We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When is a hotel not a hotel?”
Review of Narrowcliff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Narrowcliff Hotel
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“When is a hotel not a hotel?”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Situated ideally at the quiet north end of Newquay and directly above Tolcarne Beath with front car parking for about 10 cars and another 5 behind. Staff were very nice and friendly but the building itself is dated and needing complete refurbishment. On arrival I asked the time for dinner and was told I couldn't eat there if I hadn't chosen my meal the day before! Also after that weekend they would only be offering breakfast. On this basis, surely this hotel is a b@b, not a hotel, not necessarily suitable for a family or elderly because independent restaurants were a walk away.I was there for 6 days and the last 3 days the lift was out of order and still not repaired when I left. I spent my time chilling out on the beach and reading which is what I had planned to do but would say that in its present state this hotel maybe more suited to surfers and the like - apparently there are other hotels of a higher standard yet similar price more central to Newquay.

Room Tip: Front rooms would have beautiful vista over the beach. Back rooms in danger of looking at the public...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12YveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    39
    35
    42
    40
See reviews for
26
68
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay in this simple basic hotel, no frills, nice room, good shower, all fine during my stay, excellent cooked breakfast. The location is great too, all in all great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Wanna just say a big thank you 2 all the staff at narrow cliff hotel was an awsome place and very gd price the brekfast was awsome and room was clean tidy everyday will deffos go bk there again oh the nite porter steve was a gd lad aswell had a lauph with him and the rest of them aka freindly bunch xxxx

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank karlconnornevaehcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here for work with two colleagues and we took a each took a random key from the three given to us. One room on the first floor was dark and unappealing, the second on the 2nd floor was a bit better but not great and fortunately I got one the key to the room on the top floor with a sea view. The staff were very friendly and it seemed as though my room was being done up a bit but the rooms were a little dusty and damp. I think overall for the price and location it was pretty good though.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiebamboola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the weekend. Jean is fantastic bless her. She works so hard and the night porter was really pleasant. Now for the rooms. We had 216 and 316. Sea views fantastic. Clean towels and bed linen. Duvet wasn't great and pillows had seen better days. Room decoration dated as was bathroom. Extremely hot water beware if you have children. Breakfast was OK for what we had paid. £25.00 per person per night. If you are expecting to get 5 star luxury not the place for you. If you just want somewhere to sleep, get washed and changed and eat breakfast then this is good value with great reception staff.

Room Tip: Car park not very big. Arrive after 5 p.m.you may have to park away from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKOala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The wife and I could not get a short break in our first or second choice hotels, thus we booked into the Narrowcliffe. The lift was not working, thus, had to lug luggage up two floors - never worked all week! Our room was rather small, no room service on one day, tea/coffee facility never cleaned or replaced. The 5 ft radiator was detached from the wall and was prevented from falling over by the bedside cabinet. The opening window was minus it's two handles thus making hard to operate. The over mirror light in the bathroom did not work. If it was a wall it was painted magnolia on artex or woodchip. In the dining room you had nice brown stained ceiling with peeling wallpaper.
The breakfast of cereal, juice, fry and toast and coffee was OK. The linen was changed once.
It might be a budget hotel but we certainly would not stay here again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

darwen
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Having paid £25 a night for bed with a proper breakfast... I did not expect much... Hotel is well located and staff are excellent but rooms (although clean) are tired and hotel needs dragging into 21st century... would I come back yes... if I got a great deal like I did this time!!!

Room Tip: noisy at back due to entertainment at Hotel Bristol my advice is to upgrade and get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#28 of 37 in Newquay
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.1 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Sandy Lodge Hotel
#23 of 37 in Newquay
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#19 of 37 in Newquay
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narrowcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrowcliff Hotel

Property: Narrowcliff Hotel
Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located opposite Tolcarne beach. The town centre and all amenities are a 5 minute walk away. Rooms with stunning sea views and very helpfull and friendly staff who will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Narrowcliff Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing