We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barrowfield in January.”
Review of Barrowfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrowfield Hotel
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just returned from a 5 day Daishs holiday. We had a recently refurbished room (the Camilla suite) which was large and superb. The bathroom was huge as well with a bath and a large shower cubicle ( the only little thing missing was a hook or something to hand shower gel)
Great welecome by Manager Richard and we enjoyed good food throughout.
The entertainment was also really enjoyable with the usual bingio game as well,.
The small swimming pool with a jacuzzi and sauna was Ok but obviously would be crowded with say more than ten .
With bus stops outside the hotel and a tesco express opposite you have everything!
Well done and thank to the Manager and all the team there.

Room Tip: Well The Camilla suite (double and a separate single room) was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

Four of us have just returned from a Turkey & Tinsel four days. Could not fault it and I am fussy. The food, staff and entertainment were excellent. Just one little moan from a reformed smoker "THE FRONT OF THE HOTEL SHOULD BE SWEPT EACH DAY" On our visit the front of the hotel looked very tatty because of all the cigarette ends lying about at the front. But dont let this put you off.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seath m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Couldn't agree more with the review by Margaret. We have used the Barrowfield many times in the past, attending different functions and have found it to be more than adequate for our needs. Yes it is a little tired in places and there have problems with some of the rooms but the staff, food and entertainment more than made up for these. The trip there and back was good and the driver Brian very informative. Perhaps it helped that all the people on the coach knew one another and had done so for many years. We would have no hesitation in picking another Daish's holiday.Over the years we have been very fortunate to stay in various hotels around the world, including the so called 21st Century ones and boy are they boring and characterless. Not so the Barrowfield. It is steadily being brought up to date but it should never lose it's character. If we have one moan it would be that the lift needs speeding up.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We have 'Tinselled and Turkeyd' with a group of friends and aquiantances (45 of us) for a number of years, but this was a first with Daish - so we feel well qualified to assess both the Barrowfield, Daish and their sevices.
Beginning with the trip down - the coach was decorated, and we were lucky to have Brian as our driver, who is a really nice guy, and given that the coach had a couple of minor problems he cheerily kept us informed, and arranged for a mobile mechanic to meet us at Exeter services to sort the problems whilst we had lunch.
On arrival at The Barrington we were met with a swift and slick check in, and were soon unpacking in room 116 - which was comfortable, and more than adequate for our needs, with brand new bed linen, curtains and white fluffy towels. The bedroom as with everywhere within the hotel was clean throughout our stay, and the Christmas decorations were tasteful.
Choices of menus were superb, and the chef and his staff must be congratulated for producing delicious and genuine home cooked meals (especially the puds - yum yum!!)
The staff were polite and cheerful, and told us they were really happy to be working there - which showed in their smiling faces at all times.
We felt that the break was exceptional value for money, especially as we had an excursion to the Eden Project on one day, and visited Truro and Healeys Cider Farm on another.
Therefore we would reccomend the Barrowfield, and Daish Travel - and would happily book with them again.

Room Tip: Didn't visit other rooms, but 116 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisdaishs19, Director of Sales at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

thanks for taking the time to post this lovely review. your comments are very much in line with the questionnaires we are getting back from other guests - i.e. you all very well looked after by Richard and his Barrowfield team, and our drivers. Forward bookings for 2012 in Newquay are already 50% up on the same time last year - mostly thanks to the great welcome at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This was our 8th trip with Daishs to various sites. The coach journey was a let down, no decoration's, a driver who never spoke, no music in fact boring. NO XMAS SPIRIT. our room was outdated in fact shabby, cleaning staff were very good. The food was good, great choice of menu, only niggle was breakfast was on the cool side. The entertainment was very good just one night when the female singer cleared the room, bar closed at 22.30! The last night Mon 14th was fantastic great end to the trip. Coach home was a borrowed one again no Xmas spirit but a pleasent driver. Spoke to the manager re the trip down he advised to fill in the comment form which we did, I heard him tell another guest that the rooms above us were being up-graded, the floor boards creek very badly which kept people awake, not us though. Staff through out were very helpful my friends told me the night porter was great (they smoked so saw him last thing at night and first thing in the morning) My advise to Daishs is get Drivers who are in the spirit as the trip down sets the standard, arrive happy and upbeat stay that way, we have always enjoyed our trips to Daishs sites but this is our last one.

Room Tip: if you are very elderly ask to be on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madge b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

A slightly run down hotel--first impressions not helped by three letters missing from hotel name on outside canopy ! Bedroom ok size wise but very shabby--peeling paint on furniture;hooks missing on curtains & the balcony was very dirty.Bathroom decent size but nowhere to put toiletries etc.Swimming pool small but ok sauna & jacuzzi not working! Dining & entertainment were ok
8 year old coach suffered problems on return journey--had to have replacement coach--took 8 hrs to get back to Birmingham.Shall not be going on a Daish's holiday again!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mikanshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisdaishs19, Owner at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

We are refurbishing our rooms as fast as we can – which is not easy when our hotel is ALWAYS FULL with contented returning guests. There are only a few to go now, and they should all be done by the time we re-open in January. We have also up-graded a number of our larger rooms which can now be booked as “Premium Rooms” with a small supplement. Demand for these is already very high

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

First impressions of the hotel and room were that it needs redecorating and restyling to bring it into the 21st century. Our room had very old, stained carpets but had been cleaned as well as it could have been and the shower was new. Some of the other rooms I managed to sneak a peek at had been newly decorated nicely and looked much more comfortable. However, the staff are great, all very friendly and hard-working and will bend over backwards to help. The cleaning staff were also very efficient and friendly. I stayed with my 2 children and was a bit worried as the top bunk in our family room had no rail. My children were the only ones staying at the time as it was Leicester half-term (a week behind everyone else, apparantly!) so we felt a bit out of place. We enjoyed the food and there was a good selection on offer, the dining staff are very quick to serve and very friendly. The hotel has a swimming pool which is small but my kids absoloutely loved it, some days spending a good couple of hours in there. The hotel is positioned well, very near to local beaches and Newquay Zoo (which is fantastic). I drove down so couldn't comment on the coach service. Overall, this was a nice stay but would have been made better if we had been given a better quality room.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly updated room on booking if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Barrowfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing