We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A fantastic hotel with amazing views, the atmosphere is very laid back and the staff are extremely helpful. We stayed in a standard house room, great decor with huge comfy beds!
As it was the Easter Holidays there were quite a few families staying there so if you prefer a little more peace and quiet this is something you will need to bear in mind! The hotel is also dog friendly but you would hardly notice they were there. The only thing I could possibly suggest is complimentary water in the rooms but this is a very minor point.
Overall, Watergate Bay is definitely worth a visit and I cannot wait to go back once the spa has been built!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleClareM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    291
    97
    40
    28
See reviews for
374
679
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great hotel with a really good relaxed feel. Location absolutely stunning
The staff are friendly and helpful, and the food so much better than last year. Rooms are New England/beach style and clean with quality fittings, although you need to remember to ask to change the linen. Dogs allowed and are around but are not intrusive.
The hotel is undergoing a huge rebuild of leisure facilities, so there were none and this has impacted on parking, but little allowance made on proce
Overall a fantastic place to spend a relaxing break in a fantastic location

Room Tip: Sea view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcid111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed at this fabulous hotel last weekend as part of a group of 15 people. The hotel was clean , contemporary and had views to die for. The family suite which I occupied with my husband , 2 children and labradoodle( which was welcome everywhere apart from the restuarant) was bright airy and absolutely huge which a very high standard of comfort! Food was amazing , staff very helpful in every way possible.....can't say enough about this hotel....I want to go again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Last time we stayed at the hotel our accommodation was in the Ocean Suites..wasn't that impressed..the room was narrow and devoid of any comfort..although our meal in the evening was excellent.

On our most recent visit we stayed in room 7..what a difference..beautiful.. almost feeling opulent, a room with character.

Buffett breakfast can be a bit of a scramble...probably due to our stay coinciding with school half term.

Room Tip: stick to the rooms in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markandgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex Uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

we decided to spend three night break at The Hotel and Extreme Academy. It was for a girly break as myself and two school friends were celebrating our retirement. Well it did not dissapoint. From Bellini's on the terrace, to dinner at Fifteen mojitos on the terrace dinner in the brasserie, lunch at the Beach hut and light supper on the terrace. Staff were spot on, even remebering at breakfst I was Gluten intolerant. 10/10 Phil what a charmer and brought a smile to our faces every day. re the accomadation in the family suite is great but the bunks are really for children so I would not have wanted to stay in that room a lot longer. Great doorstep coastal path walks to Newquay and Maughan Porth and the highlight of our stay was to sit at the beach hut and watch all those very fit young men parade with their surf boards they looked like poids of dolphins in the water, it was so amusing.
The hotel is not at all precous and you will find the odd footprint of sand or the carpet and a sprinkling on the sofa. The atmosphere is interupted by the occasional 4 legged friend appearing as the Hotel in-part is dog friendly.
We will be back no question. It Is justm Magic and well done to the owner whom i did not have the pleasure of meeting, but I am so looking forward to trying that pool.........super time!!!!!....

Room Tip: Best room for couple 1 larger side view 2 or 3 cheaper rooms coachhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottiemillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just celebrated my birthday at this hotel with a family gathering which include three children under 5 and a dog. This hotel was perfect. The staff where helpful and friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The hotel is 5* but relaxed and friendly. The Kid Zone was brilliant and meant both children and adults enjoyed there stay. Real dog friendly hotel which was a bonus. Location is fantastic! Would recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DukeinDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed at Watergate Bay on the Taste of The Bay deal when coming to see my parents and also stayed an extra day due to flight availability home. Once again the hotel staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, even my request for hot milk with my morning coffee! We first discovered the Taste of The Bay deal through travel zoo when trying to find somewhere near to my parents home after they retired to Cornwall just over 5 years ago and have never considered staying anywhere else since! The quality and standard of food at the hotel and Beach hut is excellent and being able to visit 15 Cornwall withinn the package is an extra special treat and a good way to finish off our holiday. Looking forward to visiting next year when we can see the results of refurbishment programme presently being undertaken - DON'T let this put you off stayimg as it didn't detract from enjoying our stay

Room Tip: Good choices available for families as well as couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STB4JAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing