We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Narrowcliff Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Newquay
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Marina Hotel(Newquay)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Eliot Hotel(Newquay)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
27
39
35
42
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
39
35
42
40
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great weekend here.
Staff lovely. Room ok and the shower was fine. Minute tv wasn't a bother.. We were in Newquay! Why stay in! Lol. I second the maids being far too noisy yelling down the corridor to each other! All in all value for money

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TheGadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The staff are lovely at this hotel the hotel is a let down, small rooms,small breakfast, no entertainment or evening dinner,shower was broken and try blaming us,view was shabby,toilet never flushed first time or fully flushed, the cleaner in the morning are really load so after a night out you get woke up to cleaners making a racket by singer or shouting to one another, real let down really

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophieann95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The location is beautiful and the staff are very helpful however the place smells of damp, the room was really dirty and off putting and everything seemed to get damp. We had a fly problem in our room which spoilt the lovely view from our grotty dirty window. We had a toddler with us and it was quite stressful as the carpet was so disgustingly dirty I did not want him to touch it with bare hands! There was even a dead squashed fly stuck on the wall. Also we had a problem with the bath as the shower and the taps had to be on at the same time, the lever to switch from one to the other was broken. The bath plug was also broken and so the bath water just drained out.

Breakfast was nice and hot but by the 3rd morning the hotel was busy and it seemed the staff could not cope. We were sat at a table which still had dirty plates on it, we were given cremated toast and the tea was cold.

I think they need to seriously revamp the inside before letting people pay to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_edwards9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in room 216. moderate sized double room on the second floor, front overlooking the beach and park. On main road but the traffic noise did not disturb us as the bed was very comfortable and immaculately clean. There was plenty of hot water and shower worked well although if the back of the bathroom door had been wiped down and the floor washed it would have been better, everything else was clean.
This is an elderly hotel and obviously suffers from damp patches around so that some of the edges of the wallpaper were coming loose and there was a little mould around the window which would have wiped off with some bleach but we just looked at the stunning view and the sunset instead of the wallpaper!
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast served between 8am and 9am and arrived quickly, hot and was delicious.
So no complaints from us as the room was a reasonable price we expected it was not going to be gold star. Central, location.
Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for the views but not if some noise disturbs you.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaureenEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Having recently returned from a trip to the Narrowcliff , although in Cornwall Fawlty towers would be an apt description for this tired and unkempt hotel . Our room was a blast from the past it had not be updated in many years , no information pack, no hairdrier not even a bible in it to offer a prayer .The pink bathroom was dire had to go to local tesco for cleaning products before I d even venture in there . No basin in there either that was located in the room .
2 ladies in our coach party where not even booked in on arrival, they had to hastily find them somewhere in the hotel even suggesting they share . Shocking as the ladies had never met before.The staff did try their best in the dining room, there was no manager to give them direction.We were asked 4 times what we would like as our starter , we had already had it and were waiting for mains .No salt or pepper on the tables and no small spoons when asking for one the poorlad was clueless. The roof spaces in the passageway were home to homeless seagulls . What this hotel needs is to close and have a thorough deep clean and refurb before opening its doors to the paying public .

Room Tip: A seafront one as the views were spectacular
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews