We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to drink in the view”
Review of The Chy Bar

The Chy Bar
Ranked #68 of 241 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Chy Bar is a modern boutique style Bar in Newquay that offers stylish dining by day and comes alive with a fresh, funky and modern soundtrack at night. The menu boasts a variety of foods from our delicious range of freshly made stone baked pizzas, to our locally sourced and freshly caught seafood dishes not forgetting of course the usual favourites from our scrumptious burger menu. You can also choose from a fine selection of wine, beers, premium spirits and cocktails from our extensive drinks menu. As the evening draws in, Chy Bar transforms into Newquay's premier late bar. The Chy Bar is Newquay's home of house music. With a modern vibrant soundtrack, intimate dancefloor and talented House & Techno DJs, The Chy bar is open 7 nights a week and licenced until 4:30am. The Koola Club is the home of the underground music scene in Newquay, leading the way with fresh local talent, Set over two levels and with a capacity of 400, you'll enjoy this intimate venue
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to drink in the view”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Nice staff who spoke to you normally. I thought the drinks were good and liked it in a jam jar. Seems to be the place to be on a sunny night in the summer. .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaa_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    43
    13
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Simply awful!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

The only thing this place has going for it is the views over the sea and town beach!

Breakfast is a rip off and falsely advertised. An all you can eat buffet for £5 should mean exactly that.. The strapline on their flyer suggested that we could pile the plate as high as we want. In reality it was someone serving breakfast that dictated what you had on your plate. Flyer also said hash browns.. Another lie. A complete con just to get you in.... Disappointing.

Would never return.

Toilets disgusting. Blurrrrrgghhh at breakfast time, still stinking and smelling from the night before.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could be so much better with its location”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Though not an overly long wait for the food which was just ok.Service and attitude of staff not good enough.We werent told that they would bring food to the table but then you had to get up and fetch your own cutlery and condiments.When i asked the girl i heard her tut and say oh i will get it.Think it could be same girl mentioned in other review.Not pleased to see customers!
Bar it self was lack lustre and needed cleaning.
Staff really should engage and smile a welcome at least.
Felt a nuisance and expected better.!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank umsungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful! Worst service I have ever seen.”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stopped in Newquay on our way back from holiday to get some breakfast on a quiet Monday morning. We ordered breakfast at the bar, 35 minutes later there was still no sign of any food so I went inside to check that they hadn't missed our order. I waited for about five minutes at the bar whilst the staff explained to someone that the only barman who could change a barrel had gone to the shop for the third time that morning so they couldn't have any beer. Eventually I asked a barmaid about the progress of our food order. She said that there was a standard 35 minute wait for all food which we should have been told when we ordered (we weren't) and that it would "probably" be with us sometime soon. I asked if there was anything else she could tell me, hoping that she might offer to go and check with the kitchen staff, to which he replied "what do you expect me to do about it?" With her hands on her hips. I walked back out to our table at this point. Another ten minutes later the wrong food order turned up. Luckily the guy who brought out the food was polite and apologetic but the barmaid (curly blonde hair) should never be employed in a customer serving role again. She seemed to be of the opinion that she was doing us a favour, rather than fulfilling her paid employment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EmB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food, relaxed ambience”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Visited here for a hair of the dog, and the menu tempted us to try some hangover food, something for everyone of our large party a great choice and nice location with great outdoor dining

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank terryzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chy Bar also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Chy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing