We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest hotelier (Matt) in Newquay, Great fun”
Review of Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breakers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was struggling for somewhere to stay, so having spoken to Matt on the phone, he rung his friends to see if they could take me in, when they couldn't he made space available -Totally beyond the call of duty! He made me so welcome, played pool, TV and chilled. Great place I would recommend to all those wanting a clean, welcoming and friendly stay.
Those that rate this as 1 or 2 star need a reality check! Go to a hotel and pay OTT prices. This is great value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Went with a bunch of mates for a stag do. The owner is very friendly and hospitable (and his dog is amazing)
Very reasonably priced and I would stay again. Conveniently located only 5 mins walk from the town centre. Thank you Matt

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We wanted somewhere to sleep. Thats what we got. This place is cheap, the beds are comfy Matt is awesome. It cost us £25 each at the start of the season - which is a crazy price. If we wanted room service, overpriced breakfast we would have booked a hotel ... we didn't need that, we just wanted a bed for the night ... As Matt explained, theres work to do on his new business venture, but what we expected and what we got was well above expectations. Its clean, the bathroom was spotless and includes free wifi! We even booked a second night while we were there. Thanks Matt, We will be back !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hopps2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived on friday to begin my stag do and was greeted by the best landlord in Newquay by far. The hospitality was great, service was great, the rooms were just what we needed, the view is good.
We were able to shoot some pool, chill on the sofas, watch the grand prix, drink at his bar and have a real good time.
If you're looking for a 5* gourmet hotel then you shouldn't be in Newquay anyway but if you're looking for a good time whatever you do then this place is a first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirkline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The owner Matt was great, laid back and interesting to talk to. No hassling for payments and no fuss, he also has a chilled dog called Fred, which doesn't bark or cause any trouble or noise.

The rooms are very standard in size and utilities. But they were clean and exactly what we needed for a week in Newquay.

All in all it was a great place to stay whilst we surfed and enjoy our time on the beach. You'll find no trouble here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callum3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Matt the owner couldn't do enough to help us. From manning the bar to offering great advice he was spot on.
The lodge itself is ideally situated close to town - 5-10mins walk to the bars, and has awesome views overlooking the sea.
Pool table and widescreen tv in the common room were great.
Parking either on the road in front (free if you can find a space) or on the field opposite for £7 a day.
All-in-all I couldn't recommend this place highly enough - will definitely stay again! Thanks Matt!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaris856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

By far the best place to stay in Newquay and for an absolute bargain price!

This is the second year running that I have stayed here with friends and won't even consider anywhere else!
Amazing location, clean, tidy and the owner (Matt) is amazing-so accommodating and can't do enough for you!

The front has a BBQ and patio area to sit and provides incredible views over Fistral beach whilst being a total sun trap. There is a large kitchen to make food in, breakfast (toast, cereal, tea, coffee etc) is provided at no extra cost and there is also a big area at the back to safely store wetsuits and boards etc.

Literally a 5 minute walk into town, 5 minute walk to Fistral beach and free roadside parking (which although limited, we have always been able to park on).

There is a bar downstairs which is cheap, huge widescreen tv and pool area in the communal area and Matt is always more than happy to accommodate any requests you may have. Super chilled out, each room has a super sturdy lock on and the front door is coded in the evenings so really safe.

Can't fault this place at all-no idea what the negative reviewers were on about as we have had the best time every time we have stayed and will definitely be coming back! Keep up the great work Breakers!! :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lynnsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
Piran Meadows Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in White Cross
787 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#24 of 37 in Newquay
115 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers

Address: 12 Atlantic Road, Newquay TR7 1QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: £46 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakers 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakers is nestled just above Fistral Beach, our location boasts stunning views across the bay, golf course and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. Our ideal location means that you will only be a short stroll away from the superb Newquay beaches, shops, bars and restaurants. We are easily accessible for public transport with the train station only fifteen minute walk and Newquay bus station only a couple of minutes away. We have private rooms available from 2-10 beds, large communal area & chill out room and fully licenced bar and scrumptious BBQ area out front. As a guest at Breakers you will have the freedom to enjoy your stay – your way with no curfew so you can come and go as you please. Breakers Lodge is convenient, warm and friendly. There is something here for everyone whether it be for a long weekend or a short break, we welcome all groups from couples, families, surfers and stags or hens. It is the perfect place to start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing