We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A never to repeat experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Head Inn

The Kings Head Inn
Ranked #91 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: THE KINGS HEAD is a traditional family friendly pub a few 100 yards from Morrisons in Newquay.At The Kings Head we endeavour to serve fantastic good value food, using local produce wherever it is possible.We offer a wide selection of beers, wines & spirits.We provide a warm welcoming atmosphere for you to enjoy while having you meal, a drink with friends or a game of pool or darts.We also hold a quiz night every thursday night.There is a large car park opposite the pub with plenty of room for over 80 cars - handy for people popping in for lunch.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A never to repeat experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Oh dear!! I don't even know where to begin! My partner and I decided to go for a Sunday roast, and made the dire mistake of choosing "The Kings Head"!!
It is a desperately sad pub from the moment you enter the door. It smells of stale beer and the decor looks as if it hasn't been updated since the Beatles topped the charts!! We chose our plate size..both looked ridiculously small, but we opted for the larger of the two as the other (the price of which is advertised outside was, in fact a side plate!!) as we approached the "carvery" we were greeted by a piece of beef, no bigger than a tennis ball and as grey and dry as it would be possible to be!! Next to it was a piece of ham,and that was it. We asked if there was a new piece of beef that we could be served from, preferably a little pinker? We were told this is how it is served here.
As the ham looked in just as sad a state, we turned our attention to the vegetables. They looked disgusting, tired, dry and as though they had been sitting there for a week!
We soldiered on and sat down at a dirty, sticky table in the corner. We did try and eat it, but it was tasteless, dry and probably the most unappetising meal I have ever had the misfortune to have ordered! There is NO excuse to serve food like this, and for £8.95, I am not expecting Gordon Ramsey, but I do expect fresh edible fare, and this,sadly, was neither!!
This is a pub that needs a total re think on decor, cleanliness and food. I will certainly never visit again and until it gets it's act together nor should anyone who wants a decent lunch! Disgusting!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jillianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    51
    23
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for a 70s disco.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited for midweek lunch, first impressions was it could easily have been the 70s as that is what the decor and carpet looked like.

Menu was fairly concise but around £2/3 dearer than similar places, we had gammon egg chips which at £12 is overpriced but was nice. Kids meals are £6 which is the dearest we paid all week but they were fairly big, however that is not required for a 3 and 6 year old.

The garden is lifeless, overgrown and littered, with old rickety benches which is entered via a games room containing a pool table and bar football, again in 70s theme.

The staff were friendly and I guess this pub would be OK to watch live football and really could be great with a revamp which would justify the heavier than usual prices.

We only visited because we were staying a Hendra which I reckon most of their trade comes from, we will not visit here again as there are far better places locally.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mingoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easter sunday carvery, great!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

very very busy!!! short wait which was understandable considering how busy it was, but was well worth the wait, just what we wanted, nice carvery, pleasant staff and sky sports!!!!!!!!!, will be visiting again!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“FOOD CHRONIC!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went to this venue today 20/04/2014 at 3.30 PM.

We were sat down at a table and left to work out the menu by our self, we had to ask for the staff to give us a explanation on the way the system works.

Food was absolutely discusting, only a choice of 2 meats, the beef was BLUE, blood everywhere, chewy like rubber, well over priced, worth £4.50 not £8, the roast potatos was were black like charcoal and the cabbage was like WIRE.

The suede was watery and resembled something out of the movie "Oliva".

AVOID AT ALL COSTS, GO TO WETHERSPOONS BETTER FOOD BETTER QUALITY SERVICE AND COST EFFECTIVE.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpiritualMask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent welcome for "grockles"!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

we visited this pub primarily to watch our favorite sports teams as the local caravan park we were at didn't have SKY sports, what a fab decision! superb hostelry provided by the young lady from atherstone? near Bolton (i believe) and made to feel welcome by all.
because of this we ate hear several times (superb quality food) and for the food, service and hospitality i would recommend to all. only down point that stopped me giving five is as an ex smoker, to have to walk through the smoking area to get to the gents is very poor!, fix this and you have five from five

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdwinHick4262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Head Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Kings Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing