We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome”
Review of The Quies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Quies
Ranked #8 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at the Quies as we were going to a wedding in Newquay and did not want the cost of The Atlantic or similar. When we booked we did request the room with a four poster, but when we arrived we were informed it had already been booked but they'd given us a room a the top of the house with a balcony and gorgeous views, definitely not disappointed. The owners were extremely helpful and the staff pleasant. They went out of their way to make you feel at home. Good of choice for breakfast and all hot and plentiful. Would make sure to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room at the top, rear of the house have fantastic views, but do have to go up at least two flights o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dj500600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

Nice accommodation, great sized room, very clean and tidy and very good value. The town however was not for us.. a tacky surf town that has very little to offer. Plenty of far better places to visit in Cornwall..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I've just got back from newquay cornwall and would recommend this b and b it was very nice clean and friendly the breakfast was very good plenty to choose from central to the town slight hill to walk up and down beech a little further according to the one you want

Room Tip: Quieter part of town although it was on a bus route we slept road side and didn't hear a thing
See more room tips
Thank thomas f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My brother and I stayed at the Quies last Friday 17th May. We had lost our Mum recently and had the very unpleasant task of sorting the house and ashes out so after this had all be finalised had chosen to stay in Newquay. This was a very pleasant and welcoming visit for us to stay at such a lovely hotel. Our sea-view rooms were huge with lovely decor all to match and the main room and ensuite bathroom were immaculately clean. It was lovely to see plenty of supplies of top quality toilet rolls and beverage products as well as DVDs which we could have borrowed. The shower was so easy to use with piping hot water and good quality towels in matching colours. The evening was quite chilly so it was very pleasant to arrive into a lovely heated room. The owner greeted us and showed us around the hotel facilities which were excellent and then to our rooms.

There is a lovely Games/Lounge downstairs with plenty to keep children occupied including DVDs Games equipment and aquarium. They supplied various alcoholic drinks with an honesty box and in the Dining Room were tea/coffee/juice facilities which you could help yourself to twenty four hours a day.

When we arrived for breakfast we were again greeted by the owner who immediately offered us tea/coffee and hot mini pastries whilst we per used the menu. Hot breakfasts were cooked to order as well as a lovely selection of cereals and fruit, toast and all kinds of spreads.

The one drawback was parking facilities but indeed the whole area is in the same predicament but there is a car park within a cry short distance and the town and all beaches are literally five minutes walk.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in choosing to stay there again. I wish them great success in their venture and hope that many more visitors will enjoy their stay at The Quies.

Room Tip: There is a local swimming pool to hand as well as a Zoo and Boating Lake within a short distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieDeanWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This place was excellent the staff were really friendly and the breakfast had a good choice and the room was a very good size and the bathroom was good. kept very clean' Parking a bit tight but ok. Will use again on further visit

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin30_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This b@b was lovely they were very welcoming,whole place was cleanand well cared for,good staff,extensive breakfast available .,and lovely room ,we had a four poster room with a lovely en suite .would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: room 8 was four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpfc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here in early March.

Can't think of anything other than "great". Room was really very nice, bathroom a good size too if a little warm at times. Teeny-tiny thing - shower gel/wash was a bit iffy but other than that it was a nice bathroom. Room was large, and the television was bigger than almost everywhere else I've steyed.

Others have mentioned the communal areas and their facilities, far more than I would expect for what I paid.

Location - excellent.

If I go back to Newquay this will be at the top of my list.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outsidehalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quies

Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £39 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing