We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Quies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Quies
Ranked #5 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

My fiance and I stayed for 3 nights just before the August bank holiday weekend. On arrival we were able to get a parking space and we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff who showed us around and encouraged us to make use of the facilities, including using the breakfast area for take aways in the evening. We were shown the honesty box and fridge which we used, only £6 for a bottle of wine! The room was large, clean and very modern and we had a nice view from the bedroom. The breakfast was delcious and served quickly and certainly set us up for the day. The location of the hotel is ideal as it is less then a 5 minute walk into the town but good as you are aware from the noise. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catlovesshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    72
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
74
257
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Definately, definately the best place we have stayed in Cornwall. We stayed for 10 nights from 12th August - read 'bea8135 “A hidden gem!”' as this is a review and portrays the accomodation, staff and facilities very well. We booked a family suite with adjoining rooms and were lucky enough to have a sea view - which you also get from the breakfast room. Parking is available and free and onsite - it's sometimes only hampered by inconsiderate parking of other guests - but not to be taken in any way as detrimental. Breakfast was excellent, especially the full english - in fact the whole experience is excellent and I would recommend to anyone and everyone planning a stay in Newquay. My 2 boys (3 & 5) cried when we had to leave... to be honest I could have too! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed from the 19th august for 5 nights. I have nothing but positive feedback to give. Alex was very accommodating on our arrival, and showed us around the B&B and gave us full thorough information on breakfast times, our rooms , and facilities. Alex and the staff went out of their way to help us and answer any questions that we had.

The rooms were modern, and very clean. I must say this is one of the best places I have stayed in, and will be returning back at some point. Alex and her staff made us welcome and we had a fantastic holiday, so good that we didn't want to come back home.

This is a B&B that I would recommend anyone to stay in, and is the best in Newquay. It is situated approx 5 mins away from the town centre, and beaches.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djm1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This bed and breakfast is the best we have stayed in, all staff are friendly,all rooms are huge and new and spotless. breakfasts were plentiful and delicious everyday. 2 min walk from town and not much further to the beaches. Hope to come back next year. would highly recommend staying here every review is the truth it is a very well run bnb.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just arrived back from staying 4 night with my 9 year old son. Staff really helpful and friendly and approachable. Breakfast was great with a variety of cooked, vegetarian, cereal, fresh fruit, toast, pastries, any variety of beans, eggs on toast and the chef will also cook anything to order. There was a coffee and juice machine where you can help yourself, free of charge, any time of day. They also welcome the choice of buying food and using their microwave, dinning room, etc to eat it (saving money). There is also a fridge for guests to keep their food cool and a fridge bar with a honesty box at very reasonable prices.
Rooms are nicely furnished and spotless with large flatscreen TV and DVD player (large library of DVD's in the games room). All rooms seemed large and plenty of storage for everything.
My son's favourite room was the games room, where there was a Playstation, TV, table football, pool table and another game which played pacman and other games. There was also a lounging area at one end of the dining room with comfortable sofas, flatscreen TV and computer.
It was my son's 9th birthday during our visit and the staff produced a birthday cake and card (unknown to me) and started singing, which I saw as a lovely thought, but unfortunately at 9 he was a little shy, but it was a nice touch.
The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the town centre, up a little hill, and off one of the larger roads in Newquay, but the traffic noise could not be heard from the room we had towards the front of the building. A great base for going out each day or staying around Newquay.
All in all a great stay, the hotel was very casual and comfortable and felt like home from home. If we plan to visit Newquay again, The Quies will be the first on our hotel list.

Room Tip: If you have young children who go to bed before 10pm, try not to have rooms 1 and 2 as these are sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bea8135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Arrived here after a trip to London for the Olympics and I have to say this B&B was better than the Hotel we stayed in whilst in London. Stayed for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed on longer. The Guest House is relaxed and staff are very welcoming. We had to move rooms due to a problem with allocation of rooms however we were not phased by this as the staff transferred our luggage over and apologised for the invconvenience. Location is perfect, only a few minutes away from the main high street. Car park is small and tight to park however there is additional parking which you just need to ask about. Breakfast has a variety of items and if they don't have something they will source it for you. We were on the first floor which was ideal and overlooking the church and bay at the back which was a pleasant view. Would certainly stay again and would recommend to others. Thank you to all the staff at the Guest House for making our trip a relaxing time.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view if possible. If you struggle with stairs ask for a low level room as no li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessiehoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just returned from one night stay with my daughter and i wish we could have stayed longer. I was aware that check in time was not until 12 a surfing lesson at 9.45 and with the prospect of not finding anywhere to park we went to the hotel and asked if we could park in the carpark. We were greeted with a friendly welcome and were told are room wasn't ready but due to a cancellation there was another room free which would allow us to get ready for our lessson. The room was spotless. The hotel is 2 minutes from Newquay centre downhill but far enough away that we were not disturbed by noise. There is a large communal lounge with a pool table, television and a fridge containing alcoholic beveridges with a price list and a box to put payment in, these prices were very reasonable. The breakfast was excellent with fresh strawberries, melon, yogurts, toast, full english breakfast and pastries. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.0 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geckos Rest
Geckos Rest
#3 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quies

Property: The Quies
Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing