We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, friendly place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Metro Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #89 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were camping at Watergate Bay and as the weather was so bad we booked in to The Metro, they immediately upgraded us to a family room which overlooked the decking area out the back. All staff were friendly and helpful of suggestions of what to do in the surrounding area. Breakfast was great every morning and enabled us to thoroughly enjoy our holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raelouise114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

My room was small but functional shower was cramped. The radiator worked well and the room was clean the dvd tv combo was a nice touch. But the bed was uncomfortable and the walls are so thin had to wear ear plugs could hear the person next door snoring and chatting quietly that's how thin the walls are! Glad i had my own toilet and shower as the shared one stank! The buffet breakfast was nice as was the drink machine. For the price I paid at just over 30 pound a night it did the job but wouldn't pay any more ie the summer rates.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The metro is a lovily place to stay clean and tidy and very welcoming . The staff were very freindly and its cheap cant wait to stay again also the shower was great after a long drive !!! Would recommend from steve & jo

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevejo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

stayed here a couple of summers ago was lovely,great value,great staff and the help yourself breakfast was nice!would reccomend for a value stay in newquay.Especially liked the drinks machine that was avaliable and the fact you could use the area all day to sit and relax

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Well, this is the second year we have stayed here and is an excellent place to come and stay that's close by to everything. I certainly dont agree with the poor critique that has been issued. Helpful staff, rooms serviced EVERY DAY with clean sheets/towels etc. Always plenty of food available at breakfast time, Free Wi-Fi & Freeview Television. The place is clean and tidy and very warm

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

we needed an overnight in Newquay so frills not neccessary and this fitted the bill. As others have highlighted it is basically a better quality hostel. Reception and breakfast area smart and functional. Receptionist pleasant and helpful. Room small and ensuite smaller than average. Biggest downside is noise. Younger guests coming back late and others leaving very early. We bought take away fish & chips in the evening and ate them in the breakfast area which was nice enough. Free tea and coffee on tap a plus. breakfast is basic but ok. Price at £49 makes it acceptable but £3 extra for parking a bit of a cheek especially as parking can be tricky as space limited.

Room Tip: We had a room out the back so no road noise but other guests made up for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrandMrsSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

It always disappoints me when I'm forced to write a negative review, as I would prefer to say nothing at all. There are a couple of positive notes so I'll begin with those: the lady at reception is very pleasant and helpful; the breakfast area is available for use all day so is a useful place to sit and have a final beer/wine and a chat, and it’s only fifteen minutes walk into Newquey. That I’m afraid is it. I won’t complain about not having ‘ensuite’ since I was made aware of it at the time of booking; however the two rooms were not as close as described. The accommodation is furnished in an attempt at a modern style, but is done so poorly, with the consequence that everything is cheap and nasty: from the silver and metal shelves in the bedroom which are presumably a take on a wardrobe and chest, to the black and white metal legged tables and chairs in the kitchen. There are a lot of rooms in what is a relatively modest sized building, so our room was small,(as surely are the others) had paper thin walls, and meant we were either kept awake or woken by the two or three sets of children in the building. Breakfast was the like of which I have never experienced, nor wish to again. I’m sure that the mini boxes of cornflakes were perfectly acceptable, and having not tried them will give the benefit to. However, cheap plastic-pack supermarket croissant; plastic boxes of supermarket mini muffins; packet crumpets; and sliced white bread left in its wrapper, do not constitute a ‘quality continental breakfast’. The ‘all you can eat’ idea may well appeal if on a budget, but this establishment does not charge budget prices. Even with a substantial online discount this was 3-4 star cost at 1 star standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mozwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samcoNewquay, Front Office Manager at The Metro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Having just read your review of The Metro I would firstly like to apologise if your stay here was not what you expected. However, I do feel that some of your comments need addressing.

The room that you chose is not "small" it is a standard sized room, and given the fact that you did not see any of the other rooms during your stay here, it is unfair to make an assumption that they are all "small"..........Our rooms vary in size, some sleep 2 people, some sleep 3, some sleep 4/5.

Our breakfast room gets a lot of use - at full capacity we have 45 people to feed. For this reason our tables and chairs need to be durable and easy to clean in order to ensure that proper hygiene standards are met. They were chosen for a purpose and they serve that purpose well. We personally think that they look nice and that they complement our dining area. I feel that your "cheap and nasty" comment is a little harsh although you are of course, entitled to your opinion.

Regarding breakfast - our concept is simple. Yoghurts, fresh fruit, toast, crumpets, croissants, orange juice, pain au chocolate and various preserves. Our guests have a 3 hour window for breakfast and we get fantastic feedback both for the concept and the quality of our breakfast. All of our cereals are brand named (Kelloggs/weetabix etc) and are individually boxed.

Regarding packaging, unless we were to make all of our products ourselves, we need to buy them in. Again, without knowing who are supplier/s are you are making an assumption about their quality. If you had actually tried the breakfast items for yourself, maybe your review would have been more positive?

We work really hard here behind the scenes to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay (you did pick up on the friendliness of the staff) and it is always a disappointment to receive a bad review. Whilst we take every comment/criticism on board, I feel that on this occasion you have written a rather scathing review of what is actually, a well run, value for money bed and breakfast. The majority of our guests have an enjoyable stay which usually results in a positive review of our premises. Again, I can only apologise if this wasn't the case for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.7 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 78 in Newquay
64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metro Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metro Bed and Breakfast

Address: 142 Henver Road, Newquay TR7 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £30 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want great accommodation in Newquay for your holiday in Cornwall, then look no further than The Metro. Our contemporary accommodation represents a new style of bed and breakfast in Newquay and offers a flexible and laid back environment to enjoy your stay with us. Breakfast at The Metro is a fully self service continental buffet from 8.00am – 11.00am in our dining area, which is also open 24 hours a day for you to bring back take away meals whenever you like. We have a complimentary hot drinks machine in the lounge area, where you can chill out watching our 42 inch flat screen on our comfy leather sofas. Located 15 minutes walk from the town centre of Newquay, with a bus stop outside our front door, The Metro is close to all the amenities of a busy resort but far enough from town for peace and quiet – making our Newquay bed & breakfast the perfect base for your holiday in Newquay. Two of Cornwall’s finest beaches are within walking distance of our Newquay accommodation and there are plenty of attractions and activities to keep you entertained. Features of The Metro: - Contemporary styled rooms - Flexible breakfast times - Family friendly - Onsite parking available at £3 per night - Wireless internet access - 10 minutes stroll to the beach - South facing sun deck - Secure surfboard store - No stag or hen groups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Metro Hotel Newquay
The Metro b&b
The Metro Bed And Breakfast Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing