We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views, freindly staff”
Review of the quies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
the quies
Ranked #6 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome views, freindly staff”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed a couple of nights in september 2011. More than happy. Had a balcony room with wonderful views.

Room was modern, lovely ensuite.

Only drama were the stairs and luggage. Had help with the luggage and all was good.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony .... the view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    78
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
81
270
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
The English Home Counties
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The large breakfast saved us a fortune, as a pasty or cream tea was all we could manage to eat for the rest of the day. Hence, no expensive eating out. Also, activities are available, ie, pool, DVD's and games console, if the weather is a bit iffy, and you need to stay indoors.

Furthermore, found out that the Gaffer is Northern, from Chester, that might explain why this hotel is such very good value for money!

It is also reasonably situated for the town centre, but, about a 3/4 mile walk to Fistral Beach, through the town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Right-Stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Booked a couple of nights here before going on to Falmouth for a big family holiday. We were going to arrive late (1am) and so I asked if this would be a problem. I was told that it was no problem and was emailed the code for the front door and where the key would be. Arrived at 1am, used the code to open the door and got the key. There was a nice note saying that they were sorry to have missed us and also the password so that you could connect to the FREE wifi (I had expected to pay for this). On entering the room, I was pleasantly surprised by how modern, spacious and cosy it was. There was a huge modern ensuite, TV and also a DVD player. Very nice. In the morning, we went down for breakfast, which is probably one of the nicest cooked breakfasts we have had. In the evening, after dinner and a couple of drinks, we came back to the hotel but weren't ready to go to the room. There is a large area with a pool table, table football and also a retro style pac man and video games table, There was also a cooler which had beer, wine, cider etc which was at a very reasonable price. So, all in all, lovely hotel, great facilities, and very friendly staff/owners. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_and_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Visited Newquay 28/30th Oct 2011 to see our daughter who is renting a room in the centre of town. It was a special occasion as it was her 21st birthday.
Why am I telling you all this? Wait and see.

The hotel is a short, but steepish walk up from the town, not too arduous for a couple in their mid/late 50's. It has recently been done up and the room we were in was very well appointed and looked after, on the first morning it was cleaned and the bed made whilst we were having breakfast - never seen that happen before. Breakfast was excellent and again the service from the young waitress was faultless.

Back to the reason for being there. As I said it was our daughters 21st, but we didn't really have anywhere to celebrate it. No matter the Landlady was more than willing to allow us to hold a small present opening party in the dining room and even set it all up for us, we only had to light the candles and cut the cake. Ice buckets were also laid on for the bubbly.

There is a games room with free coffee and orange juice are on tap.

Would we stay again? You bet!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller-in-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
255 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We just wanted a couple of nites away and after reading reviews on trip advisor we chose to stay a The Quies. Good value for money, clean, tidy and warm. Breakfast is nice and hot and plenty of it, coffee and tea when ever you want it. The games room is fun with a free pool table, and other cheap entertainment if its rainy and you have children. The rooms have all been recently decorated and the bathroom in our room (no 13) was lovely and big, we also had a great sea view. Also nice and quite so no worries about being woke up, and the bed was comfy. Will be going back to stay here. There are happy for you to take a take away back to the place to eat in the breakfast room and even have a microwave if you need to warm it up again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longlegs1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed in the top floor bedroom which was a double en-suite, it was Massive ! Great size room and lovely bathroom. Word of warning if unfit or unable to walk up many stairs make sure you stay on the ground floor. However that was the only remotely negative point ( however didn't affect us).
Great amenities, free pool table PS3 and games and more DVDs you could imagine. This proved to come in handy as Newquay isn't great for an evening out unless you want binge drinking or take aways.
Breakfast was good. Plenty of food to keep you going all day. Lots of choice and very accommodating to dietary needs.
Staff were very friendly and had a very warm welcome.

All round good value, but still great standard. A good base for visiting the surrounding areas and close to some popular attractions by car.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on ground or 1st floor if unable to walk up many stairs. 3 sets of stairs to the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookeh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is our second time we have visited this hotel and we wouldn't go to any other in Newquay they have fabulous staff who really couldn't provide a better service. If you want service with a smile, a good price and a perfect holiday this is the place to go, only 2 mins from the town centre and about 4 mins from the sea. The hotel is clean and is situated perfectly for any shoppers or holiday makers thanks Alex and will and the rest of the staff, keep up the good work 5 stars :D

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexunsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the quies

Property: the quies
Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your the quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing