We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Narrowcliff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Narrowcliff Hotel
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

So obviously when you book at the Narrowcliff you know you're not going to get a five star experience. But we have been really impressed with our stay. Yes the decor is tired and it could do with a re vamp but at between £25-30 per person per night ( including breakfast ) what can you expect? You probably wouldn't expect great customer service, and we didn't, but we couldn't have been more wrong. Every member of staff who we dealt with was friendly, helpful and went above and beyond to help us out. From the man on reception when we arrived who made coffees and teas for us as my pregnant friend asked where we could get a drink, to the hard working and friendly breakfast team who overheard us talking about juice, rushed over and apologised when things weren't completely perfect. The staff are a credit to the hotel and maybe the people who are giving this place a really low rating need to take a reality check. Don't nitpick over trivialities when you're paying peanuts. This place is perfect for exploring Newquay if you're on a budget and the front facing rooms have incredible views.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mthcmb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    39
    35
    42
    40
See reviews for
26
68
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

A lovely welcome by all the staff .... nothing was too much for them. Excellent value for money. We originally booked for 4 nights but it was in such an ideal and convenient location we found that we had to extend our stay.
The views across the bay are absolutely breath taking xx

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank snobnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

room was very filthy with hair all on carpets had to wear sleepers or shoes all the time other wise hair will stuck on socks. no light in some park of the room informed staff member who never got back to fix it. hair from previous occupant still in the bath not cleaned. mysterious yellow stain on the bed. wall crack everywhere. heating is controlled from main reception downstairs so its either fried or frozen nothing in between . room was decent size but in term of hygiene I would rate 0. all furniture's was dusty. there was stones under the bed which also belong to previous occupant.
I wont recommend to anyone unless if you want to waste your money please view pictures as well

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rishi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

greenfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Food cold,greasy,inedible. Complained and the waitress argued rather than listened.So we Ate out and stayed healthy.
Room cold,damp, mouldy, draughty,bedding stained.
Lights weren't working, neither at the top or bottom of the stairs and more importantly above the door of the emergency exit. On informing management nothing was done at all about the safety of guests or staff. The Electrics in the building need checking because during our stay the light in reception literally melted, the fitting removed but bare wires left hanging down.
THe only saving graces of our stay were the nearby eateries and a helpful,polite receptionist, who, undertrained did her best and always smiled while under extreme pressure. The overall holiday wasn't rubbish because rubbish is recyclable. STAY AWAY

Room Tip: DON'T choose any room, avoid staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asgoodascanbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, England
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Booked A Night Here With Some Friends Im Very Glad It Was Just One Night, Absolutely Poor Service At The Reception Desk.
The Rooms Were Absolutely Disgusting Stains On Beds And Floor. Shower Rooms Needed A good Clean With Mould And Dirt. Lights Didnt Work Looked As Of They Was About To Fall Off The Walls. Curtains Hanging On.Cups And Kettle In The Room Didnt Even Look As If They Jad Been Cleaned. For The Price We Paid , Disgusting. We Have Stayed In Many Hotels In Newquay And NarrowCliff is Poor Very Poor. We Certainly Wont Be Going Back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bossybecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel itself might not be the best hotel you will be in but the owner of the place who is a manager there will make you feel very welcome!

Very friendly staff, manager was always very helpful and was very kind to change us rooms (I wanted room with a bath) and change us breakfast (we wanted Continental instead of full English).

Hotel needs some works done but for the price you pay per night you can't really ask for more. Bed linen and towels were nice and clean and I guess that's the most important.

We enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Seaview rooms seem to be bigger than the rest if you are looking for a bit more space with lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalkaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We've had an Easter break in Newquay this year and stayed at the Narrowcliff. The hotel is a bit tired but there is a new manager and the staff and food were wonderful, served on time and not a mixed up meal in sight. The staff bent over backwards to make it a pleasant stay, they even did a special breakfast for my grandson and cooked his food just how he wanted it. Beds were a bit uncomfortable and the place needs some refurb money spending on it, but we were told that was the owner, not the manager and staff.

All in all it served its purpose, a place to eat and sleep at a bargain price (£24 b/b) and we had a very nice holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Porth Veor Manor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kilbirnie Hotel
Kilbirnie Hotel
#30 of 38 in Newquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrowcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrowcliff Hotel

Property: Narrowcliff Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located opposite Tolcarne beach. The town centre and all amenities are a 5 minute walk away. Rooms with stunning sea views and very helpfull and friendly staff who will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Narrowcliff Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing