We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barrowfield Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveller rating
494
372
125
39
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
494
372
125
39
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driverod stewartsnooker roomturkey and tinselcoach holidayentertainment every nightshort breakbar priceseach eveningswimming poolcoach driverbus stopmeal timeswalk in showergreat holidaynice roomthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
994 - 999 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

First impressions of the hotel and room were that it needs redecorating and restyling to bring it into the 21st century. Our room had very old, stained carpets but had been cleaned as well as it could have been and the shower was new. Some of the other rooms I managed to sneak a peek at had been newly decorated nicely and looked much more comfortable. However, the staff are great, all very friendly and hard-working and will bend over backwards to help. The cleaning staff were also very efficient and friendly. I stayed with my 2 children and was a bit worried as the top bunk in our family room had no rail. My children were the only ones staying at the time as it was Leicester half-term (a week behind everyone else, apparantly!) so we felt a bit out of place. We enjoyed the food and there was a good selection on offer, the dining staff are very quick to serve and very friendly. The hotel has a swimming pool which is small but my kids absoloutely loved it, some days spending a good couple of hours in there. The hotel is positioned well, very near to local beaches and Newquay Zoo (which is fantastic). I drove down so couldn't comment on the coach service. Overall, this was a nice stay but would have been made better if we had been given a better quality room.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly updated room on booking if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My wife & I have just returned from a 6 night holiday at The Barrowfield & we have had a lovely time. After a long journey down from the Midlands it was nice to arrive at a modern welcoming & clean looking hotel. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the front of the hotel with a small side balcony that gave you a glimpse of the sea. The bedroom was an excellent size with two single beds, plenty of cupboard & draw space & a slim line tv with plenty of channels to view. The ensuite shower room was very clean with ample space, all towels were provided including those for swimming. Sadly the c/heating was not switched on in our room making it a little cool at times & difficult to dry things.
The dining room was lovely & light with plenty of room with tables available from two people upwards. The food was very good & well cooked with plenty of choice at all meals & served by friendly staff. There is a good bar/lounge area with room for dancing, the inevitable bingo & evening entertainment starting about 10.pm. The hotel has a lovely indoor pool & jacuzzi open from 07.30 with a sauna that can be booked from reception.
The hotel is situated aprox 20 mins walk along the front to the harbour, away from any "boozy" areas & has several bus routes either passing the hotel or just at the top of the road. Added to all this is a Tesco Express on the other corner for all those bits & bobs that you forgot to bring! Two trips were aranged by the hotel during the week on a first come first served basis at a cost of £8.00 per trip. My wife & I did'nt go as we used our bus passes to travel to Padstow (packed), Truro(cathedral superb) & Perranporth (what a little jem). So there you have it, nice hotel, good food & lovely people - what more could you ask for - oh, I forgot ---- nice weather!!

Room Tip: Would ask for a room with walk in shower at the front of the hotel on the first floor (they have balconies), overlooking the Sandy Lodge Hotel. Rooms at the front catch the sun (when it's out) first thing in the morning.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Wouldyouadamandeveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My friend and i had a long weekend at the Barrowfield. The room was fantastic, the food brilliant, and the staff were friendly and attentive. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dudley-elect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I had a fantastic stay .the room was was very clean and spacious. Refurbished in a modern style. the new bathroom was finished to a high standard with a nice hot shower. The staff were all friendly and quick to help. It only takes a few mins to get to the beach! We went by coach, seemed to be an older persons coach holiday hotel, but i am in 20's and had a great stay. The food was nice, but coach holiday style. There are plenty of takeaways and tesco nearby. There is a nice hot pool which is open from 7.30 am. hope to stay again

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sunnyholidays321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was our first time staying at the Barrowfield hotel we had a wonderful time. The food was excellent and lots of choice on the menu, the staff was polite and extremely helpful to everyone. The room was cleaned daily by a pleasant member of staff we both enjoyed our stay and hope to return again in the future.

Gordon / Mandy Birmingham

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gordon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews