We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if your over 70 Not for children!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Barrowfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrowfield Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
West mids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel if your over 70 Not for children!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Been here this year,I have children staff are rude and false one in particular Johnny all smiles to your face but always Tutting at children.I understand kids can be a bit annoying but mine did not upset anyone but I just felt awkward,if they don't want kids there just advertise it and I would book somewhere else.It is great value just not if you have a family!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaycm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    298
    96
    34
    22
See reviews for
129
466
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great value for money. Good food, attentive staff, adequate entertainment to suit many tastes. Most people very satisfied with their rooms just a few adverse comments regarding the poor water flow in showers. We all enjoyed the food and realised that by keeping to our tables and ordering early, it speeded up service - no complaints. The swimming pool is great but only cold shower available - hope this is hot by now. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxed, friendly and entertaining short break for a group.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties and need the lift, choose a room on the top floor as the lift fills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday_maker252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

What can we say about this Hotel (FABULOUS) We found that the rooms was of a high standard Top marks for the Chef and all the staff we found them very helpful and friendly the food we found was just great,Well done Richard give all your staff a pat on the back for making our stay so good and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise" Room 309 very clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macann74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Recently returned from a 5 night stay at the Barrowfield. Having been on many coach holidays with several different companies my wife, I and our two friends thought that the holiday was good value for money.
The hotel was very clean and tidy and the food was to a good standard and served by friendly staff. The entertainment was average for this type of establishment. One game of bingo, a quiz. Followed by music & dancing not quite suitable for the age group on these type of holidays more hip replacement than hip hop. The hotel offers excursions and there is a bus stop close to the hotel serving Padstow, St Austell and Truro. Only complaint which is common in most older hotels creaky floorboards. The hotel has a small swimming pool and a snooker room. All the staff were very friendly and we would go to the hotel again if it was in a different resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianitaWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were a group of 41 guests booked in for 4 nights. There were three other large groups staying at the hotel at the time. This hotel felt like an institution with a set time for each group to eat and our choice of dinner had to be made at breakfast. This was obviously for the convenience of the hotel feeding so many people. We would have liked to sit with different members of our group but were told we must stay at our own table for every meal. After some discussion with the management there was some leeway but this only happened on our last night. The food was very poor quality (except for the bacon which was remarkably good) and the restaurant staff were very smiley, helpful and mostly efficient in serving. The room we were allocated was ancient and very tired looking - desperately in need of renovation - only one top-hung window would open and the frames were black with mould. The tiles, bath sealant and plug were black with mould and the exposed pipes behind the wash basin stand had fur coats on them. The radiator was directly under the towel rail and was extremely rusty from water splashes. We asked for a different room and, all credit to the hotel, were shown another. This also had the same mouldy windows and although they all opened, they had to be propped as the restraining mechanism didn't work - not too much of a problem as we needed them open because of the smell of damp. This room appeared to have had some renovation although it was very shoddily done. As we were with a group we stayed but certainly would not have had we been on our own. However, we did go elsewhere for dinner after the first night of thick powdery soup with dried veg in it, decent chicken but covered in an acrid tasting (packet?)sauce and hard sweetcorn, grey peas and boiled potatoes that had hard skins and grey insides. The overall impression was of ' get them in, get them out, get the money'. The final straw was when we were told to have our suitcases outside our rooms at 7am so they could be loaded on the coaches before we left at 9.15am - and this was supposed to be a holiday?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank posh_princess50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just returned home from a mini break at The Barrowfield with Daish's.

On the plus side the food was good, and Paul our waiter was great and very entertaining,
The rest - the beds were harder than ironing boards, plenty of tea and coffee in the room but very little milk, Our windows either had to be wide open or not at all, and in the bathroom we had to perch it open with a cup. Hot water in the bathroom did not get hot until we had to run it for twenty minutes, and the walk in shower was a very slow piddle, I ended up hosing myself down withe the shower hose after taking the shower head off. The tv was very small and like a small blob attached to the ceiling. We asked for a twin room and ended up with a double bed and a childs bed. The room also had ONE plug, as everything else electrical seemed to be wired into the wall. Their is also NO coat hooks. We asked to swap rooms twice a day for the first three days (we were their for four), was was told they were fully booked. Every time we asked fat reception for someone to fix the window, they said they would be up 'in a minute' an dof course they never did come at all. The day trips they offered were good and priced well, but on picking up people after each drop off they didn't seem to check we were all back on the coach. Weather was good for mid September, bus stops close by, entertainment was good but a little bit rude as the evening went on. A reasonable hotel, but needs bringing into the 21st century.

Room Tip: I would not choose to go to this hotel again, go at your own risk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seantan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have been traveling with Daish's for some years now, and the standards at the Barrowfield are slipping badly. The Daish's brochure states "book early for the best seats and best rooms". We booked this holiday 11 months in advance so that we could get a walk in shower, both of us have walking difficulties and can not use a bath, it was also clearly stated on our booking confirmation. We got 3rd floor with a bath!!! Doesn't this contravene advertising / trading standards. However, after complaining, we did get moved to another room. Our alternative room was a good size, but needed some serious attention. Radiator badly stained and chipped paint, old screw holes still showing in walls, flaking ceiling in the bathroom, thread bear carpet. Again, 11 months prior booking you would expect a much better room. Dining room was "ok". Again some flaking paint on the ceiling in places. Service was very slow, you had to wait until it was your turn on the waitress's numbered rota. Sometimes we waited 20 minutes between courses. Food was adequate. Entertainment was poor to average. Supposed to finish at 11:00pm, all finished between 10:40pm and 10:50pm. Bar service was a little slow as one of the staff kept disappearing and leaving one guy on his own to cope. Bar prices are a little on the expensive side. On our list of Daish's, the Barrowfield was 2nd. Sadly, it has now slipped to 4th behind I.O.W., Eastbourne and Bournemouth. Will 2014 be any better????

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverSurfer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Property: Barrowfield Hotel
Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Barrowfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing