We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, nice room, very tight parking”
Review of The Quies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Quies
Ranked #8 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The Quies has a honesty bar and also a huge number of DVDs that you can choose from and take your room to watch in DVD player. The room is very clean and spacious. The bed is comfortable, there is also an iPod/iPhone docking station/radio/clock next to the bed which was really nice. It's walking distance from the beach and high street.

The sheets were getting a bit worn out, I'm really fussy with sheets and like my linnen to be spot on. They ask the guests not to bring drinks to the rooms to avoid spillage which may upset some guests, but it was fine with me. The walls were pretty thin, you could hear people walking on the room above and all the noise for the adjacent rooms/corridors. One of the mornings we went down for breakfast around 9 o'clock and they were already removing the food and cleaning the place even though breakfast ends at 9:30. Also, the parking area is very tight and if you drive down the ramp and realise there are no more spaces down there, then you have to reverse all the way up the ramp - which is really narrow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfrancois55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

A group of us,12 in all, have just returned from a Fantastic 2 night break at The Quies. I cannot reccommend this Hotel enough! Very accomodating for groups, the free pool table, table football, Sky television, all the DVD's you could ever want plus the honesty bar were all made very good use of. Alex and her team are really friendly and work hard together to make this possibly the best hotel our group have stayed in. All the bedrooms are beautiful, clean, and warm and have everything you need for your stay. The on-suite bathrooms are very stylish and spotless. We all arrived on Motorbikes and were really happy that we could park them behind the hotel undercover and on security cameras. The free coffee and juice machines were much apprieciated especially after a night on the town in Newquay!! All in all we cannot wait to get back to The Quies.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, one flight of stairs but sea view from the bed, (sitting up)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desnsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed at The Quies for a 3 night, long weekend break at the beginning of October. First impressions were very good. We were shown around the accomodations first class facilities before being taken to our room. We had booked a balcony room that we were aware was on the top floor. The stairs were not a problem. landings and half landings break the accent so don:t be put off. Once there the climb is well worth the effort. A lovely large room with a supersized comfortable bed, a bathroom that we wish was at home and a view over the town and Atlantic ocean awaits you.
Being able to use the dining room at any time to eat your own food is a brilliant idea. Everything is provided including a microwave. They have a fridge where you can store your food and even provide sticky labels and a marker pen so you can mark your food as yours! There really has been a lot of thought in providing for the guests needs.
We ordered a chinese takeaway, took delivery at the front door and enjoyed it in the comfort of the dining room on our first night.
The location too can't be faulted. A few minutes walk to town, a few minutes longer back from town up a fairly steep hill especially after eating in one of Newquays restaurants!.
Breakfast was very good. A large choice of cereal, yoghurts and pastries. A full english breakfast served effeciently and a toaster if you can manage toast afterwards. Choice of white or brown bread. All this accompanied by coffee and orange juice on tap. and they remain on tap throughout the day.
We enjoyed a couple of games of pool in the games room and watched one of the huge choice of DVDs on the player provided in our room,
We will undoubtably return to this one.

Room Tip: We had room 9, a double with a seaview and balcony. Well worth the small premium on the room rate an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scagway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at the Quies for a weekend break. The staff were very helpful, offering us a choice of two different rooms. Helped us with our luggage and gave us directions to the nearest restaurants and shops. We had booked breakfast with our stay and was pleased with the choice that was on offer. The hotel had lots on offer including pool, tv and computer console. Room was very clean and excellent, bed was comfortable. We would defiantly visit again.

Room Tip: Was advice to take a room on the top as had a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

A great find in trip advisor. Fantastic b&b . Excellent facilities , great staff. We were advised of all facilities when we arrived & were told that if we brought a take away back we could use the dining room. Only negative point is car park is very tight!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank WokingJezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

we searched around pretty long for a 9 night stay in the Newquay area and are happy to have found The Quies. the hotel is located right above the city center which makes it easy to explore Newquay, the restaurants and the beaches. the staff is helpful and welcoming. our room was well sized, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good and well prepared. There are only two things to mention: Yes there is a car park but it is pretty cramped. so if you have a large car it might get a bit tricky parking it. we have not seen any parking space shortages during our stay though. but the cars were parked real close. if you are sensitive to sounds you might want to consider bringing ear plugs with you cause you can hear what is going on in the rooms near you. all in all this is a good place to stay and I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senor_Chang_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The service was friendly, the room spacious and very clean, the bathroom had a fabulous shower and plenty of towels. A great find that I would recommend to anyone staying in Newquay. We stayed in single occupancy rooms whilst walking the coast path and have stayed in countless hotels and B&Bs along the route. The Quies was definitely one of the better places we have stayed at in this price range.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quies

Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £48 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing