We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of The Quies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Quies
Ranked #8 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We enjoyed the 2 nights we stayed at The Quies. The room was very modern and clean, breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice, staff very friendly. We thought that it was a good idea to provide a microwave and crockery if you wanted to bring a take away in and coffee machine and orange juice was a nice touch. The honesty bar seemed very reasonably priced and the free pool table was a good idea. The Quies is in a good location and we thought excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireYorkie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

I'd recommend everyone to stay here, Alex the owner is very helpful and attentive, Our bus was really late at night, she told us we could stay there hanging out, The breakfast was really good, There's a pool table, all the dvds, games , football table etc...Drinks at very good price, and coffee and tea available all day. The rooms and the facilities are really clean, and there's parking and a
room to keep things if you need to, we had surfboards to carry so it was great we could leave them there.

Room Tip: We had the front room one which can be a bit noisy as people come in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank putxurrutxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Very comfortable and convenient hotel in the centre of Newquay with only a 5-10 minutes downhill walk to the shops, sea and bus station.
Nice welcome when checking in with an initial tour of the dining room and facilities before being shown to our room. We had a room facing the road which could be a little noisy when the windows were open but it was such a nice spacious room with a queen size bed that this was a minor problem. There was plenty of choice for breakfast which was fairly well cooked.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and there were other little touches that made this hotel particularly pleasing, such as coffee machine for any time of the day, the use of a microwave and crockery for any take away suppers, use of computer terminal plus wifi in each room, pool table.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PortsmouthPensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed at the top room with a perfect view. Very clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast!!! Like it very much.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ccy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We asked for a ground floor room and was given room 2, very spacious family room. great size tele, very comfortable beds, plenty of storage. clean to the point of being spotless. the shower room was immaculate, the only other place ive seen with glass doors as clean as this is my own home. Two very large communal tele's with sky sports and movies, one in the games room, and one with sofas at the back of the dinning room. breakfast room was large spacious, and available through out the evening if ytou want a take away, all you would need, knifes forks plates etc etc fresh coffee machine and orange juice through out the day. FREE full size pool table, tabletop football, and a tabletop space invader, with over 60 all time classics from donkey kong to scramble, frogger etc etc.
Breakfast was GREAT, and really good quality and quantity.
Location is approx 2mins from the town. fair size hill but nothing to worry most people.
Would i stay here again?
I wouldnt bother looking any where else when i return to newquay.
I do have photo's, which i will try to upload at a later time.
Hope this helps you.

Room Tip: room two. ground floor, spacious. although next to the games room, but then guests are told to keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank allen2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We have just stayed at The Quies for a week and had a fabulous time. The hotel/B&B is very clean, the staff are friendly, the rooms are of good size and newly refurbished (and the bed was soooo comfy!) and breakfast was good. Enjoyed chilling in the games room at times and thought the honesty bar was cheap. Would highly recommend a stay here and if we go to Newquay again we would definatly stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
DEB AND CHRIS

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Quies for the weekend on august bank holiday 2011. We arrived quite early in the morning (about 8.30) and were told we could have our room at 11 am which was much appreciated. The owners, cleaners and the girl who took orders at breakfast were all very friendly. The hotel itself was very clean and had a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. A few nice touches were that they have an honesty bar and you can help yourself to coffee and juice. They also allow you to use they're dining/lounge area to take food back which was great after the pub to come back and get comfy on the sofa and watch tv whilst having your take away. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was large. We also had a sea view. For breakfast you could help yourself to cereals, fruit, yoghurt, drinks and toast. There were lots of cooked options, we went for the full english which was delicious. Overall a fab place to stay, would stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teenyweenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quies

Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £39 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing