We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best restaurant in Newquay by a Country mile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lewinnick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lewinnick Lodge
Ranked #10 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Newquay by a Country mile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

The food here is fresh, local and seasonal, dishes sell out quick including the desserts which are also home made. Great location and the Sunset view is the best in Newquay.

Great for a day drink and lunch but the wind can get up. Make sure you have sun glasses and lotion as the veranda is a Sun trap.

Bar area is uber cool in a square shape where you can sit for hours an chill. Great selection of wines and food.

We returned twice in our week long holiday and we ( 2 adults and 2 14 year old boys), all voted it to be our favourite all round place in Newquay.

(Toilets also very trendy, very clean and are kept immaculate).

Please click if this was useful or you liked this.

Room Tip: Only used restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
142
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Just returned from a 3 night mid Christmas break at The Lewinnick Lodge. It was well worth the long journey down from York. What an amazing location with wonderful sea views from a fantastic, well designed bedroom.

This is a hidden gem in Cornwall, which will not stay hidden for long!! The bedroom was a few meters from the sea cliffs, overlooking Fistral beach and the surrounding headland. The massive picture window framed the bay and lying in the massive and extremely comfortable bed looking out at the view was a great thrill. The thunderous waves were a sight to be seen, yet with the window closed they could not be heard so a good nights sleep was assured.

The breakfasts were delicious and the menu was very comprehensive with a enough choice to have something different every morning over a 7 day stay.

We will definitely return if we can get a vacancy but when the word gets out it may be difficult

Room Tip: Be Sure to ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkhirePudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Lewinnick Lodge has been a favourite place of mine for about 12 years and its always the first place we head to when we arrive in Cornwall for our twice yearly trips. When I discovered during a break earlier in the year that they were adding rooms, I just had to book! I've just returned from a three night break over new year and I'm delighted to say it didn't disappoint. There was a slight mix up with our room on arrival, I had booked the sunset room but was allocated the sunrise room, with views over to the headland and Fistral. This actually worked out better for us as the views were simply stunning, and the room was gorgeous. I had been concerned that the room over the bar would have been noisy, I needn't have worried as you couldn't hear a thing. The room has been completed to the highest standards and the bed is one of the comfiest I have ever slept in. There's a big walk in shower and free standing bath - all open plan. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room, no milk though, which we thought a little odd - I'm sure you could get it from the bar but when I work early on the first morning and wanted to make a cup of tea I found I couldn't. Lovely shortbread biscuits in a jar replenished daily too. Housekeeping are very on the ball, every morning whilst we were at breakfast they cleaned our room and were gone again by the time we returned. Excellent service. The staff at Lewinnick are always excellent and this visit was no exception, our room mix up was dealt with politely and professionally (despite the fact I was very annoyed and tired after a long and unpleasant journey!). We booked a table in the restaurant for a family meal for New Year's Eve and that was lovely. The food and service were great and we all had a brilliant time. We've got many happy family memories of time spent in Lewinnick and this stay added to our collection - especially as my sister and her boyfriend got engaged on the deck at midnight! I can't wait to go back and can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank superwrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the lodge to get some peace and quiet over Christmas. The roaring sea and gusty winds only served to make me feel extra cosy in my room and made it tranquil believe it or not. To watch the light change on Fistral beach as the sun comes up is wonderful. Gorgeous bed ... Great breakfast ... Fabulous views. If I had to voice any criticism it would be the noisy doors up and down the hall which don't shut quietly but could easily be remedied and the air conditioning/heating system which seemed to randomly go on and off despite being told it was switched off. Overall these two points were minor compared to the whole experience. I would love to stay again ......

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peace&Harmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Perfect location with beautiful views. We stayed in room 4 for two nights and its just fantastic. The bed was like heaven, felt like sleeping in a huge cloud. Breakfast and evening meals were really lovely. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Far West of Cornwall
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Lewinnick Lodge has one of the finest locations that Cornwall or the UK has to offer being set alone on Pentire Headland looking out over the rolling sea towards Fistral beach at Newquay. Restaurant is bright, modern and clean as is the bar and outside decking is ideal for summer evenings. We stayed the night too and the newly built room was superb. Food is excellent for a non foody like me and I'm sure is up to and beyond most peoples expextations as it is reasonably priced too. Breakfast also lovely. Views from our room were breathtaking and the room was very well equiped for a special stay. Hope to come back many times again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWillberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

We had known the Lewinnick for some years as a great pub and restaurant wiith exceptional views from the outdoor areas (a large wooden terrace and a lower level garden) before it added a layer and started to offer rooms as well. We decided to try it out last year, spending the bit extra needed to get the room above the terrace with th outstanding view of the sea. Well worth it. The room was large and superbly appointed. There were the tow of us, plus our 8 year old plus the dog (with a dog bed supplied by the hotel!). We were also shown some other rooms and could see they were of a very high standard too. Clean, modern and beautifully appointed. Downstairs, there is a pub that also does bar food and a separate restaurant area with windows all round for slightly more up market meals. The location could not be finer. Great walk over the headland and down to Crantock beach on the other side. Simply stunning views from the hotel and the terrace area. Very pleasant staff. It's not cheap, but it's good value for what you get and one should be expected to pay for this sort of privilege. If you love Cornwall, you should treat yourself. . .

Room Tip: Take the room above the terrace even if it costs a bit more. And book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewinnick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewinnick Lodge

Property: Lewinnick Lodge
Address: Pentire Headland, Newquay TR7 1QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lewinnick Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique bed and breakfast hotel- Newquay, Cornwall The quintessence of boutique coastal-chic, each in a bespoke palette of neutral Farrow & Ball showcasing the fabulous sea and headland views: our eleven stylish rooms have an understated glamour that offers contemporary cool and saltwater allure. Our coastal bolthole is the perfect destination in Cornwall for a glorious getaway and is a honeymoon haven for those wanting sensational sea views, secluded romance and beachside luxury. Accommodation close to Newquay at its best! Designed by Guy Bostock our rooms have a fresh and modern feel that is a world away from traditional. Our attention to detail sets us apart: think homemade biscuits with your morning coffee in bed and all the mod cons, so should you need to keep up to date with the outside world you can. Each room features a flat screen TV with on demand movies and free wifi plus DAB radio and Bluetooth speakers. The fabulous open plan bathrooms in the Sunrise/sunset and ocean doubles are equipped with power showers and free standing slipper baths. In the headland double and superior partial sea view rooms you have a private ensuite with either a shower or a bath with shower attachment. The family room has a bath with a shower. All rooms come with bathrobes for pottering and hairdryers. Hair straighteners are available on request. With luxury organic products in ensuite bathrooms, local artwork and beautiful original pieces, our rooms are seriously special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lewinnick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewinnick Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing