We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Listening”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Barrowfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrowfield Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Listening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just returned home from a mini break at The Barrowfield with Daish's.

On the plus side the food was good, and Paul our waiter was great and very entertaining,
The rest - the beds were harder than ironing boards, plenty of tea and coffee in the room but very little milk, Our windows either had to be wide open or not at all, and in the bathroom we had to perch it open with a cup. Hot water in the bathroom did not get hot until we had to run it for twenty minutes, and the walk in shower was a very slow piddle, I ended up hosing myself down withe the shower hose after taking the shower head off. The tv was very small and like a small blob attached to the ceiling. We asked for a twin room and ended up with a double bed and a childs bed. The room also had ONE plug, as everything else electrical seemed to be wired into the wall. Their is also NO coat hooks. We asked to swap rooms twice a day for the first three days (we were their for four), was was told they were fully booked. Every time we asked fat reception for someone to fix the window, they said they would be up 'in a minute' an dof course they never did come at all. The day trips they offered were good and priced well, but on picking up people after each drop off they didn't seem to check we were all back on the coach. Weather was good for mid September, bus stops close by, entertainment was good but a little bit rude as the evening went on. A reasonable hotel, but needs bringing into the 21st century.

Room Tip: I would not choose to go to this hotel again, go at your own risk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seantan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    298
    96
    34
    22
See reviews for
129
466
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Staffs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have been traveling with Daish's for some years now, and the standards at the Barrowfield are slipping badly. The Daish's brochure states "book early for the best seats and best rooms". We booked this holiday 11 months in advance so that we could get a walk in shower, both of us have walking difficulties and can not use a bath, it was also clearly stated on our booking confirmation. We got 3rd floor with a bath!!! Doesn't this contravene advertising / trading standards. However, after complaining, we did get moved to another room. Our alternative room was a good size, but needed some serious attention. Radiator badly stained and chipped paint, old screw holes still showing in walls, flaking ceiling in the bathroom, thread bear carpet. Again, 11 months prior booking you would expect a much better room. Dining room was "ok". Again some flaking paint on the ceiling in places. Service was very slow, you had to wait until it was your turn on the waitress's numbered rota. Sometimes we waited 20 minutes between courses. Food was adequate. Entertainment was poor to average. Supposed to finish at 11:00pm, all finished between 10:40pm and 10:50pm. Bar service was a little slow as one of the staff kept disappearing and leaving one guy on his own to cope. Bar prices are a little on the expensive side. On our list of Daish's, the Barrowfield was 2nd. Sadly, it has now slipped to 4th behind I.O.W., Eastbourne and Bournemouth. Will 2014 be any better????

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverSurfer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We travelled with Daishs from Leicester on 23.08.13 For 7 nights. On of our party of three was in a wheelchair and because we had asked for a walk in shower we were put on the third floor.
Could not fault our rooms , one single and one double. We overheard guests on other floors complaining about theirs.
The breakfasts were very good but the evening meals were only just adequate , more attention needs to be paid to the quality and quantity of the offered vegetables because on most if not all occasions they were very poor.
The staff however are a credit to the hotel.
Overall though we enjoyed our time there and met some geat people and will probably try another Daish's hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms on the third floor had a walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LEE029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have been going to the Barrowfield for the past 6 years at least once a year. During this time the staff have not really changed and are always ready to help. The hotel has had a facelift and many of the rooms have been updated. The only issue it has no air conditioning and get really warm and sticky in the main season. The food is basic but very good the pool is lovely and the hotel is situated out of the main town which is great and you do not hear any noise.

Room Tip: ask for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Returned home 18th August from "The Barrowfield", this was my second visit to this great hotel, I would like to say a Huge Thank you to Richard(Hotel Manager) Paul (Restaurant Manager) and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. Big thanks for the treatment of my Daughter (Donna, who was celebrating her birthday). Hoping to see you all again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Firstly, suggest that everyone disregards a report dated 2007, since the hotel is now in new ownership and has been renovated. Operated by Daish's hotels and coaches, our group of 36 stayed 5 nights and were well looked after. The restaurant was excellent with a good choice of meals, served by pleasant and hard working staff. The manager, Richard, was a larger than life character, and always happy. Our room was large and well appointed, although the mattress could have been better. The excursions offered by the hotel are resonably priced at £8 each, although local buses cover the area, but some of the routes are somewhat devious. An indoor pool is available.

Room Tip: Rooms are on three floors, with some on the ground floor. A small lift is available to all. In very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0bJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

we travelled with Daish,s to their hotel in Newquay and had the most fantastic time,staff were happy smiling and could not do enough for you.Our coach driver Steve was brilliant and nothing as too much trouble.The hotel was clean comfortable and the meals were well presented and varied.Cant wait to go next year .Thank you to all Daish,s staff.Our stay was from 13th-18th Aug.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derbytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Property: Barrowfield Hotel
Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Barrowfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing