We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Herring

The Herring
Ranked #181 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: US$25 - US$39
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We’ve embarked on a culinary adventure with our favourite Cornish chefs Mick Smith and Ryan Venning of the Porthminster Beach Café.Our food philosophy? Beautiful, flavoursome food that puts a smile on your rface.Our secret? Perfectly-cooked ingredients, an occasional Asian twist, Mick and Ryan’s award-winning flair grounded in local sourcing, the freshest fish and produce.Lunches are relaxed and sophisticated, dinner more daring and intimate.
Chatteris, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“good food, great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is our third trip here and have not been disappointed. The menu is limited, so probably not worth coming twice in a few days though, and the desserts this year were a bit uninspiring - but the choices of the cheese was good. The pork for starters was lovely, and the bass was well cooked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chatterisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Extremely Dissapointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We live locally to the Bedruthan Hotel, so we thought we would take our friend there for her birthday as a treat for all of us. Rather than the friendly greeting we would expect, we were ignored on arrival by the front of house staff.
Our wine was lovely and chilled but the water which I specifically ordered Iced was warm.
can't comment on the starters as they never arrived.
the Duck apparently was very good, I however ordered the Turbot with squid and fennel, the fish was overcooked and unseasoned, the fennel was just horrible, boiled and tasteless and the squid was octopus! I really hate octopus and wouldn't have ordered it. the potato was three wafer thin slices and not filling at all not even half a small potato.
when my friend asked that the shellfish garnish be left off her meal she was interrogated by the waitress as to why until she told her that because she was Jewish she was unable to eat it which made her feel uncomfortable and embarrassed. her meal was then served cold and after it returned from the kitchen warmed up (ping!) her vegetables had disappeared and no replacement was offered.
The waitress was over familiar and untidy looking and either her English or her mental capacity was limited, actually joining into our table conversation on more than one occasion with unwanted opinions. Like the last review we had given up on the meal and were not prepared to risk further humiliation by ordering dessert, especially as this would have cost a further £11, so we asked for the manager, Rachael was the lady who dealt with us at the end and i have to say my heart went out to her, she was lovely to us and her approach was totally professional and friendly, there were actually more problems than I've mentioned but i wont boar you further. just don't bother, do yourself a favor and check 15 for late availability your money will be better spent and Rachael! you deserve better!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyingcheffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We visited The Herring for a family celebration, we had seen pictures of a stunning platter in their website, as we are fish lovers we were enticed to book. On arrival we were shocked to see the minimal menu (at best) and no sign of the beautiful platter. (photographed here also by management)
The quality of the food that we ordered was however exquisite however the portion sizes were not especially adult friendly. Attention to service was fantastic and our waitress Violette could not be faulted, coming from a retail management background I could easily have offered her a job on the spot!! Her manner was very proffessional but the way she tailored her conversation to us was fantastic, she made the whole experience much better. Apart from the bill which was extortionate, seeing as we left hungry was not great value for money!!! Mixed bag but worth the experience. I would dine here again if the menu was more as advertised and not so minimal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandapanda30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, service and vegetarian friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Just arrived late this evening and hadn't booked a place to eat. Needed somewhere that was vegetarian friendly as two in our party were vegetarian. Found a fantastic place right where we're staying at -Bedruthan Steps Hotel at their restaurant The Herring. Had a very nice vegetarian option, as well as non-vegetarian. Desserts fantastic as well. Service great too. Almost didn't go based on the 1st review, but glad we tried it in the end. Very nice and would definitely recommend for a nice adult dinner. Menu not extensive, but excellent. Will caution, younger kids not allowed as they try and keep it more for "intimate dining".

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NHintes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Everything is bad except the view..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

I Came here for lunch to treat my niece for her 22nd birthday. I've been to the Wild Cafe, which is the bistro at the hotel, it was a below average sunday lunch but having seen the website, i thought it should be a completely different experience and we were looking forward to try this Seafood restaurant esp when it was mentioned in the website that the chefs worked in collaboration with the 2 chefs from a michelin star restaurant in St Ives. Well.. We were completely let down! Nothing is good in this restaurant, the only saving grace is the view. The service was abysmal, we were kept waiting for a long time in between courses, its not even busy! 
The starters: 3 minute pieces of tasteless pork loin ( supposed to be curried pork - tasted more like boiled pork ), the wasabi puree in my niece's starter was so bland her 7 months old baby can even eat it. After waiting for half an hour, our mains were served, but its Definitely not worth the wait! My fish was not appetizing at all. It was floating in too much butter and it came with 4 tiny slices of potatoes ( which is equivalent to 1 small potato ) and very few not fresh-looking samphire grass. Fish was too salty i only finished half of the food. My niece's linguine was shocking. When it came, the appearance looks bland & rubbish anyway. She said it was tasteless and the portion was very small you will think it was an entree or a child's portion.
Again, we waited ages for them to clear our plates. Waiter asked if we enjoyed our food so my niece didnt hold back and told him the food was rubbish. They didnt charge us the linguine in the end. Im a dessert person but the experience so far was bad i didnt even bother to looked at the menu and just wanted to get out of the restaurant asap.
I will never come back to this restaurant again and definitely will not reccommend it to anyone. My niece's final comment: macdonalds is even better than that.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Odessy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Herring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing