We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watergate Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Carnmarth Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$50
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Bristol(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Lodge Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eliot Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,511)
Filter reviews
1,511 results
Traveller rating
1,023
315
100
43
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,023
315
100
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving spacebeach hutwatergate bayswim clubcoach houseinfinity poolextreme academyocean roomjamie olivershot tubfront facingoverlooking the beachhotel restaurantthe main hotelfamily hotelschool holidayssea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,109 - 1,114 of 1,511 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

My wife and i stayed here last week for 5nights and can not fault the hotel or its staff at all. The food is incredible (im a chef and know what im talking about). The staff are happy and helpfull and will atend to your every need and the facilities are brilliant. Our room was stunning, very clean with a beautiful view of the sea. The pool and hot tub are lush also. We had the most amazing honeymoon and will be returning next year with the whole family without a doubt. Thankyou watergate bay hotel for our perfect honeymoon

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dazbananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the wonderful Watergate Bay Hotel the most relaxed, friendly hotel that it has been our pleasure to stay at in this country for a number of years. If you have a dog, this is the place to stay in North Cornwall, everything just excellent!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chinaboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

After a memorable holiday here as a child in 1997, i recently returned for a 2-night stay with my parents and sister. The hotel has been completely renovated and feels clean and fresh, modern and stylish. We stayed mid-week after the summer holidays were over and there was a happy mix of couples and families around the hotel, and although busy it never felt crowded.

The facilities on offer are exceptional. The "Swim Club" had a relaxing spa-type feel and the adjoining lounge was my favourite place to sit and relax. Comfy sofas next to huge windows offer amazing views of the beach and sea, and there is a small cafe/bar offering teas, coffees and light refreshments. The pool is fantastic with an infinity-type end that looks out towards the beach. A seemingly endless supply of towels are available within the pool-side changing facilities, where there's also lockers and a spin-dryer for swimming costumes. We found the best time to swim was around 1-2pm when most people were having lunch. The Scandinavian hot tub and sunbathing area outside felt very private and also had the great views of the beach.

The rooms were wonderful. Fresh and airy with plenty of space, tea/coffee/kettle facilities and a large safe big enough for a laptop. The bathroom was superb with an amazing shower complete with optional soft lighting, robes and two sinks. The staff were absolutely lovely and always had time to chat, i thank them for making us feel so welcome.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was fantastic. An great choice was on offer and everything was delicious. The same can be said for the self-serve breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel also has another restaurant/cafe/bar with outside seating that overlooks the beach - a great place to sit with a coffee and read the paper.

Down towards the beach there's a beach-side cafe which made excellent food (you can sit in or take away) and the surf academy which looked very friendly and reasonably priced. There's also Jamie Oliver's Fifteen restaurant, which i believe the hotel can book you a table at if you wish.

All in all we had a fantastic stay, the only downside being that we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Room 6 has a decking area, which was lovely to sit out on in the late evening.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaireUK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Watergate Bay as a last minute booking and were offered a good Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal. The hotel has been freshly upgraded and was spotlessly clean. Our room was nicely decorated and had oak flooring for that beachfront feel. The swimming pool area is amazing and again spotlessly clean. The service was warm and friendly with all the staff keen to please. The only slight downside was the price of the drinks. £11.25 for a pint of beer and a small glass of wine?! Ate in the dining room, food first class and the service quick and efficient. Will visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian4247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here last year and had an amazing stay. The location was amazing, we didn't have a sea view but still it was wonderful just to be able to stumble out of the hotel onto one of my favorite beaches. The room was very nicely decorated, modern but not sterile, in fact I could have lived there! We went on a deal where we got 3 evening meals at various places and it was excellent value. The only let down was the expensive watery beer served in the bar.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews