We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This was our second visit to the hotel on the `Taste of the Bay' offer, where you get 3 nights stay bed and breakfast but with evening meal included in The Hotel, Fifteen and The Beach Hut.
We previously stayed in 2009 and loved it so wanted to try it again. Both times we have stayed out of season so the hotel is reasonably quiet. Our room (27) was front facing with a sea view and was lovely, really tastfully decorated with an amazing comfortable bed and very nice bathroom with excellent shower.
Our first evening meal was in the Brasserie which was lovely and we both really enjoyed it. Then our second meal was in Fifteen which again was fantastic with excellent service. The third evening meal was in the Beach Hut which is just next to the beach in a lovely location. This meal too was outstanding with generous portions.
Can not fault the service anywhere in this hotel, all staff are really friendly and very helpful.
There was some building work going on when we stayed which we were informed about at the time of booking. They are building a new pool and spa which looks fantastic on the plans but this did not bother us at all as they didn't start work early. Can't wait to come again when its all finished!
The Hotel is in a great location with fantastic views of Watergate Bay beach, lovely to just sit in the `Living Space' with a drink looking out over the beach.
Overall we love this hotel and will return again, just wish it was a bit nearer to us!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenback1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    291
    97
    40
    28
See reviews for
374
679
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We first stayed at the hotel in October of last year to celebrate my birthday & enjoyed it so much we immediately booked again to return in January of this year to celebrate our wedding anniversary & we stayed there again last weekend. We have stayed in room 22 & 21 which are both fabulous with great sea views. The location is amazing - you could never tire of the views of the Bay from the Hotel's terrace. The staff are always welcoming, friendly & professional. We have dined several times in the Living Space, Brasserie, The Beach Hut & at 15 and we have always enjoyed superb food & service on each occasion we've dined in any of them (We love 15 so much we had our 8th meal their last w.end in 15 months & we live in Manchester!). The Hotel are currently renovating some areas for a new spa which I believe will be complete in April next year - the plans for the spa look great & we're looking forward to enjoying that on future visits. Already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel is in our favourite spot in Cornwall. We had a family room which was perfect for us and our baby son. The separate bedroom meant we could close the door, put the monitor on and enjoy a glass of wine.

The breakfast is delicious. The sea views are stunning. The facilities for children are brilliant.

Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_2002uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The best thing about The Hotel is its location, perched on top of a cliff overlooking Watergate Bay.

I enjoyed a drink on the terrace, watching the sun set.

This is a contemporary hotel, with clean, modern rooms and the staff were friendly.

It has a tired looking spa, but it would appear that this is about to be refurbished for next season.

Be aware that the hotel located four miles outside Newquay, so you will need to arrange transport if planning an evening out.

Overall I thought the hotel was overpriced and it seems to be more of a family orientated hotel, which is fine, but I doubt I would ever visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadtocomehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed in early September, just after school holidays taking advantage of a special deal through Travelzoo which included all evening meals ( 1 at Jamie Oliver's 15/one at The Brasserie/1 at The Beach Hut) all of which were excellent. Our room had a side sea view and was very clean and welcoming, beautifully decorated. Reception staff were especially professional as were most of the staff. However, it was unfortunate for us that there were an exceptionally large number of babies and toddlers staying at the hotel, (we had tried to avoid this by not choosing to stay during school holidays). Breakfast was not pleasant at all because of the noise level of crying/screaming children and the associated paraphernalia which inevitably follows them around. There are particular facilities especially for children such as a dedicated play area, high chairs etc. so they are well catered for. The down side of this is that adults also have to share the facilities that should be solely for adults, like the Living Room bar area in the evening and The Brasserie Restaurant with toddlers and babies at all times of the day and night. The hotel and the parents of these children seemed to be oblivious to the conflict of interests that this generates. It was impossible to enjoy a quiet evening meal in The Brasserie (which incidentally charges £35 per head for a 3 course meal) without being aware of the 'disturbances'. Being parents ourselves, we wanted to escape for a peaceful few days but alas it was not to be. It was such a shame because the issue could easily be resolved by not allowing children into the bar after about 7pm, or providing an early slot in The Brasserie to serve childrens suppers. Our feed-back to the hotel which was responded to by the Manager didn't really acknowledge our observations or encourage us to re-visit the hotel. We so wanted to return because of the location, good accommodation and the food but unfortunately the lack of equality with the child/adult scenario has convinced us that we probably wouldn' t rush back there. The cost of the stay was not particularly cheap but was good value for money overall, but beware if you want a romantic/quiet escape for a week-end, you probably won;t get it!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main part of the hotel with a side view of the sea are good value. Some rooms accept do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scoobydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

just had a fantastic stay in watergate bay,staff so friendly and helpful,food outstanding,rooms are great and such good value for money.look foward to coming back next year when alterations are done

Room Tip: we love ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horseshoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Well, what an experience...a perfect location, rooms are beautifully decorated, large, warm, welcoming, the staff are friendly and obliging, the food is great...
I loved the pool, the mural especially! You could see the sunset from the indoor pool....
The Living Space was superb, with views to give up your city life for!!

My dad was from Cornwall and I dreamed of staying at this hotel since I was a very little girl...my dream came true and it lived up to my life long fantasy..brilliant..thank you!

Room Tip: It didn't matter, ours was inward facing and luxurious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,335 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing