We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fab....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watergate Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

What a fantastic environment and friendly staff at the Watergate Bay Hotel. We recently stayed for a 3 Night break Jan 2013 a post-Christmas break. The Hotel is beautiful and our room 131 had a fantastic sea view, and was equipped as you would expect. The food was very nice no issues in the main restaurant, however the Beach Hut was disappointing. I would like to give a special shout-out to Jessica one of the Therapists who gave me the best Facial EVER. We will definitely return to the Watergate Bay Hotel.

Room Tip: a sea view room is nice, however not needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitten831906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

Simply one of the best breaks we have taken. Very relaxed and brillant staff. The quality of the facilities is exceptionally high. We were really taken back by the childrens area, and Tammy who was an absolute star with our child, allowing my husband and I time to enjoy the restaurants and spa. Can't recommend this place enough, great find! Returning soon.

Room Tip: Sea view stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Had a fantastic morning on the beach - then off to the hotel for a well earned lunch - the view across the bay is beautiful, the service great, the food excellent as well as great bar - good value for money
Brilliant beach themed hotel - planning to go and stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

It's such a shame that our first experience of the hotel bordered on bizarre, the receptionist who checked us in wasn't exactly rude but just disinterested - I'm not sure if it was the end of her shift but we just seemed to be in her way. We arrived in the room and towels were missing, it took ages for them to arrive but admittedly when they did it was with an apology for the delay. Things got better, and we did actually have a fab time. The pool was amazing, we got lucky and seemed to have it completely to ourselves on our daily visits. The hotel is clean and bright with lots of nice communal areas. The rooms were lovely, spotless and extremely comfy. The highlight of our stay was undoubtedly the trip to 15, as we opted for the 6 course wine option - stumbling across the car park was really appreciated! Would return and certainly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brizzlygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Me & my wife stayed here last year before the pool had been built, they were in the process of building it at the time but that didn't bother us.

We were fortunate to have fantastic weather that week we stayed too, and enjoyed many days on the beach.

It's a fantastic hotel, so great we decided to add an extra night to our stay - very spontaneous which we've never done before!

It's in a nice location but you need a car as the only things that are walking distance are the beach, extreme academy, the beach hut cafe & Jamie's Fifteen. We experienced all of these and had fantastic meals throughout our stay.

We also learnt to wave ski with the ex-world waveski champion Carl Coombes, and were fortunate to have practically a half day private lesson for the 2 of us! It was great, but not sure I'm cut out to be a professional wave skier!!!

We each had a massage at the spa, although they were in the process of renovating it so it was in a hotel room but that didn't bother us.

Food was great, service was nice, friendly & relaxed (in a good way), rooms were very nicely decorated - we stayed in the main hotel. Had a lovely & enjoyable stay, would definitely recommend this hotel & would love to stay there again, especially now they've finished the pool!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bungleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Just spent 4 nights at the wonderful hotel over the New Year period, stayed in the coach house with our 3 children,large and modern room but could do with an extra bathroom !!,nothing is to much trouble for the excellent staff, kids entertainment was first class and the new pool complex is fab - great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for birthday surprise Had a fantastic three days with great food service and fantastic waves. Would recommend for a family get together. See you later in the year when temperature picks up

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.2 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,031 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watergate Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watergate Bay Hotel

Address: | On the Beach, Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £93 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a spectacular surfing beach on the North Cornwall coast, Watergate Bay Hotel is the perfect destination for a contemporary beach holiday. It’s a place that’s about the balance in life – being active, getting among the elements, eating and drinking well, chilling out and getting cosy. Most of all, it’s about having a good time. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hotel And Extreme Academy, Watergate Bay
Hotel Watergate Bay
Watergate Hotel Newquay
Bay Hotel Watergate
Watergate Bay Newquay
Watergate Bay Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing