We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hartson House

Hartson House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hartson House
Ranked #37 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Merstone, Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Great accommodation on the main road into Newquay. Very clean and bright with all facilities. Brilliant breakfast with a wide choice of food. the hosts were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make your stay comfortable. We would definitely stay there again if we should be in Cornwall. The beds were extremely comfortable, best nights sleep I have had in a long time.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which overlooked the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We could've have chosen a nicer place to stay in Newquay, the property is a credit to the owners, immaculate room, fabulous breakfast and Mark & Karen are two of the nicest people we have met on our travels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieAusssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

This is a top notch B & B. Everything is spotlessly clean, modern and extremely comfortable.
Lovely breakfast, comfortable bed and free wi-if. The bigger hotels could learn a thing or two on how to do things well.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Would highly recommend this to everyone.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachelann9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afreton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

What a fantastic B&B. Mark and Karen were lovely hosts with nothing being too much trouble. The whole house was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Free wi-fi is available. Great choice at breakfast. If this was on Four in a Bed I'm sure they would have won with everyone paying more than they asked for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Not long back from a 3 night break at Hartson House. I can only echo the comments in all the other reviews. Karen and Mark are the ideal hosts prepared to go the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one. Spotless room and linen and despite looking out onto the road in Room 4, we were not disturbed by the traffic. Fresh fruit salad in addition to the Full English made breakfast a treat.

We have used tripadvisor many times to help us select a B@B but this is the first time I have felt motivated to write a review. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavyHug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

This b&b is amazing we've only just got back and want to go again :) Mark and Karen are fantastic and Mark was more than helpful with reccomending places we could visit and the things we could do! The b&b itself was tidy, very clean and so comfortable to stay in the breakfast was fab and set you up for the day! Overall a fantastic holiday and I shall definitely be going back there again :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellealex44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

For me, Mike and Karen of Hartson House have got it absolutely spot-on! Everywhere was sparkling clean, the bed was really comfortable. (I usually have trouble sleeping on strange beds but I had a really good night!). I love the minimalist style, the oak floors and the white bed linen. The shower is totally fab! Really powerful and hot. My husband had trouble with it as he doesn't like a powerful shower (I know, he's a bit weird, what can I say??). The breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Great value for money. Mike has lived in the area all his life and is really happy to give information and advice. We'll definitely go there again.

Thanks to Mike for his tip about taking our grandson to the estuary - we had a lovely walk but sadly no crabs!! Bit too early in the season I think. We'll try again next time!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstimert0rquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Three Tees Hotel
The Three Tees Hotel
#20 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tregarthen Guesthouse
Tregarthen Guesthouse
#14 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Guest House
Aquarius Guest House
#30 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rolling Waves Hotel
Rolling Waves Hotel
#39 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jasmine House
Jasmine House
#19 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinelodge
Pinelodge
#22 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartson House

Property: Hartson House
Address: 46 Henver Road, Newquay TR7 3BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartson House is a fully furnished holiday let. Sleeping upto 10persons over 5 bedrooms. Available to rent all year round on weekly or short break lets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hartson House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing