We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place let down by poor broadband internet connection”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place let down by poor broadband internet connection”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Phoned them in advance to check that they had a reasonably fast and responsive internet connection, since I knew I would nee to do a video telecon with my office for an important meeting. They assured me that they had 'fast' broadband throughout the hotel.

Upon arrival, tried a www.speedtest.net and pingtest.net and the time to establish connection was just too slow - even email was a struggle. When I asked reception for assistance, the two ladies, although smiley, said they couldn't provide any further help after asking their manager. So I was left to drive to my bother-in-law's house in Plymouth - 1hr15mins each way, to use his domestic broadband connection!

This really is unacceptable for a modern hotel, especially one with a so-called 'Board Room' seemingly pitched for 'Business'. Just what type of business goes on in there is anyone's guess - perhaps if you still communicate via smoke signals, this is fine (although the hotel can be rather windy...). Or perhaps the Board Room is for storing surf boards?

Although nobody wants to have to 'do business' during a break, it is an unfortunate fact of modern life. It's funny how I can sit in a hotel in Mauritious and enjoy a super-fast broadband connection back to good old Biighty and yet the moment I try to restore my faith in the stay-at-home holiday experience, I'm let down by this oh-so-basic 21st century requirement.

Overall, a great family hotel, but they really need to deal the broadband issue - it's neither rocket science to install nor expensive these days.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrobert2011186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    291
    97
    40
    28
See reviews for
374
679
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Ives Cornwall
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I booked this for a short break that included a meal at the Hotel, lunch at The Beach Hut and Dinner at Fifteen. Excellent value for money . The hotel is very friendly and they are not bothered about the wellies coming in from the beach or the dogs. Dogs are very welcome in the public places - on leads - but not in the dining room. Our room was in the newly finished CoachHouse, lovely room, fabulous bathroom. Unfortunately the heater/air conditioner above the door was noisy and even when it was turned off it still made the noise, quite annoying in the middle of the night. The next day they arranged for someone to have a look (this was January 2nd a Bank holiday) but it could not be repaired easily and therefore they changed our room to one in the main hotel, room 4. This was infact two bedroomed accommodation, great if you have kids they have bunks and their own TV and it had a huge balcony with partial sea views. This room was a little hot as we believe it included the chimney from the log fire that was in reception. Being January it was not a problem and meant the walk into the bathroom was lovely on the feet! The bar was cosy at night with the candles lit and again the bar staff were really nice, as were the staff in the dining room. Breakfast was excellent. Will go back again no question for another of these Gourmet Breaks.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xfilesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at the Watergate Bay hotel for a few days away and to learn how to surf. All in all, we had a really nice time however as a married couple in our late twenties with no kids, I'm not sure we would return.

Pluses
-Very pretty boutique-style rooms (we had two different rooms during our stay, both of which were "standard" rated but both large, beautifully decorated with terraces)
-Beautiful setting. The hotel is right on the beach with wonderful views. Watergate Bay itself has the most fantastic two miles of sandy beach. The sunsets were particularly special
.-Very friendly staff. Staff acknowledged us with a smile at all times.
-Fantastic surfing lesson with Dave - the lesson was informative and spot on for beginners of all ages. It didn't matter that it rained which also says a lot aboout the quality of the teaching!

My gripes were few and far between but I think it's important to point out that for a room costing more than £200/night, I would have expected more attention to detail - body lotion, flannels, help with baggage, a menu (rather than buffet) for breakfast were some of the things I would have expected as standard but sadly we were not offered.

I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to families - the kids facilities appeared to be first-rate (and the hotel is not only kid friendly but dog friendly!). However for couples looking to get away from it all, while the interior and style of the hotel will meet any high standards, beware a) because it's so family friendly, kids are having the time of their lives - and sometimes this may mean noisily playing in the communal corridors before dawn! b) there is a distinct lack of nightlife in the area so you will be stuck for a change of scenery if you'd like to venture beyond the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset, england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had a week's holiday at the beginning of the summer holiday. We have been going for a number of years so are used to all the great facilities that the hotel has to offer and a comfortable family stay. Our room had had a dog in it which was not great - must remember to check this next time we stay. The restaurant food was good - could have had a few more healthy options for children and a few more salads but on the whole very good. The children's club was good for the age range of our children - I hope they will continue this in school holidays. Views and the Extreme Academy and surfing the main purpose of our trip was amazing, I hope that the rebuild with the pool goes well and is ready for the new year as this is an area which is real need of updating.
My main gripe really are the prices with a few meals a day and the room rates this is not a cheap holiday - with this in mind it is crucial the hotel keep high standards to keep repeat customers and to continue with their refurbs

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have been to this hotel for the last 7 years. Unfortunately it is now trading on it's undoubtedly fantastic location. The restaurant is very good - but not as good as half a dozen others in nearby Padstow. The bar meals are stuff-with-chips - when I asked a member of staff for veg or anything healthy for the kids, I was looked at as if I had just asked for a dead sea gull!
Probably the worst change has been the acceptance of dogs in the rooms. Our room smelt like a kennel, and being violently allergic to them, I was very unwell after each night in the room. In years gone by a hotel would always have smoking and non-smoking rooms - why this hotel cannot do the same with our equally odourous 4 legged friends I do not know. Overall I would say this hotel has rested on it's laurels and is not earning the £280/ night it charges - quite apart from turning the rooms and public areas into a glorified kennel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabinks251172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Stayed with family, including the dog, in the coachouse building. Been here many times before and enjoyed it immensely. Hotel has had a big make over and seen much modernisation since my last visit, approx 5 years ago. Nothing has been spoilt at all. It is still family oriented and pleasant. The coach house rooms are immaculately clean, the staff should be commended. We arrived following a week staying in Villa accommodation very near to Longleat. The contrast between the two accommodations is unbelievable. We will be bak to Watergate Bay again.

Room Tip: Coach House great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blidworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We love this hotel and this beach. We have stayed for years at this hotel, many times with our children when they were young and as teenagers. Both are married now but they still enjoy an annual holiday with us each year at this beautiful Bay and this wonderful hotel. We have very special times here - memories are made of holidays like these! Also good deals are on offer during the year - it is always worth being on their mailing list. The 'Taste of the Bay' deal - where you can eat in the hotel, in the beach hut and in Jamie Oliver's Fifteen restaurant is a particular favourite of ours. As our children grew we started to stay as a couple too as the hotel is able to offer a range of experiences and environments to meet the needs of a couple on their own. The hotel (and the facilities on the beach) have undergone a series of upgrades and refurbishments over the years and each time it has led to a real improvement in our holiday experience. We were really interested this time to see that more changes are planned and we feel confident that this hotel will continue to delight us for the years to come. We always chose to stay in the 'Ocean Wing' - you have fantastic views of the Bay and, in our experience, it is well decorated with a relaxing atmosphere. To leave the door onto the balcony open at night and to fall asleep to the sound of the sea is one of life's pleasures

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing