of the other rooms ?. Full breakfast includes juices,cerial choice of mains and as much toast as required, simple rule be polite and you will get what you ask for,(within reason) not like some of the other guests who seemed to pefer moaning to enjoying the moment.
All staff helpful and friendly nice hotel bar, residents only I believe and entertainment on some nights not quite my cup of tea but suited others. As I ate out did'nt sample evening meals but they looked & smelled ok.
Location is good, close to railway station and a gentle downhill stroll into town & harbour area, ample pubs and eateries nearby.
Would I stay there again ? , at the price I paid £24.00 per night breakkie included, definately yes.

Room Tip: sea views to the front but also overlooks busy main road, view worth the traffic noise though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#19 of 38 in Newquay
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilbirnie Hotel
Kilbirnie Hotel
#30 of 38 in Newquay
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
837 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.6 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#20 of 38 in Newquay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrowcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrowcliff Hotel

Property: Narrowcliff Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located opposite Tolcarne beach. The town centre and all amenities are a 5 minute walk away. Rooms with stunning sea views and very helpfull and friendly staff who will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Narrowcliff Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing