We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, luxurious honeymoon spot”
Review of Lewinnick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lewinnick Lodge
Ranked #12 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing, luxurious honeymoon spot”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I had our wedding reception in the restaurant on Halloween and also treated ourselves to a nights stay upstairs with our young baby. The room overlooked Pentire and we had amazing unspoilt views of Fistral beach and the Newquay coastline. The room itself was extremely comfortable with walk in shower, his and her sinks, a free standing bath and massive bed with an extremely comfortable mattress - luxary! A travel cot was also supplied by Lewinnick Lodge themselves and suited our needs perfectly.
Breakfast in the morning matched our meal the day before and was cooked to perfection and enjoyed looking out to sea. Would and have recommended to all who ask. As we live locally (south coast of Cornwall) we try to stop in for a cream tea when we can! Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilLozface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
146
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We just enjoyed 3 nights here. What a find! Fantastic location on the south west coast path so plenty of walking directly from the hotel. The views are spectacular. We stayed in an ocean view room, the rooms are large and beautifully appointed. One minor addition I would request in the rooms is a mirror with a plug nearby (hair drying/ straightening without this was interesting!). We had read some other reviews about how busy the bar and restaurant are at all times and yes they were packed most of the time, but we were amazed that in spite of this we could hear no noise at all when in our room even though it was directly above. I would imagine in the summer with the deck area this may cause a nuisance to some. We enjoyed fantastic food breakfast and dinner on each day and couldn't fault it. There is also a great selection of drinks on offer. I can see how some people May think the ambience and service a tad casual especially in busy times but for us it was pitched just right. We will definitely return!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyOxfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have eaten at Lewinnick Lodge a number of times now and every time has been 'spot on'. We tend to go for a Cornish breakfast and its a real treat.
The food is excellent and we've never been dissapointed.
You cannot beat the views from this venue, its breathtaking.
We visited this time over Christmas and it was lovely with the decorations and fires.
If you get the opportunity to visit, even if its just for a coffee, its worth the trip. Excellent customer service too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Set on a rocky headland this seemingly very new building has a fantastic hotel Restaurant/bar.

We had room five which is a oceanview room. It was enormous with a super king size bed and a lovely bathroom which was part of the room. You could even watch the television from the bath!

The tea and coffee facilities were top-notch with a cafeteria.
The shower gel etc was also very high quality.

The most impressive part was the view, Uninterrupted of the sea - very pleasant indeed.

We did not have dinner or drinks at the restaurant however the atmosphere appeared fantastic.

Breakfast was very high quality and with a very good selection from waffles through scrambled egg to full Cornish breakfast.

If you want to stay just outside Newquay this is the place for you.

Do be aware that it is a long walk or short taxi drive into the town itself, something I think that is beneficial as it gives a secluded peaceful air to the place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pipehitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

You will not want to leave this truly amazing place. The views are absolutely mouth dropping, Lying in bed watching the waves lapping on the rocks below. Lying in the bath with a glass of champagne listening to the waves: this is total escapism. Its different, chic but relaxed, the staff are great, friendly, chatty but professional and the food is bistro style and plenty of it. We sat at the bar and watched the comings and goings and enjoyed the banter with staff and locals alike. Great ambience. And Fun! Good tip, ask the male members of staff for anything food wise they havent a clue on portion control!! (But its worth the eye candy. ) Its very casual, even the staff wear jeans.
Already planning to go back..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwjoydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LLodge, Manager at Lewinnick Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi thanks for the lovely feedback - this is exactly what we aim for and it's so lovely to know we are getting it right - Please come back and see us again - bring your friends too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walderslade Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay the rooms are beautiful and the views to die for. The staff could not be more polite or helpful. Choose rooms with the sea-views as well worth the extra. Will be returning without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What can I say my husband and I stayed on Friday the 13th lucky for us!! , stayed in room 1 what an amazing and jaw dropping view just sensational. The room itself is the best room we have ever stayed in .As soon as we walked in We relaxed.great staff and excellent food and wine .we will be back .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewinnick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewinnick Lodge

Property: Lewinnick Lodge
Address: Pentire Headland, Newquay TR7 1QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lewinnick Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique bed and breakfast hotel- Newquay, Cornwall The quintessence of boutique coastal-chic, each in a bespoke palette of neutral Farrow & Ball showcasing the fabulous sea and headland views: our eleven stylish rooms have an understated glamour that offers contemporary cool and saltwater allure. Our coastal bolthole is the perfect destination in Cornwall for a glorious getaway and is a honeymoon haven for those wanting sensational sea views, secluded romance and beachside luxury. Accommodation close to Newquay at its best! Designed by Guy Bostock our rooms have a fresh and modern feel that is a world away from traditional. Our attention to detail sets us apart: think homemade biscuits with your morning coffee in bed and all the mod cons, so should you need to keep up to date with the outside world you can. Each room features a flat screen TV with on demand movies and free wifi plus DAB radio and Bluetooth speakers. The fabulous open plan bathrooms in the Sunrise/sunset and ocean doubles are equipped with power showers and free standing slipper baths. In the headland double and superior partial sea view rooms you have a private ensuite with either a shower or a bath with shower attachment. The family room has a bath with a shower. All rooms come with bathrobes for pottering and hairdryers. Hair straighteners are available on request. With luxury organic products in ensuite bathrooms, local artwork and beautiful original pieces, our rooms are seriously special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Lewinnick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewinnick Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing