We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Quies
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Berties Lodge(Newquay)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
446
82
10
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
446
82
10
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barfree pool tablegames roomb btable footballdvd playerdvds to borrowdrinks fridgesky sportsplates and cutlerycoffee and juicepower showerbreakfast roomtown centrebeach towelsfull englishbreakfast is served
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We find a good deal at The Quies for sole occupancy of a Double Room.

The accommodation is clean with good quality bed linen. The en-suite bathroom is immaculate and modern.

At breakfast time there's a selection of continental style option (Cereal / Croissant / Yoghurt etc) or hot options - like the Full English Breakfast which must be one of the biggest and tastiest I have ever tried.

There's a car park on site which can hold around 8 cars. It's a bit tight with a fair bit a reversing and shunting to get into position. As their website says, let them know if you have a big car.

Two things stop me giving it a 5* excellant rating. 1) The parking - not their fault - but they make the best of the space they do have and 2) the sparseness - a couple of pictures on the wall in the room would make it a little more cosy.

Overall a great stay and I would definately return if I were in Newquay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Following a warm welcome from the proprietor, we were shown to our very pleasant 3rd. floor room, which commanded a quite magnificent view of the town AND bay.
The room was spacious, modern and had tastefull decor - the king size double bed was super-comfortable, the pillows and duvet just right for this cooler time of year.
The shower & toilet room was very swish and meticulously presented; even allowing for its elevated position, the shower was powerful and the hot water almost instant - quite superb!
Then we had the most filling and complete English breakfast ever devised - beautifully cooked and served with aplomb by the attentive and caring owner.
The free internet facilites and spacious games room were also much appreciated too.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, it would be best to specify a rear room, as the front road is quite busy/noisy. Anyone with a larger car may find parking at the rear a wee bit tight.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay! Our room was clean, modern and really good size. It had a great communal area with a tv, pool table, microwave and honesty box beer fridge. breakfast was delicious too! The hotel is in a really central location, just 5 mins from centre, but away from the noisy clubs. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KEY77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a three night break at The Quies. Our room was spotless, cosy and warm. Breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful. Would highly recommend The Quies and hope to return when visiting Cornwall again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The Quies has a honesty bar and also a huge number of DVDs that you can choose from and take your room to watch in DVD player. The room is very clean and spacious. The bed is comfortable, there is also an iPod/iPhone docking station/radio/clock next to the bed which was really nice. It's walking distance from the beach and high street.

The sheets were getting a bit worn out, I'm really fussy with sheets and like my linnen to be spot on. They ask the guests not to bring drinks to the rooms to avoid spillage which may upset some guests, but it was fine with me. The walls were pretty thin, you could hear people walking on the room above and all the noise for the adjacent rooms/corridors. One of the mornings we went down for breakfast around 9 o'clock and they were already removing the food and cleaning the place even though breakfast ends at 9:30. Also, the parking area is very tight and if you drive down the ramp and realise there are no more spaces down there, then you have to reverse all the way up the ramp - which is really narrow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfrancois55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews