We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly!”

Portuguese Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 240 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a Portuguese family that came to Newquay to introduce you all to our traditions... PORTUGUESE RESTAURANT is a new restaurant in the main road that wants to serve you with some of the best typical Portuguese dishes and wines, now with live music Fridays and Saturdays...All our friendly staff are here to take you and your family to Portugal with fantastic new tastes... We are sure you will enjoy it.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family friendly!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Great food, never had Portuguese wine or food before and was pleasantly surprised! Owners are very friendly and helpful. Great with young kids too!

Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    47
    14
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay
1 review
“When you start eating here you can't stop.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I go there every week with my girlfriend and we love it every time. It feels like you are in Portugal. The food is so good,the owners are lovely,the atmosphere is perfect. Definitely if you visit newquay you should visit them. Best restaurant in newquay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamienewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Delicious food, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The decor is not really up to scratch, but the food was immense. It was very traditional, big chunky pieces of meat, locally sourced fish and a friendly chef that communicates with you from the kitchen through the window. English is obviously not their first language, but the effort they put in 10/10!
There was only one toilet, but it was clean, not smelly and had anti bacterial wipes just for extra reassurance.
It's the best restaurant I've been in a long time, if you're in Newquay it's worth a visit. Took my Dad there for father's day - still raving about it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newquay
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Popped in here just for a drink with a friend one night, haven,t eaten here yet, but will do, the owners and their daughter were so welcoming and lovely people had a fantastic time with them, they couldn,t of been more welcoming

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic meal a real taste of Portugal ..”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Was a really good meal with beautiful food that reminded me of my long trips to Portugal. That was a real warm feel about the place and i will definitely go there again as the chicken has a taste to die for.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keithbrayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portuguese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Portuguese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing