We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our holiday in Newquay”
Review of Barrowfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrowfield Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our holiday in Newquay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had room 226 - long and narrow but quite spacious and with a big bathroom. Food was excellent, the staff were very helpful, and we really enjoyed our stay. We took two excursions and there was good entertainment each night. It was great value for money and we enjoyed great weather as well. There's a Tesco Express nearby and bus services are close at hand. It's a short walk to the beaches and into the town. We enjoyed exploring Newquay and surrounding towns.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    318
    109
    35
    23
See reviews for
136
497
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Coach travel was good greeted at hotel by manager an staff cases were taken up to our room for us when I phoned to book they said they only had a twin room I said that would be ok when my husband and I went to our room it had a double bed and a single bed the room was nice and clean and plenty of room bathroom was fine food was very good always hot when it was served
to us entertainment was brilliant always something different each night indoor swimming pool was good always nice and warm and clean for a last minute holiday only booked three days before going it was a fantastic holiday would certainly go again well worth the price we paid

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just come back from a enjoyable 5 day coach trip with Daish's coaches.
Nice hotel on cliff top and only about a 10 minute walk to the Town Centre.
Bus stop outside and on the cliff top with buses into town and further afield.
Stayed half board.Menus and meals were very good.
Staff very friendly and helpful.Entertainment every night but cannot comment about them as went into the town every evening.
Nice indoor swimming pool and sauna.

Room Tip: My single room had a very small bathroom. With the WC, toilet, sink and shower all very close with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It was clean with amazing staff. Reception, waitressing and house keeping but they are fighting a losing battle with a hotel that needs a massive investment to bring it up to standard. Food was good value but you get what you paid for. Was not impressed with queuing for breakfast after having to get up early to wait for hot water to arrive at the shower. Last day it was barely warm.

Room Tip: You get the one you're allocated, no choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times in the past few years. It's appealing as under-15s go free, and there are discounts for self-drivers (Daish's coach packages are extremely popular) - as well as being cheap.
The hotel is in an ideal location - not right next to the hustle & bustle town centre - but not far away. There is a bus stop outside the hotel, or alternatively a gentle walk down the road and along the seafront will get you to the shops in about 10 minutes.
The hotel itself has a few attractions - there is an indoor swimming pool & jacuzzi, for when the weather is a little more 'british'. It also boasts an in-house hair salon, weekly bag & jewellery sales and a large dance floor by the bar.
There is entertainment every night at The Barrowfield, none of which is particularly inspiring. However, they took on board previous comments regarding the lack of variation between acts (every night is 60s night) and introduced a kid's entertainer, Ronnie, whose quizzes and games always help improve the bland entertainment a little. Bingo is a nightly affair too.
This entertainment in the hotel is geared more towards older people, but if you fancy a change, you can easily go for a walk to the arcade, or sit in the lounge.
The food is always great - the waiting staff are helpful and kind, and the food is brilliant! Full-english breakfasts are available every day, and the evening meals are varied from day-to-day which is nice. The rice pudding is heavenly - you can't beat Cornish clotted cream! The only complaint I have is the fact that you are ushered out of the restaurant as soon as you have finished your evening meal, and you fetch your own tea or coffee. I don't mid this, but the lounge can become quite cramped and with everyone after a cup of tea, seats are scarce!
The lift has been improved in recent years and isn't quite as obnoxious as it used to be, and the rooms are pretty standard. They come with everything you'd expect - a small TV, a kettle, a hairdryer, some cups. Unfortunately, there is never enough milk supplied for the amount of people in the room so we buy ours from the Tesco Express up the road so we won't run out! They are clean and comfortable; what you would expect for the price.

Overall, The Barrowfield is a great solid base for exploring Newquay and the surrounding areas, with attractions such as Newquay Zoo nearby. A great reasonably-priced place to stay!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the swimming pool, as they tend to smell of chlorine. Also, rooms on the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great from the time we got on the coach the hotel was clean , friendly really nice food and great staff. Entertainment covered all ages . The pool is great . we enjoyed every minuet of our stay and we will be booking up again soon

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolves1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had room112,bed was rock solid and I had no sleep for 5 days as I have severe arthritis and the pain was made worse through this, the bathroom door had no lock on it and kept getting stuck and we had to keep pulling hard on the handle, the bathroom door was also not a proper door but it was a very old wardrobe type of door and in very bad condition, at meal times we was not given enough time to eat our meal before the waitress came over to take our meal order for the following day, as we was self-drive there was no clear parking space for disabled and the when we did find a space the coach driver from Daish's moaned at us for "blocking his space for him to un-load. On the last day we was in bed and another couple had keys and let themselves into our room at 7.15am. when we told reception she was not really interested. Telly was un-watchable. Supposed to be our anniversary. When we first walked into the bedroom the bed runner was badly stained, told the receptionist and she removed it but it was not replaced.

Room Tip: room112 bed rock solid and very uncomfortable. If you suffer from arthritis or anything similar then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank april6458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Property: Barrowfield Hotel
Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Barrowfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing