We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit this place!”

The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 244 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We purchase food locally and cook fresh in our kitchens each day. We have a popular Sunday Roast each Sunday, as it is freshly cooked roast potatoes, parsnips, carrots, Yorkshire pudding, cauliflower cheese, green vegetables and melt in the mouth meat, plus vegetarian and vegan options, it's usually very busy. We also offer a takeaway Sunday roast, call and collect. Friday night is Burger Night where we serve the Dolphin Gourmet Burgers, that too has become extremely popular, the menus are on our website and we offer online booking. The restaurant itself is a 75 seater restaurant with a nice friendly bar and lots of sofas dotted around the bar. It's been under new ownership since November 2016 and has been receiving rave reviews and sometimes sold out on Sundays with over 160 meals served. The Dolphin is the oldest trading restaurant in the beautiful Cornish town of Newquay and is a traditional yet vibrant venue, with friendly staff and a strong focus on sustainable and ethical practice. All produce is fresh and is locally and responsibly sourced, allowing for an exciting and dynamic food menu that appeals to people of all tastes. The lounge bar provides a relaxing area to enjoy well maintained draught lagers, ales and ciders, a carefully chosen range of wines and spirits. Serving from our Main Menu items such as Tapas, Seafood and Grill as well as our hugely popular Sunday Roasts, where we offer a takeaway roast on Sunday (from 26 November 2016) to meet the overbooked demand. The Dolphin is situated near to the Harbour in the centre of the town, just a minute from the beach and is surrounded by absolutely gorgeous beaches famous for their golden sands and world-class surf conditions on the North Cornwall coast. Adjacent to the restaurant is a pay and display car park whilst street parking is also available within a few minutes walk. Sainsburys also operate a time limited (1.5 hours at the time of writing) car parking facility, it is an automated time register driving in and driving out so allow a few extra minutes to get back to your car and exit their car park.
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Lovely, cosy little restaurant with character. The staff were genuinely lovely and friendly. The menu was varied, offering vegetarian, locally caught seafood, steaks, lamb etc . When the food arrived it was beautifully cooked and tasted absolutely gorgeous. We all struggled to finish our meals as the portions were so big. I had the mushroom burger which was literally filled with two massive mushrooms, proper cheese and a lovely chutney, in a lovely roll with thick, home-made chips and salad. Others in our group had the mussels, sausages with champ, lamb, steak and the scampi......everyone loved their meals. The prices were reasonable too. We're a local family and will definitely be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Madcatlady68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hello there, thank you for your review. It is brilliant to read that you enjoyed yourselves here at the Dolphin and great news that locals are pleased with what we are trying to do and enjoy the food, we aim to please :) See you soon, Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Having looked around Newquay and deciding the Restaurants looked decidedly average, we were pleased to find The Dolphin. It looks nothing from the outside, just a set of stairs disappearing upwards. Whilst waiting for a table (short wait) I ordered a pint of Guinness in the bar area, I was delighted to find out they had the Surge system, which I love to watch.
We both ordered the Plaice in orange butter with sauteed new potatoes and dressed salad. It was one of the best meals either of us has ever had. We returned the next night but it was Sunday and therefore a different menu,. we opted for the Roast, which was Turkey with eight veg and a Yorkie (pudding not chocolate bar), it was very tasty but I was craving more fish. We returned on Monday to satisfy my craving but it's closed on Mondays.....Curse you! Great food, great service and they've got Surge

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flippertybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hello there, thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm so pleased that you had a nice time with us (and that someone else other than myself is so fascinated by the Guinness Surger - it is a magical contraption). Sorry about the Monday, we are now shut on Tuesdays too - we'd be open all day every day if we could but sadly Newquay is incredibly seasonal. We will be open every day during half term, though. Hope to see you again soon :) Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

I visited newquay with my husband and there is so many places to choose from but looked at the menu of the dolphin and wanted to try it :) we had starters which were huge and both very tasty then we both decided on haddock and chips which came with thick homemade chips and the haddock sat on top,the fish was beautiful! I have put a photo up as it was presented so nicely! It was good value for money and had a romantic Feel! The staff were all very friendly too thankyou!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joshyboshy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we really do appreciate feedback. It is great to read that you enjoyed yourselves at the Dolphin, we hope to see you again soon. Great photos! :) Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Last minute choice. Its an odd place but gave it a try. The staff were really nice and friendly. Chose the mussels for starter which were delicious as were the other starter of ribs, it went a bit down hill from here. The chowder was not nice, too much tomato puree and tinned tuna. The blue cheese sauce that came with the lamb steak was very strange. Perhaps our menu choices were not the best. Wont go back but it wasnt the worst meal ive had.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jillybums1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us, feedback is very important to us. It is a great shame to read that you would not return for an evening with us and that the chowder and blue cheese sauce were not to your liking. We understand that people have different tastes and would have been happy to provide an alternative for you if you had articulated this to us on the night. Bex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Had our final dinner of our holiday here and wished we had found it sooner. Food was magic, drinks super but by far the outstanding contribution to the night were the staff. All very friendly and helpful from the minute we called to make a reservation till we waved them goodbye at the end of the night. Should be #1 in Newquay

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Noniburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hello there, thank you so much for your review and your kind words. We very much aim to please and it is a joy to read that this came across to you. I shall pass this on to the staff, we are exceptionally lucky to have such lovely people working with us to make the Dolphin special. Hope to see you again, Bex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing