We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sally and Brian Barrowfield Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrowfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barrowfield Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sally and Brian Barrowfield Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had yet another fantastic holiday at the Barrowfield Hotel Newquay in July 2014. The hotel is situated very near to Tolcarne beach and an easy walk into the town. It takes about 15 minutes. This is our 8th time we have stayed there. This time we did a self drive but in February we came on the coach. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food was lovely and a good choice of menu. The service is the restaurant was excellent. The entertainment most nights was good. We had a four poster bed as we were celebrating our ruby anniversary and a corner bath with a jacuzzi. The only slight problem was the very noisy seagulls outside however this did not spoil our stay there and we will defiantly be going back there again next year.

Room Tip: Don't have a room over the pool in the summer it will be very warm but they are fantastic in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    287
    92
    34
    21
See reviews for
125
444
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have visited the Barrowfield once before, and this time the stay was even more enjoyable in the summer months, because of the superb position of the Barrowfield near the cliff top, overlooking the beaches. The food and entertainment were to the usual Daish's high standard. The bedroom had obviously recently been refurbished, and was very comfortable. The local bus stops were very convenient, we only went on one excursion to Falmouth and the Cyder Farm, which were most informative. Looking forward to a future visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Mary_SM560GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcheldean, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great value for money. Hotel very well positioned within easy reach of town and on bus route. Public areas of hotel spacious. Staff very friendly and efficient. Food more than adequate for price paid.

Room Tip: Lots of seagulls roosting and cawing very loudly outside 226. great room but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just had a weeks stay at Barrowfield and it was a great value break, The food was very tasty and service first class well done Thai our waiter, we had room 118 on first floor which was fine but mattress on bed was noisy when you got in and out ,The windows badly need cleaning on bedrooms but this did not affect our holiday, the T.V. did not work when it was windy or raining and the broadband was less than 1 megabyte although it was free, Entertainment was overall very good. Bar prices were about the same as Pub prices. overall a good holiday for the price and would recommend it

Room Tip: Rooms with a Balcony are best other rooms can get very hot as only small windows on some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davetozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

i have visited three other daishs hotels but the barrowfield gives the best service by far. I had to request special menue, it was delivered every night without my have to ask each night. This was my 3rd visit but it wont be my last

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 253pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed for 5 days, excellent as always. Helpful staff. Food served promptly, if rather plain, but still enjoyable. Have been several times before and would not go anywhere else in Newquay. Hotel in excellent position for all amenities. Only complaint this time was a bath instead of a shower. Parking easy as mostly coach parties (I go self-drive). Beds and rooms comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Last minute deal made the break good value for money. It would not have been such good value at full price. Food wholesome but veggies overcooked, usually. Limited choice for vegetarians (one dish daily). Deeply resented having to pay extra for haddock for breakfast, so had kipper and poached eggs every day. Note one kipper, despite menu stating kippers.

Biggest gripe was lack of shelf space in the bedroom (only one bedside cabinet), and particularly in the shower (no shelf or soap dish). Where are elderly, infirm guests supposed to put their soap and shampoo, conditioner, flannel, nail brush etc, but on the floor? A sure recipe for some unfortunate soul to fall over!! Shelf over the basin was larger than at some Daish's hotels. Hurrah for that!!

Room service was satisfactory, and all other staff encountered were friendly and helpful.

They should have a centralised system for staff tipping. Gets expensive when you tip the restaurant staff, the bar staff, the receptionists and the cleaners. Fairer on those staff that don't get tipped too.

Will continue to take advantage of last minute seals with Daish's, but won't ever pay full price.

Room Tip: Note the lift is small and slow. Try to get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mikejb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.2 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Lodge Hotel
Sandy Lodge Hotel
#20 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Property: Barrowfield Hotel
Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing