We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, unique in Newquay”
Review of Ohana

Ohana
Ranked #93 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: US$2 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Newquays newest cafe/Restaurant with possibly the best view in town! Open all day everyday for great food and superb coffee.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place, unique in Newquay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ohana gives a rare glimpse in the UK of Hawai'ian cuisine which is unique and difficult to find. Having traveled extensively in Hawai'i I can vouch for the authenticity of some of the dishes on offer here. The restaurant is deceptively located amongst ugly betting shops and the train station but a brave face will see you into a very welcoming, immaculately tidy and tasteful bistro. The menu is sound, offering a wide variety of tastes and gourmet food with a wide selection of unorthodox drinks and tapas dishes. The Japanese influences characteristic of genuine Hawai'ian cuisine are also evident, and the special Katsu sauce is appreciated.
Definitely worth a visit on a trip to Newquay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zaarin2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    18
    8
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tregony, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Having purchased a Groupon voucher my husband & I travelled over from South Cornwall to give a try, hadn't read reviews before purchasing voucher. I can confirm that as previously stated by another reviewer that this place is cold & draughty, we moved 3 times before we were a little out of a draught. We waited 15 mins for tea & coffee (and also for the table to be cleared) and 25 minutes for our well cooked but £6.50 for breakfast is not cheap, when it doesn't include tea & coffee I would have disappointed if I hadn't got my voucher. There were only 2 other customers at the time (coffee's only) so they weren't rushed off their feet.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine01202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food but less than perfect ambiance”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Oh I really want to give this restaurant higher ratings! The food is absolutely amazing, I mean really delicious! Also, on a sunny day, the terrace on the back provides beautiful view over the ocean. However, there are a few things that I would love for the owners to address. First of all, the service is friendly and personal, but the food takes a while to arrive, and being a regular customer, I've noticed that the staff take a bit too long chatting to some customers, while leaving others waiting. Also, unless it's hot outside, the venue is always really cold. The doors on both sides are open most of the time, so the wind flows freely, and it's just a bit too breezy and cold. If you ever happened to stop by on a cold-ish day, you'll notice most customers sitting inside with their jackets on. Personally, I don't find the tables comfortable, but that's individual to every customer. Given that the food is awesome, but the service and venue less than perfect, you may think that it would be a good idea to just take your meal away. However, keep in mind that this place is NOT cheap. It is actually quite pricey even as a restaurant, so don't go there if you're expecting fantastic value for money. Really really hope, that the owners will sort some of those things out, because this place has a huge potential to be among the best restaurants in Newquay, if not even in Cornwall. Definitely worth a try, but don't expect too much.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivelina_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great views”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

what a refreshing place views over newquay bay while eating in back was fabulous freindly staff and food was great well worth a visit if in newquay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H1034AFpaul_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stumbled across Ohana one lunchtime while perusing the numerous surf shops in Newquay. The place has a very chilled-out vibe, and the views over Newquay bay from their garden terrace are superb. We both went for 'the squeak,' a halloumi and potato salad which was delicious, it was so much more than the sum of its parts. I'd highly recommend Ohana, we will definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ohana also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Ohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing