We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service worth more than they are charging”
Review of the quies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
the quies
Ranked #6 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service worth more than they are charging”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed hear for 4 nights in August before boardmasters, as a gentleman that manages within the 4 star hotel business(which they didn't know) I have to say how impressed I was with the service I received from all the staff I was lucky enough to have contact with. From Alex to the two girls at breakfast, they were all outstanding. The rooms were cleaned perfectlyand had a nice sea view, were quiet which is perfect as they have a no stag or hen do policy which is great when wanting a relaxing week to surf ( the large DVD collection also helps those quiet nights). Alex was lovely and willing to help whenever she could, she very kindly kept our stuff safe whilst we went to festival and also said we could use the facilities the Monday after when we had a large time gap before we jumped on coach home, which she didn't have to do as we were paying patrons anymore, I would recommend this to anyone a great B and B worth every penny if not more

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s0600909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    78
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
81
270
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Came down their for my civil engineering field trip in April 2013, the room was a double at a good rate. W/C and room were very clean and cleaned on a daily basis which was fantastic! Breakfast had a selection foods available- first class.

Best hotel I've ever stayed in can't wait to get back their!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The room at the front was very nice but due to hot weather we kept the window open at night and the noise of the traffic and people shouting in the early hours kept us awake. The cooked breakfast was very poor and the poached egg on toast was inedible. We would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Read reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venezia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The location is 3 minutes from the town centre, just behind the bus station, near the bay.
The rooms are large and very clean.
We appreciated the breakfast , you can choose the English or the continental, but the best of all is the owners'kindness.
They make you feel at home and are always there to suggest you what to do or where to go, if you ask them, but ,if you prefer , they respect your privacy.
A place to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeneziaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Overall the hotel was lovely, very clean and we were happy to say there. There was some confusion with the balcony room which meant we had to move rooms but that was no major hassle.

However upon check out we were spoken to very rudely by a gentleman (who I think may have been the owner). He basically insulted us, moaned about us not moving rooms until 11:30 (kept saying checkout was 10am, but we were not checking out, we were helping them by moving). In addition we were told that they would move our things across, we would basically go out for the day and everything would be moved over, this was not the case as we kept getting pestered to move everything ourselves.

Anyway upon checkout (and after a big rant from the staff member) I was told they didn't like my trip advisor review because I mentioned moving rooms (there is a lesson, don't write reviews until after you check out).

So overall a nice hotel very much let down by a very rude member of staff. We will not be returning or recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Balcony room is nice if the weather is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

When we arrived at the Quies we did not expect it to be the 4 star luxury we experienced. The personal welcome was extremely friendly by the owner (not manager). The parking arrangements were tailored for our (motorbike) needs. We were then shown the included facilities of games & sky tv room. Free games of pool and table football and dining facilities available if you want to bring food in such as a take away. There is a fridge in the games room for your use as well as in the very modern and spacious well kept luxury en suite bedroom. The facilities are all still yours for the following day after your check out. The breakfast was full English plus variations and continental as well. The location is very close to all the major attractions of Newquay but just far enough to ensure the stay was lovely and quiet.

The owner was extremely hospitable, welcoming and keeps a very very clean and up to date mini hotel. Far better than the B&B we were expecting. I would like to thank the owner for a fantastic stay and just wish we had booked for longer. If we come back to Cornwall we will definitely come back to the Quies. Many thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikelly46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have just returned home from staying in Newquay for the first time and I cannot speak highly enough of the Quies. From the moment we walked in we felt at home, very friendly staff, amazing breakfast with a great selection and a lovely room with a 4 poster bed and completely spotless. The location was very central and only a few minutes from the beach, shops and bars. The hotel had a games room which came in handy when it was raining. Am already planning another trip there.

Room Tip: We had the 4 poster bed room that was lovely and very comfy bed and our friends has the room with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the quies

Property: the quies
Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — the quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your the quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing