We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Reception Staff. Dated Hotel.”
Review of Narrowcliff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Narrowcliff Hotel
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Reception Staff. Dated Hotel.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the weekend. Jean is fantastic bless her. She works so hard and the night porter was really pleasant. Now for the rooms. We had 216 and 316. Sea views fantastic. Clean towels and bed linen. Duvet wasn't great and pillows had seen better days. Room decoration dated as was bathroom. Extremely hot water beware if you have children. Breakfast was OK for what we had paid. £25.00 per person per night. If you are expecting to get 5 star luxury not the place for you. If you just want somewhere to sleep, get washed and changed and eat breakfast then this is good value with great reception staff.

Room Tip: Car park not very big. Arrive after 5 p.m.you may have to park away from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKOala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    39
    35
    42
    40
See reviews for
26
68
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The wife and I could not get a short break in our first or second choice hotels, thus we booked into the Narrowcliffe. The lift was not working, thus, had to lug luggage up two floors - never worked all week! Our room was rather small, no room service on one day, tea/coffee facility never cleaned or replaced. The 5 ft radiator was detached from the wall and was prevented from falling over by the bedside cabinet. The opening window was minus it's two handles thus making hard to operate. The over mirror light in the bathroom did not work. If it was a wall it was painted magnolia on artex or woodchip. In the dining room you had nice brown stained ceiling with peeling wallpaper.
The breakfast of cereal, juice, fry and toast and coffee was OK. The linen was changed once.
It might be a budget hotel but we certainly would not stay here again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

darwen
Level Contributor
243 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Having paid £25 a night for bed with a proper breakfast... I did not expect much... Hotel is well located and staff are excellent but rooms (although clean) are tired and hotel needs dragging into 21st century... would I come back yes... if I got a great deal like I did this time!!!

Room Tip: noisy at back due to entertainment at Hotel Bristol my advice is to upgrade and get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleport, Ely.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great weekend here.
Staff lovely. Room ok and the shower was fine. Minute tv wasn't a bother.. We were in Newquay! Why stay in! Lol. I second the maids being far too noisy yelling down the corridor to each other! All in all value for money

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheGadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St austell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The staff are lovely at this hotel the hotel is a let down, small rooms,small breakfast, no entertainment or evening dinner,shower was broken and try blaming us,view was shabby,toilet never flushed first time or fully flushed, the cleaner in the morning are really load so after a night out you get woke up to cleaners making a racket by singer or shouting to one another, real let down really

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophieann95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The location is beautiful and the staff are very helpful however the place smells of damp, the room was really dirty and off putting and everything seemed to get damp. We had a fly problem in our room which spoilt the lovely view from our grotty dirty window. We had a toddler with us and it was quite stressful as the carpet was so disgustingly dirty I did not want him to touch it with bare hands! There was even a dead squashed fly stuck on the wall. Also we had a problem with the bath as the shower and the taps had to be on at the same time, the lever to switch from one to the other was broken. The bath plug was also broken and so the bath water just drained out.

Breakfast was nice and hot but by the 3rd morning the hotel was busy and it seemed the staff could not cope. We were sat at a table which still had dirty plates on it, we were given cremated toast and the tea was cold.

I think they need to seriously revamp the inside before letting people pay to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_edwards9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in room 216. moderate sized double room on the second floor, front overlooking the beach and park. On main road but the traffic noise did not disturb us as the bed was very comfortable and immaculately clean. There was plenty of hot water and shower worked well although if the back of the bathroom door had been wiped down and the floor washed it would have been better, everything else was clean.
This is an elderly hotel and obviously suffers from damp patches around so that some of the edges of the wallpaper were coming loose and there was a little mould around the window which would have wiped off with some bleach but we just looked at the stunning view and the sunset instead of the wallpaper!
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast served between 8am and 9am and arrived quickly, hot and was delicious.
So no complaints from us as the room was a reasonable price we expected it was not going to be gold star. Central, location.
Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for the views but not if some noise disturbs you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaureenEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#19 of 38 in Newquay
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilbirnie Hotel
Kilbirnie Hotel
#30 of 38 in Newquay
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
836 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.6 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#20 of 38 in Newquay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrowcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrowcliff Hotel

Property: Narrowcliff Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located opposite Tolcarne beach. The town centre and all amenities are a 5 minute walk away. Rooms with stunning sea views and very helpfull and friendly staff who will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Narrowcliff Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing