We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you sit outside!”
Review of Fern Pit Cafe

Fern Pit Cafe
Ranked #31 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Cafe at Crantock Beach, at the seaside and at the same time riverside, near the ferry
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Make sure you sit outside!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This café is quite a gem as it has an amazing location and is hidden away down a side street outside of Newquay. However, the pretty, outside terraced garden with it's super views of Crantock Beach contrasts with the rather glum and dark interior.

The service was very good and all staff were cheerful and helpful. Everywhere was very clean. The coffee was delicious and some of the snack foods were too, although others were more bland.

You can also descend the steps down the cliffside from the garden and use either the ferry or footbridge to the huge, wide, golden sand beach where there is a beach shop selling fresh crab and lobster.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capriwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    50
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Crab Sandwich.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My Wife and i popped in for lunch, You can not get a fresher, Tastier, Crab Sandwich anywhere, These people catch there own crabs, We sat outside overlooking the Gannel valley and Crantock Beach eating our lovely Crab Sandwich,Service was Friendly and fairly quick but here again Food is prepared to order which is why it is so fresh, Another place to return to when we are back in Crantock, Fern pit is also Dog friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crab sandwiches with amazing view !”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Enjoyed tasty Crab Sandwiches and Cappuchinos in the sunshine overlooking Gannel Valley and Crantock Beach. Food as good as it has been for 30 years but it used to have a lovely friendly atmosphere when talking to the staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank greekfanatic09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worst crab sandwich”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have been visiting the Fern Pit for over 25 years but today we visited and had our usual crab sandwich but what a disappointment. Had to wait ages and when it did arrive it was very poor the bread was just basic sliced bread and that was stale we really would expect more for £7.25

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernPit, Manager at Fern Pit Cafe, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Firstly thank you for your 25 years of custom. We are however very sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received this year. We do take comments and criticism seriously as it helps to improve our service. It is however unfortunate you did not bring this to our attention while you were here so we could at least attempt to resolve the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Fantastic Views”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This wonderful family run Cafe is a real gem, set overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock Beach it is a delightful place to visit and enjoy their range of food. Eat indoors or out and there is an excellent Children's room where the youngsters can play once they have had their fill.

The Crab Sandwiches must rate alongside the best anywhere in the country. Freshly caught by the Cafes own fishing boats they could not be any fresher and they are simply prepared so that you get the taste of the Crab rather than the dressing as in some places.

I highly recommend this Cafe. We visit there each time we go to Cornwall, superb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1010peter1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fern Pit Cafe also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Fern Pit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing