We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atrocious - never visit!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Niles Bakery

Niles Bakery
Ranked #146 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Atrocious - never visit!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

A day of shopping with friends is never complete without a mini coffee and tea break. At first it looked promising, they had a selection of cakes and coffees, teas and hot chocolates. We placed an order of a few lattes and tea, which is a simple order. They served us promptly, however when bringing over our drinks, the young waitress got one order wrong, which is not a problem, but the way she dealt with the situation was shocking! Not only did she give us dirty looks, she had a poor attitude blaming us for her mistake! When she took the drink back she bought a new one which again was wrong. She stood there and huffed and appeared reluctant to take the order back. When she came back a few minutes later, she slammed the drink down in front of my friend, with no apology. The drink was in a disgusting state, what looked like not changing the order but just pouring it into a new cup, as the coffee had spilt all over the mug and saucer!! When my friend mentioned that there was a lot of coffee spilt, the waitress rolled her eyes and stomped off!

No apology was given from the staff, they were rude and did not deal with the situation well! It would appear that the saturday staff seemed to be trained to blame their customers for their mistakes. I would not recommend visiting here as there are better independent cafes and bakeries with better service in Newquay.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    5
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful Service!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Visited this location with friends to chill out and enjoy a coffee. The location is in the centre of Newquay which is very handy. We all ordered a mixture of lattes, coffees and teas which to most would seem like a simple order to fulfill. When the waitress came out with the order, it was wrong, which would not normally be an issue. However, we were given a dirty look and she huffed. She then proceeded to bring back another drink which was also incorrect and then gave another huff and a disgusted look. When they bought back the supposed correct drink it had very obviously been poured into another mug. Unfortunately, it was still the incorrect drink but just poured into a different mug. No apologies, no thank you's. Nothing! We could have overlooked this had it not been for the fact a young family next to us had accidently spilt a drink on to the floor and the same waitress continued to walk past without a second thought. One of our party had to actually get up and ask the waitress to help them and she still said nothing and completely ignored us still. When then proceeded to ask another member of staff what the rude waitresses name was so we could give some feedback to their management, who then asked why we wanted to know and argued with us! Overall we were very disappointed with our visit and will not be returning when there are plenty of other decent venues that offer much better service and make you feel they want your custom!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaraDwd_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“mini break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

lovely food very convenient wide choice to eat almost spoilt for choice seemed like you wanted something of everything in there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
404 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“pasties are tasty and service is superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We're really happy that TripAdvisor has added this cafe since it wasn't listed when we were in Newquay in April.

While looking for a place to have breakfast in the middle of town, we stumbled upon this bakery with café upstairs in the center of downtown Newquay. We enjoyed the excellent pasties, and I learned by hearing that "pasty" doesn’t rhyme with “tasty.” But the pasties certainly are very tasty if you get them here! We had an extended breakfast with pasties, delicious eggs and bacon, truly superb coffee.

Since the service was quick and very friendly, we came back the next morning and only wished we could've stayed longer. So that we wouldn't miss our train, the friendly servers wrapped up what we couldn't eat there, and we thus took a delicious bit of Niles Bakery and Cafe with us on our way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Niles Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Niles Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing