We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The Quies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Quies
Ranked #8 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a great hotel, very friendly staff, clean, I have stayed in hotels charging 5 time their rate (via laterooms) and have not been as impressed as this little hotel. Great breakfast as well & walking distance to the centre of town.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a four poster bit odd for this type of hotel, but a pleasant supprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for one night in Nov 2013, and wish we could have stayed longer! - What an amazing find! Great value for money, and we couldn't fault the hotel...lush rooms, comfy beds, amazing breakfast, and awesome facilities in the communal lounge - particularly the free pool table and excellent dvd collection - lovely little touches! Superb location for access to beaches and town, we will definitely be back! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Culturey_Poultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have stayed here before and always look at the website for this hotel before even looking for any others. Always a warm and welcome hello as you arrive. We had a balcony room with brilliant views of the sea, it had a large double and a double shower (ask for room 9 or 10). All very clean with lovely finishing touches. IPod docking, tea and coffee in the room and a hair dryer. Breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from, cereals, toast, fruit, yogurts and the cooked selection is great. Can not fault this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longlegs1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer! Our room had a four poster bed which was really comfortable. The beautiful black marble bathroom was gorgeous! Lovely shower with really hot water and towels chnged every day. The breakfasts were really really good! Set us up for the day! The location is great..just minutes from shops and beach. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Have to say it's one of the best hotels we've stayed in for value for money. Didn't expect such good service or beautiful room for the money we paid. We'll definitely go back there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleV&C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Quies is clean, comfortable and friendly - and arranged to make life easy for the traveller. The dining room, open 24/7 so that take-outs can be eaten in comfort at a table with metal cutlery and proper plates (and not as a picnic in the bedroom), the excellent breakfasts, a pool table, a trust bar, splendid sea view and helpful staff. We could not have asked for more. We were in Newquay for a funeral - but we'll be back for a weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

our third visit and just can't fault the quies, superb rooms, friendly, efficient owners and staff, good food, great location - minutes from town and the beach, and excellent value for money! they also have at least one family room with an adjoining single bedroom.

Room Tip: they are all lovely but if you want a sea view just request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannetteNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a fantastic stay at The Quies this summer. Alex and all staff were really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful for a family with small and teenage children, e.g. providing beach towels, buckets and spades and fishing nets for the kids to take down to the beach. The breakfasts were great and the ability to use the restaurant area at lunch/dinner times to feed the kids with takeaway food, or food brought in, was very helpful and saved us a lot of money/time in restaurants each day.
The DVDs and games room was a real draw for the kids too. The location is great, with the beaches just a walk in to town and some great cafes/restaurants in the local area.
Overall a really enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend it to any family.
Jim, Niki and the girls

Room Tip: Sharing the top two rooms was excellent for a family of 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quies

Address: 26 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £38 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Quies 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Quies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quies Hotel Newquay
Quies Hotel Newquay
The Quies Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing