We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifteen out of Fifteen”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fifteen out of Fifteen”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The main reason why we went to Watergate Bay was to visit Jamie Oliver's Fifteen restaurant, it was part of a wider trip we were doing across the South West. When researching the area this seemed like the obvious choice of accommodation and how pleased we were we chose The Hotel. We are not surfers so we were not necessarily interested in the surfing and Extreme Academy side of things but the premise behind this hotel is what makes it so good. The owner wanted to create a surf equivalent of a ski resort, so you have the opportunity to train in surfing, hire your gear and enjoy apres surf looking out over beautiful views from the hotel bar. We didn't use any of these surf facilities we just enjoyed the immaculately designed hotel, the good food and excellent service. The hotel is really geared up for families but what is so clever about this is that if you didn't attend during a busy high season (we did - half term!) you would never know the focus is on families. The design is modern and sophisticated as well as being luxurious. Without the presence of children you would feel that this hotel is aimed at adults only. It is a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it, surfer or non surfer!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HFoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    291
    97
    40
    28
See reviews for
374
679
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel in mid May 2012 and it is the only hotel that overlooks the unspoilt watergate bay which is a few miles north of Newquay on the coast road to Padstow. It has an unrivalled position with steps down to the beach and no road to cross!

We went for an ocean view room which was well worth the extra cost but ensure it is not on the ground floor if you also wish to see the beach. The rooms were well decorated and very clean.

The eating areas and bars were lovely and the staff were always friendly and helpful. The indoor swimming pool had just opened and was a major new plus.

The hotel is ideal place for learning water sports through its academy, but also for coastal walks and for visiting Padstow where you will find really nice independent restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: For a view of the sea and the beach you need an ocean room view on the first or second floor. The gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is a very laid back hotel set right on the beach at Watergate Bay near Newquay.
The hotel is very comfortable and clean but it's biggest plus is the fantastic views onto the beach and Newquay in the distance.
It is a must for all lovers of watersports and generally beach lovers.
The food and drink was excellent, the staff attentive and kind.
We were part of a 20+ party attending a 50th birthday celebration and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in a 'best' room. The hotel is smart and modern looking and the new pool and spa area with a snug room were great; particularly with rain and gale force winds outside.

The food in the living space and the beach hut were good and we had a great meal in fifteen. It was lovely sitting on the deck when we first arrived with a drink an a meal in the sunshine - and that amazing view. The breakfast was pretty disappointing; not the relaxing experience with great food that I would expect for the high room rate. The buffet options weren't terrible, but could have been much better. Service was generally pretty indifferent with a small number of exceptions.

It was half term and the hotel was full of families, which was fine, although meant the pool area was incredibly busy during the daytime (understandably with the weather). Although it was good to see there were times when the pool wasn't open to families.

Our room was nice enough, but not amazing (curtain for patio doors had a few rips in it and although good to have outside space with a bit of a sea view, the roof with the random owl on it didn't really make it an appealing place to sit.)

I had some spa treatments, which I can recommend and my husband had a surf lesson at the Extreme Academy, which he enjoyed. Watergate Bay is a great location, with an amazing beach and the hotel was a good place to be with some smart new additions. However, it could have been better - and I might pay the extra for the Scarlett next year (?!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzance
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My wife and i stayed here for the weekend to celebrate our second wedding anniversary.The location of the hotel was fantastic, right next to the beach.Our room was very clean and comfortable.We loved the living space restaurant and bar it had a wonderful decked sun terrace with great views over the beach and bay.Another great place to have a drink and relax is the beach hut which is right next door to the hotel.You can sit here and watch the surfer's or relax on the beach.The staff were very friendly and helpful.The only slight moan was the noise from young children early in the morning from the rooms on the same floor.But after all they are on holiday as well and it certainly would not stop us coming back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfiepenzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My partner and I stayed 2 nights at the end of May with our black lab. Unlike the previous review I felt it was an excellent dog friendly hotel. Many hotels claim to be but this really was and we did not find it a problem that dogs were not permitted in the Brasserie as the main formal restaurant in the hotel. On our first evening we ate in the Brasserie and the food was of excellent quality, with great service to match. Breakfast was also superb with a huge selection available.

The location of the hotel is incredible with beautiful views and sunsets. These can be really appreciated from the deck area adjoining the Living Space, which incidentally is fully dog friendly and serves lovely food. On every occasion we went into the Living Space the staff were great with our dog and always offered a bowl of water. This area has a lovely contemporary and light style.

The new pool is fantastic, the area is lovely and warm and even when not swimming it is a great area to relax in and appreciate the views of the beach. The facilities adjoining this area were also well thought out.

We stayed in a double room on the ground floor of the Ocean Wing. The room was tastefully decorated with everything you would expect and a huge bed! Good bathroom, the only comment I would make is that the shower was not very powerful.

Overall the hotel has a great 'laid back' atmosphere, helpful staff and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanks26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Watergate Bay hotel has taken advantage of its excellent location over-looking Watergate Bay. The hotel’s refurbishment means that it looks and feels much slicker than it did a couple of years ago when we last visited.

It’s a good hotel with very friendly staff, but a few changes would make it a superb hotel:

Room: we were in 121 which was small but light and airy with a balcony that looked out to sea. Clean but clearly a little worn. Tea and coffee facilities provided as was freeview TV and a little ipod sound system. We were in a standard room as we had our puppy with us. The size of the room was fine as our puppy is little but would not be if he were a full grown lab. It’s short sighted to limit the choice of rooms given I was willing to pay more for a larger, nicer room, though I understand the need to have dog-free rooms. They also charge an extra £15 per night for the dog. I can’t see what this is for. It may be extra cleaning, but rooms are refreshed only once per day and bed linen and towels are only changed on request. I understand the need to conserve water, but if the extra £15 per night is for extra cleaning I didn’t see any. Given that the hotel is only metres from the beach they should really spend more time clearing down the sand and salt that guests bring in with them. The detergent they use on the bed linen is extremely abrasive and irritated my skin.

Bathroom: was a good size, well equipped with shower and bath. Shower was terrible, no pressure and hot water dipped in and out. They also provided hand/body wash and lotion which was also abrasive – my husband who has never had and skin complaints found it very drying.

Food: by far the biggest disappointment. Breakfast was extremely limited and of little choice. The pains aux chocolats were good though. We found out that we could order porridge by following another guest’s example, but the staff didn’t advertise this, though there was no problem in ordering. Bizarrely they only offer semi or full fat milk.

We were on a half board package and breakfast and dinner is only served in the Brassiere. The Brassiere is seriously dull and lacked any kind of atmosphere; whenever we laughed out loud we felt like we were breaking silence. Choice of food was also limited and not very tasty or filling. I had the cheese board every night to fill myself up. Not at all memorable, I only remember the beef randang as I asked if it was spicy and the chef provided me with a sample in the cutest pot I’ve ever seen. Tragic but gives you an idea of what I mean. Service was also extremely slow and a little haphazard – drinks arriving after the starter is served; 45 minute wait between courses. Half board should be opened up to the bar and beach hut for some variety, not that the beach hut is any better, but provides a change of scene.

Dog friendly apparently: although dogs are welcome, and staff were extremely friendly towards our puppy, there aren’t many places in the hotel that the dog is allowed to go. We were only allowed to eat in the Brassiere which does not allow dogs. Dogs get nothing for the extra £15 per night, not even a handful of treats. Seems a little mean. Also for a dog friendly room there were a lot of dangers: dangling phone wires, bleach in the toilet brush holder on the floor, plastic bags in bins. For less calm dogs these could be a complete nightmare.

Rectifying these small issues would make this a perfect hotel in a spectacular location and make it much more value for money.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room - the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Property: Watergate Bay Hotel
Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing