We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice and a different hotel but yeah we liked it!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Metro Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #85 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
“nice and a different hotel but yeah we liked it!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were there at Newquay last year may bank holiday. the hotel is a bit far off from the railway station its definitely a big walk especially if you are with kids, but for the price of the hotel its okay! Near to the hotel I can say about 1 kilometer there are fantastic sea views. while we were walking to the hotel from the train station we took lots of pics there. There is a bus stop around the same <2 km and it takes you to few places in cornwall. The hotel breakfast was fantastic

I cant explain the way the hotle was constructed as its quite different to normal hotels you have everything acomodated in small space but you will like it. the bed had two stories :-)
I and my daughter took the top floor.:-)) at the end for the amount you pay its worth but its a bit far off to walk from the places, btw there are few near by bus stops but yeah you need to know the bus routes before hand!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamtripabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samcoNewquay, General Manager at The Metro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We are thirlled that you enjoy your stay with us and liked our concept. Please tell your friends about us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    39
    12
    12
    10
See reviews for
26
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My girlfriend and I stopped a The Metro in Newquay for a Saturday night at the end of October. We received a warm welcome on reception, and check-in took just a couple of minutes.

We stayed in a double room with en suite located at the rear of the hotel, overlooking the outdoor pool and patio area. The room was very clean, and came with everything we could want - a decent-sized LCD TV, an iPod dock, a hair dryer and loads of tea and coffee.

The self-service breakfast buffet was just right with plenty of food to go round, and we really appreciated the free coffee machine!

Couldn't fault this B&B, and would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samcoNewquay, Front Office Manager at The Metro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the metro. However we do not have a pool??? We used to some years ago. Very happy you found your room suitable and that you enjoyed the breakfast and coffee machine. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This hotel was far to costly for what it gave. It should have been more like £50 rather than £78. The money is all taken up front and so its too late after one has paid to demand your money back.
The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the bedroom smelt of damp - this was coming from the ensuite which had mold in the shower and was hardly big enough to sit on the loo. Silverfish insects ran from the ensuite into the bedroom.
On the plus side - staff were friendly; the bed linen was clean and the breakfasts were excellent as long as you do not mind cleaning up after yourself (as one was expected to put the dirty dishes into the dishwasher).

Room Tip: Make sure you read all the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samcoNewquay, Front Office Manager at The Metro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Firstly if you were unhappy with your room and had reported it to us we would have done our best to rectify the problem, i.e. moving you to another room.
The metro is a bed and breakfast not a hotel and it is not uncommon for bed and breakfasts to take money up front. Its something we have always done and is passed by the tourist board.
If you were unhappy with your stay and wanted to leave, if agreed by management you would have been given a full or partial refund.
In terms of you finding us costly if you checked our bed and breakfast competitors you would have seen we offer some of the best rates around.
You have not mentioned what room you stayed in and this is the first report we have ever had with regards to silver fish. In terms of room size, all rooms have to be passed by the tourist board as adequate in size before letting.

I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast and found staff friendly, we do advertise the breakfast to be fully self service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We arrived in Newquay and found The Metro very easily. Upon entering the establishment, I found it to be warm and inviting. As B&B's go this is one heck of a place, not too many rules and regulations, very clean and something I would call a home from home. The bedrooms were ideally equipped with hairdryer, flat screen TV with DVD player and freeview, a heater and sink. A fantastic view from the bedroom was also present. Staff were friendly with always a good morning and a smile when we came through for breakfast.

Breakfast was of continental style which was excellent.

I would definitely come back again, this place for me was 5 stars

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samcoNewquay, Front Office Manager at The Metro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
I'm so happy that you enjoyed the concept of the metro bed and breakfast. We try very hard to get the right feel here and it seems to be working. Which is great. Really do hope you come back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

The hotel was a good price for what you got the outside and foyer was well managed, clean and modern. Check in was great as were there early and we had driven for 5 hours we were able to access our room early too which was a bonus. The staff were very friendly. Front desk is closed for lunch so we would have had to wait until after lunch to book in.
Anyway the room was clean and over all modern. Although there was a faint smell to the room a little like smelly socks. And the walls are very thin. As on a couple of occasions the couple in the next room were a little noisy ont heir bed. The breakfast is up to 11am so loads of time to wake up and take your time. Its continental and no waiting service, so help yourself and try and keep the area tidy,Which people did. It was very relaxed atmosphere and we enjoyed our 2 days there.

Room Tip: we had a great veiw of the playing fields at the back. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tray70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I dont normally write reviews on here, but this B&B is worth a mention. We stopped for 3 nights and had a great break. The service we received from the staff was extreamly friendly and very helpful, answering questions about the local area knowing good places to go and eat.
The self service breakfast was lovely and the coffee machine in the breakfast area being available all day was a bonus.
We would recommend the metro to anyone looking for a nice clean friendly B&B, one thing to mention is its about a 25 min walk to the main area of town, but that didn't bother us.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charcole82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samcoNewquay, Front Office Manager at The Metro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for your kind words. Its great that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chobham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

i stayed at the metro as a last min trip to newquay i was very impressed with all the facilities. i stayed with my kids and they loved the fact they had a seperate room which i have not found anywhere else. the breakfats facilities meet all our needs and more. We will be staying there again in the future

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#53 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.7 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Metro Bed and Breakfast
Address: 142 Henver Road, Newquay TR7 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want great accommodation in Newquay for your holiday in Cornwall, then look no further than The Metro. Our contemporary accommodation represents a new style of bed and breakfast in Newquay and offers a flexible and laid back environment to enjoy your stay with us. Breakfast at The Metro is a fully self service continental buffet from 8.00am – 11.00am in our dining area, which is also open 24 hours a day for you to bring back take away meals whenever you like. We have a complimentary hot drinks machine in the lounge area, where you can chill out watching our 42 inch flat screen on our comfy leather sofas. Located 15 minutes walk from the town centre of Newquay, with a bus stop outside our front door, The Metro is close to all the amenities of a busy resort but far enough from town for peace and quiet – making our Newquay bed & breakfast the perfect base for your holiday in Newquay. Two of Cornwall’s finest beaches are within walking distance of our Newquay accommodation and there are plenty of attractions and activities to keep you entertained. Features of The Metro: - Contemporary styled rooms - Flexible breakfast times - Family friendly - Onsite parking available at £3 per night - Wireless internet access - 10 minutes stroll to the beach - South facing sun deck - Secure surfboard store - No stag or hen groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Metro b&b
The Metro Hotel Newquay
The Metro Bed And Breakfast Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing