We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We wanted a short break in Cornwall from Thursday to Monday (24th-28th November 2011) so my wife telephoned The Hotel, Watergate Bay. She was told the hotel was currently full but there would be a Standard room available for the dates we required. My wife was informed that building work was being carried out at The Hotel but it shouldn't be too much of an inconvenience to us. The Standard room was booked along with a meal in the Brasserie for the evening of our arrival. The following day we drove to Cornwall and parked in the public car park adjacent to The Hotel. There is a Guest car park at the rear of The Hotel but all spaces were already taken. We were booked in at Reception by a very lovely and smiling Natalie with her colleague Nina working alongside her. Our room was 121, on the second floor. We took the lift and walked to our room where I opened the door. Looking inside the room our immediate reaction was, WOW!! What a wonderful room and what a bargain at £140 per night. We just couldn't believe this was a Standard room. Actually, it was termed as Ocean View, Ocean Wing, Standard Room. The room was large, light and airy with a super-king size bed complete with fluffy white duvet and large pillows, bedside cabinets with reading lamps and on one side was a telephone. Opposite the bed was a large flat-screen TV and DVD player. There was a hair dryer, kettle, mugs, coffee, tea, UHT milk and lots of different herbal infusions. There were ample power points to charge mobile phones and laptop and with free WiFi they were necessary. The bathroom was well equipped with a bath and a very good shower. The far end of the room is glazed and has a window and a door leading to the balcony. The view is absolutely stunniing. We were on the second floor and the view of the golden sandy beach with the huge waves breaking into white water surf was amazingly relaxing. We saw several surfers enjoying the large waves and a number of people walking on the beach. From our balcony we could see Fifteen Cornwall over in the corner of the car park and The Beach Hut directly underneath Fifteen. The car park is very well illuminated and we felt our car was safe. (Always a problem when living in London.) We hung up our clothes in the fitted wardrobe and went down to the Brasserie for our evening meal. Two waitresses were there for us, one named Jen and the other Jenna. Jen informed us about which wine to have with our meal and it did not disappoint us. The meal was superb and, via Jen, we sent our compliments to the chef.
Breakfast the next morning was extremely busy but nobody had to wait for anything. With so many young people running backwards and forwards into the kitchen to take away empty pots and bring back full up ones as well as bringing tea, coffee or infusions to your table an and always with a happy smile on their face was quite a delight to see. All had a friendly word to say to you and nothing was too much trouble for them. The buffet breakfast was full Cornish with delicious sausages, bacon which was both streaky and back cuts, grilled tomatoes, baked beans, eggs poached the correct way and mushrooms, scrambled eggs, smoked salmon. Museli, fruit and yoghurt, several different fruit juices, bagels, croissants, white and wholemeal sliced bread.
The other evenings we ate at The Hotel in The Living Space. A large, comfortable room with gorgeous views and sofa's and couches as well as several tables and bench type seating making it an ideal place to eat. Two delightful young ladies, Beth (with the English Rose complextion) and Tallie (with the lovely dreadlocks) were ready to take our food and drinks order. I had steak and chips (which were the best chips ever!) and my wife had the Cornish fish cakes and both meals were really delicious and excellent value.
During our four night stay we spoke to so many members of staff, mostly young people. Matt is wonderful and so interesting to talk to about his back-packing adventures in Australia. The Hotel does appear to have a huge amount of staff and every one of them look so happy in their work. All wear a trendy 'uniform' from the 'White Stuff' company.
We had a most enjoyable four days at The Hotel. It was a sad occasion for us when we checked out but now we know The Hotel has special offers we know we shall return...soon.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel most highly to any age group. We loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms 106, 126, 136 are slightly larger and have a walk-in shower. Dogs are also welcome at the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    291
    97
    40
    28
See reviews for
374
679
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stayed 3 nights on Travelzoo deal, which included dinner in hotel and Jamie Oliver's 15. Paid a little extra (£40 I think) to upgrade to a sea view room. The room was great, big comfy bed, balcony with stunning sea view. Also very quiet. The hotel was modern, contemporary, warm and comfortable. The staff were great, always smiling and lots of young local people employed there I think. The dinner at the hotel was great. We also eat in the bar which was excellent. Would definitely recommend for a relaxing winter break and an ideal location to explore Cornwall.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel on one of their amazing deals, dinner at the Restaurant 15, lunch in
the Beach Hut and a meal in the Brasserie. We upgraded to an ocean view room
which was lovely, but unfortunately was next to two firedoors, the indoor one and
the external one which appeared to be open at all times. The external one was the back entrance to the car park, therefore from very early in the morning to late at night you would get the constant opening and shutting of both doors. When the outside fire-exit door was opened you would also get the howling and whistling from the wind just to add to it. Hence not
much sleep was had. The breakfasts were very good and the lunch at the Beach Hut, which is
part of the hotel was excellent. We were very disappointed with the food in the Brasserie and
would definitely not recommend it. What would be a good idea is for the chef from the Beach
Hut give some cookery lessons to the chef at the Brasserie, or better still sack the chef in the
Brasserie and get someone else!

Room Tip: Go for the upper floor ocean view away from firedoors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardnerlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I had promised my sister and her husband a weekend in Cornwall as a belated wedding present. My wife and I have stayed at the hotel many times before but this time was a little special. The rooms as always are spotless and airy. Make sure you get a sea view as there is always something happening in the bay. The hotel is home from home. Food is great and plentiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Mark for taking the time to listen to my sister. It allowed me to take a break and recuperate before taking her to St Ives. Also to Natalie who is always smiling when you approach the reception area. Keep up the good work. See you soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a sea view. There is always something to see in the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Just great. Great with.... Kids, families, suffers, parents, hot days, rainy days, food, relaxing drinks, views - loved it all. Will be back

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Just returned from a fantastic three nights at this hotel which was a special birthday suprise for my sister in law and I can not praise it enough. Staff extremely helpful and nothing was ever to much trouble, they are all a credit to the hotel . Rooms were absolutly lovely, clean and fresh with every facility you could need.We had a "best" room which overlooked watergate bay. Loved the attention to detail in the rooms such as plenty of clean fresh towels, beach towels and robes to use. Breakfast was excellent with everything you could wish to choose from and all good quality,fresh and well cooked. We were on a special offer with a meal at the hotel Brasserie, evening meal at Fifteen and a lunch at the Beach Hut - all amazing.
This hotel is already in a stunning location but realy does go out of its way to make your stay as good as possible.Would love to return onced the new spa and swimming pool are finished looks like it will be very special.
Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This was a surprise break for me and I had a fantastic time. We stayed there for 3 nights, went surfing, hill walking and had a busy three days. The staff were very attentive, rooms very clean food and the restaurant excellent, there was everything to choose from for breakfast. We stayed in a "Best" room and found this very comfortable overlooking the sea with a balcony. The Hotel is at present being updated by havin a new pool,spa and gym and it will be fantastic when finished, because of this we used a different hotels sauna,swimming pool and jacuzi which was arranged for by our hotel, excellent touch. I look forward to going again next year maybe and wud reckonmend this hotel to anybody. It is also a pet friendly hotel which didnt bother me considering I have no pets.

Room Tip: We stayed in the best rooms at side of hotel very clean excellent and very modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing