We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite central hotel, across from beach.”
Review of Barrowfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrowfield Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Quite central hotel, across from beach.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a top floor room (3rd floor) which was nice and spacious. Bed comfortable, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. Large double shower - unfortunately evening before leaving could not use - only cold water coming through - or the next morning. Not very powerful either - needs maintenance. Reported at reception and maintenance man said they had a power-surge problem.
Food was very nice and good choices. Our waitress (Sharron) was lovely and rushed off her feet but always had a smile and was very friendly and helpful. All staff were lovely - made us very welcome. We had white curtains in our bedroom which was awful being the weather was bright & sunny because it made our room too light - perhaps darker ones could be fitted maybe. Beware - squeaky, creaky floors!!!! - although can not be helped in an older hotel. All-in-all we had a very nice four night break and would recommend. There is a little summer train that stops opposite the hotel - hop-on-hop-off all day for 5.50 or pay lesser amount if just a very short journey. Buses stop closeby for other destinations. Newquay train station 10-15 min walk.
All other guests we met were really nice and friendly. Entertainment every night with bingo twice nightly (No - we didn't win!!!!).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wellie4Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    325
    111
    35
    22
See reviews for
141
509
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just returned from our 5day 4night holiday at the Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, and what a great holiday it was! The Hotel was really clean, comfortable, and well presented. We were greeted upon arrival by very friendly staff and our cases were taken to our room very quickly. The food in the restaurant was, we thought excellent plenty of it and very varied. Our waitress was a very pleasant young girl and very quick at her job! Unfortunately we didnt get her name but she certainly worked very hard. We would like to say that all the staff deserve praise and we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on third floor room 316 and had sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Ok, so we are in the 'mature' age group....... and really enjoyed the special attention to detail provided by this hotel and their staff, who all went out of their way to make us feel very welcome, especially Paul the Restaurant Manager who is so good at his job. Stayed here 2 nights as a result of a recommendation from a friend who performs here once a week. We really enjoyed the 'old style' meals, they were a good portion size and very tasty. The rooms were nice and airy, the location is fantastic and the entertainment great. We enjoyed dancing both nights and will certainly stay at this 'chain' again and recommend to others. The one downside was the shower, no water pressure and so much cold water wasted, while waiting for the water to get hot. This was the only negative to an otherwise very pleasant, very good value 2 day break at Barrowfield Hotel in New Quay. Thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed the same, ask about the showers, maybe we were unlucky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recycled-rockandroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

OMG where do I start!!!! Wot a great holiday,right from the pick up our coach driver Lynn was AMAZING ,the staff at hotel couldn't do enough for you !everywhere was clean and well kept!the pool was loverly, the food was excellent and the service was brilliant ,it was my mother in laws bday and the staff made it so special for her.
I will 100% go back again,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Second time i have visited and had a lovely time a lot of refurbishment since last visit. Our room was lovely but you let yourselves down by not painting radiator in the bathroom only thing to let it down staff always pleasant and helpful food good and plenty of it even salads that i asked for were nice and plenty of meat. Staff and management should be proud of themselves we are proud of you!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice especially the refurbished ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 401debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Not one for coach holidays, but persuaded by partner to give it a go. Stayed over Easter period, hotel full, had a great room with a partial sea view which was cleaned to a very high standard every day, cleaner could not be more helpful. Found restaurant strange to start with, however the system is very good, lovely breakfasts and you order your evening meal then, good choices of food excellent quality and the best touch of all is the wine!. Ordered a bottle of red, thought I would never drink whole bottle in one go (slipping) but Norman the wine waiter explained that if bottle not finished would be kept till next meal. You have the same table for the duration of your stay which I found very good as it stops any arguments.
Went on a trip to St Ives, good value for money with a visit to Mount St Michael. If you are over 60 do take your bus pass as the local buses are a great way of seeing Cornwall.
Evening entertainment is good different each day, I won £43 on bingo so that paid for the drinks for the week!!
What makes this hotel stand out from others is the STAFF, from the room cleaner to the waiters in the restaurant, the reception girls, and coach drivers, nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamplemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here with my husband , my sister -in - law , my sister - in - law and brother - in - law, so , three rooms in all, couldn't fault the staff, or the food, did think the bar prices for wine was a bit steep, entertainment, what can you say apart from the fact it is included, our favourite was Gary and Ronnie ( Rod Stewart ). The hotel is old but the rooms and cleanliness was second to none, breakfast and dinner !!! Had to order dinner at breakfast time, but there was a Menu on the table stating what was for dinner each and every evening, So , no problem with this system whatsoever. There is a great heated pool and Jacuzzi , for which there are towels supplied from reception, great value for money, will definitely return,,,,,, The Rixsons

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jancamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Property: Barrowfield Hotel
Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Barrowfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing