We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornish Heaven”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cornish Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Well, what an experience...a perfect location, rooms are beautifully decorated, large, warm, welcoming, the staff are friendly and obliging, the food is great...
I loved the pool, the mural especially! You could see the sunset from the indoor pool....
The Living Space was superb, with views to give up your city life for!!

My dad was from Cornwall and I dreamed of staying at this hotel since I was a very little girl...my dream came true and it lived up to my life long fantasy..brilliant..thank you!

Room Tip: It didn't matter, ours was inward facing and luxurious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    288
    95
    40
    28
See reviews for
363
667
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK Southampton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We staying at the Watergate bay hotel for the weekend again to visit Jamie's Oliver’s 15 restaurant again which was brilliant. My general feeling was that the hotel is over priced for the quality of accommodation. The hotel is very lucky that a) its right on the beach which is amazing and b) 15 the restaurant is 2 minutes from its front door as if it were not it could not get away with charging nearly £100.00 a night.
The bad bits about the hotel are the parking which is a joke, the general up keep (its in need of a real update) and if you stay in one of the rooms in the extension overlooking the sea without aircon the fact they are so hot to be in. In addition the hotel ran a wedding on the Saturday who's guest used the hotels main guest seating and bar area which really over crowded the whole area and made the who purpose of going there i.e. to relax impossible, I can't see why when the hotel charges the prices it does why it then needs to ram it full of additional people, if there are going to run a wedding on the weekend they should tell people booking so they can decide wether they still want to book.
The good bits are the view, beach, free wifi and best of all the staff who were great and really helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrinceyNaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had a fabulous stay at the hotel.
Wonderful location, great facilities and extremely helpful friendly staff helped make it a superb weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We've been coming to Watergate Bat for a few years. This time we had a family room in their recently developed wing. We were pleasantly surprised with the size and it was great that our son had his own bedroom.

However, our morning alarm call was the thump thump thump of running feet across the wooden floor upstairs, every morning at 7! and the TV sound seemed to be on the blink.

I agree with the comments that for the price of their rooms the breakfast should really be better than a buffet. Although the staff did their best we had to wait most days for something to be replenished whether it was the bacon, the eggs or just the plates.

The food in their "living space' area is very expensive - From memory £6 for what is effectively a cheese and pickle sandwich which seemed to come with a small slightly old looking salad. I agree with one of the other comments that the children's menu was extremely limited. For a family hotel I would expect more.

They still haven't sorted out their parking - but to be honest I'm not sure what else they could do as there is so little space.

It is a great location and really good for families with children. However the prices are getting to the point where maybe it is time to start looking elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyHoliday07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We have just returned from two nights at the hotel. Close on £400 for b&b and you would assume that one could park the car at the hotel. Not the case, we were told to park at the public car park by Fifteen and claim the money back. Breakfast is like a creche, fleas in the bed, overpriced drinks and food hence us eating and drinking at the Phoenix up the road. Staff are not bothered with your complaints. BUT the views and location (and Fifteen) are to die for. We wont be returning to the hotel though.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waynelod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Phoned them in advance to check that they had a reasonably fast and responsive internet connection, since I knew I would nee to do a video telecon with my office for an important meeting. They assured me that they had 'fast' broadband throughout the hotel.

Upon arrival, tried a www.speedtest.net and pingtest.net and the time to establish connection was just too slow - even email was a struggle. When I asked reception for assistance, the two ladies, although smiley, said they couldn't provide any further help after asking their manager. So I was left to drive to my bother-in-law's house in Plymouth - 1hr15mins each way, to use his domestic broadband connection!

This really is unacceptable for a modern hotel, especially one with a so-called 'Board Room' seemingly pitched for 'Business'. Just what type of business goes on in there is anyone's guess - perhaps if you still communicate via smoke signals, this is fine (although the hotel can be rather windy...). Or perhaps the Board Room is for storing surf boards?

Although nobody wants to have to 'do business' during a break, it is an unfortunate fact of modern life. It's funny how I can sit in a hotel in Mauritious and enjoy a super-fast broadband connection back to good old Biighty and yet the moment I try to restore my faith in the stay-at-home holiday experience, I'm let down by this oh-so-basic 21st century requirement.

Overall, a great family hotel, but they really need to deal the broadband issue - it's neither rocket science to install nor expensive these days.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrobert2011186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives Cornwall
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

I booked this for a short break that included a meal at the Hotel, lunch at The Beach Hut and Dinner at Fifteen. Excellent value for money . The hotel is very friendly and they are not bothered about the wellies coming in from the beach or the dogs. Dogs are very welcome in the public places - on leads - but not in the dining room. Our room was in the newly finished CoachHouse, lovely room, fabulous bathroom. Unfortunately the heater/air conditioner above the door was noisy and even when it was turned off it still made the noise, quite annoying in the middle of the night. The next day they arranged for someone to have a look (this was January 2nd a Bank holiday) but it could not be repaired easily and therefore they changed our room to one in the main hotel, room 4. This was infact two bedroomed accommodation, great if you have kids they have bunks and their own TV and it had a huge balcony with partial sea views. This room was a little hot as we believe it included the chimney from the log fire that was in reception. Being January it was not a problem and meant the walk into the bathroom was lovely on the feet! The bar was cosy at night with the candles lit and again the bar staff were really nice, as were the staff in the dining room. Breakfast was excellent. Will go back again no question for another of these Gourmet Breaks.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xfilesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: On the Beach | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing