We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey”
Review of Lewinnick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lewinnick Lodge
Ranked #12 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I and my husband went there for our anniversary and booked in for two nights. The room was nice enough with a huge wet room. The location of the lodge pushes prices up as it is quite spectacular.
However we were disappointed with our evening meal. My husband's steak was very fatty and his meal had to be sent back. I had been looking forward to a Nic fish mea
But had just a slither of plaice on a pile of what seemed to be oven chips. As we had sent the steak back I had to eat on my own whilst my husband waited for a fresh meal. Very disappointing and the reaction when we raised this upon departure was that our comments would be passed on to the general manager for the future. No confirmation of this and not much help to us. The we're a couple of other niggles around our breakfast orders, waitress seemed to have her head in the clouds and forgot things. One night stay here is enough and I wish we had gone somewhere else. Obviously will not be returning. Very pricey room tag for overlooking the car park!

Room Tip: Ocean view may be worth the price but don't get one at he back as car park noisy with everyone l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
144
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Best place to stay in Newquay ,amazing room and the view of the ocean is breathtaking everything we expected and lovely friendly staff. And best thing is great food while your there just pop down from your room to the restaurant what more can you ask for, will need to book table when booking your room as the restaurant gets very busy of an evening as very delicious food and great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend loved every moment !! ;)x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123shell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If your looking for somewhere special for a night or two you won't find better than this. Choose a room with a sea view and you cannot be disappointed. Staff were helpful and friendly and the food in the restaurant was of good quality at pub prices which makes it very popular so make sure you book a table when making your booking. Cannot recommend enough.

Room Tip: Choose room 1. Most fantastic view possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritchie3691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Lovely room, wonderful views from our room. We have eaten at the restaurant before on a lunchtime but this is the first time we have stayed overnight, the restaurant can be a bit noisy as it is very popular. Food was nice and they do different special menus at lunch and evening, we ate at 9pm, would recommend eating earlier if you want a special as they sometimes sell out. Staff were lovely.

Tea, coffee and water were provided, would have been nice to have also had some biscuits in the room. It took me ages to work out where to plug in the hair dryer as there were no obvious sockets near the mirror, but eventually found one under the bedside shelf.

Worth noting that there were no cereals for breakfast, would recommend downloading their menus so that you know what is available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The best thing about the lodge is its location on the unspoilt Pentire headland, perching on a cliff edge, with unbeatable sea views from your bedroom window. The rooms are very stylish with exceptionally comfortable and large beds. The seating provided in our room was a little disappointing with a large armchair and wicker chair not really in keeping with the room. The feature bath looked lovely but we can't imagine that anybody uses it for fear of exposing themselves to the people on the decking below. The accommodation consists of around 10 guest rooms located on the first floor above the bar and restaurant. You have to realise that this not a Hotel. As a result, the service is not what you might expect. We had to obtain the keys from the bar / restaurant area and settle the bill there too. Access to the rooms is via a tiny downstairs lobby that is kept locked, although there is a pleasant unmanned reception area on the first floor. The restaurant / bar area below is in very appealing with oak floors and large expanses of glass overlooking a splendid deck. The furnishings were looking tired and the experience on a Saturday night was not great - too many large drunken parties. Food quality was also a little variable. We would consider staying again, but would have think hard about parting with this sort of money.........

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

An absolute jem of a find. The whole place is as simply stunning, from the decor to the dining, everything is amazing. Some stunning beaches within walking distance with views to die for. This hotel made our holiday. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darbonator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Lewennick may be outside the centre of Newquay but it means you get a quite location and one of the best views of Fistral beach and out over the Atlantic. The view from the terrace is fantastic either at breakfast or watching the sun set in the evening. The bar is busy all day and there is a nice vibe about the place. The food is very good, we ate in the restaurant in the evening and enjoyed a fantastic breakfast. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms cavernous and the super-king bed a real treat. The staff are welcoming and very helpfull. Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: You have to get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
1.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewinnick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewinnick Lodge

Property: Lewinnick Lodge
Address: Pentire Headland, Newquay TR7 1QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lewinnick Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique bed and breakfast hotel- Newquay, Cornwall The quintessence of boutique coastal-chic, each in a bespoke palette of neutral Farrow & Ball showcasing the fabulous sea and headland views: our eleven stylish rooms have an understated glamour that offers contemporary cool and saltwater allure. Our coastal bolthole is the perfect destination in Cornwall for a glorious getaway and is a honeymoon haven for those wanting sensational sea views, secluded romance and beachside luxury. Accommodation close to Newquay at its best! Designed by Guy Bostock our rooms have a fresh and modern feel that is a world away from traditional. Our attention to detail sets us apart: think homemade biscuits with your morning coffee in bed and all the mod cons, so should you need to keep up to date with the outside world you can. Each room features a flat screen TV with on demand movies and free wifi plus DAB radio and Bluetooth speakers. The fabulous open plan bathrooms in the Sunrise/sunset and ocean doubles are equipped with power showers and free standing slipper baths. In the headland double and superior partial sea view rooms you have a private ensuite with either a shower or a bath with shower attachment. The family room has a bath with a shower. All rooms come with bathrobes for pottering and hairdryers. Hair straighteners are available on request. With luxury organic products in ensuite bathrooms, local artwork and beautiful original pieces, our rooms are seriously special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Lewinnick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewinnick Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing