We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit... will return!”

C-View Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #103 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Relax in style and enjoy the classy beach-chic of the C-View bar and restaurant with its south-facing terrace. Catch the best of the Cornish sun as it drops towards the horizon over Fistral, Cornwall's most famous beach, as surfers charge in on the Atlantic rollers. Open all day, every day, we serve a range of speciality coffees through to cool and seductive cocktails. We also serve from a delicious menu with Cornish favourites, seafood and a selection of our signature dishes, sourcing fresh, local ingredients. We stock a fantastic collection of wines and champagnes that are served by the bottle or glass and a variety of Lagers, Ales and Ciders including Cornish Orchards (sponsors of our Sunday music sessions) and Tribute Ale. We have a wonderful, laid-back feel and we can cater for buffet parties and barbecues on the Terrace, or we can turn up the sophistication to lay on formal banquets. What better way to end the day than sitting out on our Terrace with an ice cold beer or cocktail?
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First visit... will return!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Carn marth looks like its going to be expensive and snooty from the outside but it is not. The service is excellent, food amazing and excellent value for money. Came here for the first time with our baby and were pleasantly surprised. The fish pie is delicious!! Easy to find on the way to fistral. Will definitely be returning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bumpsept2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved It! Minus the bed.....”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

When we arrived in Newquay, (on the busiest weekend of the year, unbeknownst to us) we were excited to see the hotel was only a few yards walk to the beach. As we checked in, we were told we got upgraded to a nicer room. It was beautiful! A nice big room with a balcony and views of the beach. All of the staff were friendly, helpful, and genuinely cheerful. We ate at the restaurant one night, and it was delicious. Food was cooked great, the portions were huge, and the staff was very attentive without being overbearing. My one and only complaint, sadly, was the bed. It was ridiculously uncomfortable! If they would just add a foam pad or an egg crate, it would make all the difference in the world. Other than that, we had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend Carn Marth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krainone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

One of the best restaurants in Newquay - the portions are huge, the food is well cooked, good quality and reasonably priced. Sitting on the decking with a glas of veno watching the world go by and the sun go down is heaven!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mosleywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing meal, amazing views”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We saved this restaurant until our last night in Newquay and we really wished we had gone earlier so we could go back again! Not only has the hotel and restaurant benefited enormously from a refurb making it far more stylish, but the friendliness of the staff and the excellence of the food make it a must for anyone in the area. My Thai seafood curry was superb, freshly flavoured and bursting with beautiful fish, local mussels and perfectly balanced spices. My daughter's steak with peppercorn sauce and hand cut chips were wonderful, and her friends enjoyed superb beer-battered cod and chips and a stunning king prawn and chilli linguine. As you may guess, I am a bit of a foodie (eating and cooking) and it is a mark of how great this restaurant is that I am writing in such glowing terms! Even if we don't stay in Newquay next year we will visit Carn Marth again! Oh and let's not forget the fantastic view of Fistral Beach and Newquay Golf Course!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColibooTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Lovely views, superb service but let down by the food”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This is a superb setting looking over the golf course and Fistral Beach. One of the nicest views in Newquay. The restaurant is very nice with superb staff but unfortunately it's let down by the quality of the food. Steaks a bit chewy, overcooked venison, uncooked potato. They just need to up their game really which is a shame for a place with such potential.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cookiemonster171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C-View Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to C-View Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing